We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect stay in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maryculter House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maryculter
Certificate of Excellence
kirkcaldy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect stay in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed with my family at the Hotel for a family wedding in October 2012 and I am a Hotelier myself and so I understand how difficult it is to get everything just right but what can I say, Ed and his wonderful team did just that, the Hotel is very lucky to have a Manager like him, his manner and attitude to people is lovely we really enjoyed our stay and we will go back as soon as we can, it is hard to find a place that just works for you and the location will suit my partner as he loves to fish, so all can say is a big thank you to Ed and his team and we will see you again soon. P.S. if you ever need a job Ed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homewood13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHHDGM, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Julie,

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to review your stay with us! We love all guest feedback, but to recieve such praise from a fellow hotelier - whose will no doubt scrutinise things particularly carefully - really is great for us.

Many thanks again - we hope you come back to visit sometime.

Ed Tumath
Deputy General Manager

P.S. Thanks for the job offer! I'll keep it in mind :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    105
    45
    25
    13
See reviews for
88
139
8
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Maryculter House Hotel is a beautiful hotel with excellent accomodation BUT what makes this place SO special is the staff, expertly managed by Ed the Manager.

My son was married here, we stayed for six days in total and had a wonderful time. Everyone at the wedding commented on the wonderful service, meal and evening that we were given at the Maryculter.

I cannot express enough how grateful we were for the attendance we received from the staff.
From kitchen, bar staff, waitress/waiter, reception, domestic and managerial staff, all are genuinely happy friendly people who could not do enough for you, which is very rare to see these days, and a credit to the Manager as they ALL are to the hotel.
This is the perfect example of how good organisation of a good team results in good performance and productivity.

My husband and I travel around Britain quite a bit and this is without doubt one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. As a result we are now spending Christmas there this year and having all of the family around with us to share yet another special day!

Thank you Ed and all the staff of Maryculter House Hotel it was a pleasure to stay at this lovely hotel and cannot wait until we see you all again for Christmas.
Well done and keep up the good work !

Room Tip: Speak to the reception they are more than eager to help you decide what room would be best to suit y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McBeathOrkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHHDGM, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear McBeathOrkney,

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to review your time with us at Maryculter. We all thoroughly enjoyed our day with yourself, your family and your guests, so we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves, too!

I'm very lucky to have such a superb team working with me, all of whom take great pride in their work and who take very personally the experience our guests enjoy.

We're very, very much looking forward to welcoming you back in late December - we'll get the Cog on the hob straight away!

Best wishes for now,

Ed Tumath
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterculter
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having lived not far from Maryculter for a year or so before becoming engaged I was always intrigued to go see it, so when the time came ot start looking at wedding venues Maryculter was high on our list. With the river running through the grounds and the gorgeous open fires, it didn't take us long to decide that Maryculter was the place for us. We booked the venue there and then!

Maryculter prices were much more reasonable than some of the other Aberdeenshire venues we visited and the backdrop for photos was amazing. From the second we booked to even after our wedding day Marculter have been brilliant in their service. Vilmos on reception has always welcomed us and Bev and Margaret helped us with every detail of our wedding!!

The day went perfectly, everything ran to the correct timings and smoothly, and our meal was amazing. I couldnt recommend Maryculter highly enough for a wedding venue.

If anyone was to ask for wedding venues in Aberdeenshire, I wouldnt think twice about recommending Maryculter. We had the most perfect day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cher_irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had our wedding at the Maryculter House Hotel a couple of weeks ago.
We chose this venue initially as we found the prices to be much more reasonable than other similar hotels in the area.
Right from booking our wedding, through to the day after, we received great service. Staff who we were dealing with were always more than happy to help and advise us. In particular we found the conference team to be very professional and helpful. We had several encounters with reception staff, who were always happy to help us too. On the day of our wedding, Ed ensured that everything went perfectly and we didn't have to worry about a thing. In fact he was available to assist us in the week leading up to the wedding, on the day itself, and the day after. We were very surprised to see him there in the Sunday as he had been working until at least 3am on the Saturday night. We were very impressed with how hard he worked to ensure the service provided was excellent.

Several guests at our wedding mentioned how delicious their meals were, including those with dietary requirements. Many also mentioned how efficient, friendly and helpful the staff were.
The rooms we have seen and the one we stayed in were lovely, very tactfully decorated and clean.
Breakfast was exactly what we needed after the night before!

We definitely intent to return here in the future as we enjoyed it so much.

Thank you to the Maryculter House Hotel for making our 'Big Day' so perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAABCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHHDGM, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi there,

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to review your visit to Maryculter House Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to feed back to us details of your experience as all feedback - whether positive or negative - helps us improve the service we can offer our guests and maintain the already high levels of service we're delighted you experienced.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope you're enjoying married life!

Best wishes,

Ed Tumath
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had our wedding at MHH last month and had a fantastic day. In the lead up, Beverley was on hand for any queries and on the day of the wedding itself Ed was a great help in talking us through how the day was going to run and generally keeping us at ease. The meal was tasty and above what you would normally expect for a wedding meal for 100 guests (comments we received from various guests) and at no point did we feel we had to compromise anything about the day.

We wouldn't hesitate in recommending Maryculter to anyone looking to book their big day in the Aberdeen area

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattydarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHHDGM, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Matt,

Very many thanks indeed for taking the time to post a review of your time with us at Maryculter House Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your big day and doing our best to make sure it was special for you, so to hear that our efforts paid off really is great!

While we like to think we've become very good at 'doing' weddings - hosting around a hundred or more each year - we're always careful to remember that each one is different, and special for the individual guests.

So again, thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts and, on behalf of the whole team here, we wish yourself and your new wife a happy and prospeous life together.

Best wishes,

Ed Tumath
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

A twin room booked for 2 nights at rate £125 per night B&B. Beds had no valance and divan was soiled and dirty, walk-in shower had black mould around base of tiles and Sink Basin chain hanging loose. Tired decoration in room with wallpaper pealing and damaged and there was no hotel information pack in the room and the fire escape instruction were missing. At breakfast we found the buffet food cold and there was no information of any other choice, if you do not rise early with the Aberdeen oil guests you get what is left. Final insult was at check out we were presented with a bill including drinks and evening food none if which we had as we were visiting our son and family in Aberdeen and ate with them. Had we been staying longer we would have checked out and found other accommodation.

Room Tip: Impossible unless you see the rooms first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHHDGM, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Peter,

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to review your stay at Maryculter House Hotel. I was deeply disappointed to learn that you didn't enjoy your experience with us and will set about trying to fix the issues you've raised.

There is no excuse for the failings you mentioned in terms of cleanliness, but there are of course solutions, and I have already put measures in place to ensure these problem don't arise again.

In terms of the missing guest information folder, there was a sign displayed at reception for the week of your stay advising guests that these folders were being updated and would be replaced shortly, and that reception would be happy to assist with any information requests you may have had.

Taking the folders out of the rooms was, it was decided, the most efficient means of updating the information contained within.

In terms of fire information, this information was displayed on the back of the guest room door. My apologies that it was not more visible to you.

I do hope you'll give us another opportunity to demonstrate our usual high level of service and put right what went wrong. I invite you to contact me directly at the hotel should you choose to stay again.

Best wishes,

Ed Tumath
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Went to a wedding here and the whole day and night went well and with good service! Food was yummy and the staff were good. The only faults was the price of the drinks that stung the bank balance. Would go back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryculter
3.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
9.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Hotels
Macdonald Hotels
#16 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
12.5 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryculter House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryculter House Hotel

Property: Maryculter House Hotel
Address: South Deeside Road | Aberdeen, Maryculter AB12 5GB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Maryculter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maryculter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryculter House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryculter House Hotel is an independently owned 4 star Country House Hotel nestled on the banks of the famous River Dee, just a few miles outside Aberdeen. The Hotel has 2 restaurants, The Priory is our Fine Dining Restaurant and our Poachers Brasserie for more informal dining. It also has 4 function rooms of varying sizes suitable for conferences, private dining, corporate entertaining and dinner dances, etc. The Hotel is set in 5 acres of gardens with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maryculter House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryculter Hotel Aberdeen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing