We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Campground and Great Location in the Helen, GA Area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yonah Mountain Campground

Yonah Mountain Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yonah Mountain Campground
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Campground and Great Location in the Helen, GA Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We camped here in a small RV. The campground sites are a little tight but overall, level and clean. Bathhouses and showers were clean and well maintained during our 4 day stay. Nice playground with firepit. Ammenities and Events at Yonah Mountain Campground will keep you from getting bored. Among them, there is a nice swimming pool, a recreation center/clubhouse with t.v.s, books, DVD players, and free wifi. The rec center is open until 10p each day. The recreation center also offers a non-denominational church service each Sunday at 9a. too. On holiday weekends, the staff plans events, concerts, kid-friendly events and games. The Staff is very friendly and willing to help out any way they can. Would recommend this campground and would camp here again.

Room Tip: The staff will drive you around the campground when you arrive and let you pick out your campsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We camped for 2 nights and enjoyed the campground but the tent sites are very small. Sandy in the office was very helpful and easy to work with. The hosts take you to pick out your site so you don't have to drive all over looking for it. There aren't a lot of tent sites to choose from but they all have water and electric and aren't far from the bathhouse or clubhouse. We had perfect weather but would have been in a mud pit if it had rained. Bathhouse is kept very clean but there were plumbing problems while we were there. Maybe from all the rain we have had this summer?
Only cons- while we were at the pool, one of the patrons fussed at our kids for doing cannonballs. The kids were supervised and we are not sure why that person was so rude to our kids. When we said we would leave he said "Good"
I understand the liability of owning a pool but not sure if we will return because of the attitude. Not sure the person works there even! Other than that, it was a good trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This campground is in a beautiful location with great views of the mountains right from the clean, well kempt pool! Has a clubhouse with bathrooms, tv area, lounge area & laundry facility. Nice playground & fire pit, very clean well maintained bathhouse. Staff is very friendly and willing to help out any way they can. Group activities for the kiddos. Its very close to babyland general hospital, helen & dahlonega. Overall the grounds are nice, and while I understand the idea of the roads throughout the campground being one way, it was a little aggravating having to drive all the way around the campground just to be able to drive up to the bathrooms from the tent area. We just happened to wrap up our 2 day stay in a torrential rain storm, so driving our kiddos up to the bathroom, especially at night, got to be cumbersome. With that being said, my only real complaint about yonah mtn cg are their tent sites. Because they had been having hard rains prior to our visit, most of the tent sites were too mucky with mud as the tent sites were downhill where all the water collected. Aside from this the tent sites are very tiny. My family of 5 had a 23ftx11ft tent and a canopy over our picnic table, there wasnt much room to move, once you add in camp chairs, a fire ring, & you have to park on your camp site, it was more than frustrating. We were told we could park our vehicle at the clubhouse, which is up the hill from tent area...not very helpful if you have to store most of your belongings in your vehicle because tent site is too small. We were beside another family, but if their tent sites, were as big as 2 sites side by side, it would be perfect. We also had a birthday party there, with several family members spread about several sites. Wouldve been nice if they had group camping area, but not a big deal. Unless you know your neighbors, be prepared to be camping right on top of strangers! Fix your tent sites and we will happily come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cainfamof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Is now my favorite campground...Ever!!!
The hospitality of the manager was above and beyond my expectation. The bathhouse was clean at all times, and this is important to me. I will be going back again and again, lots to do with Cleveland and Helen nearby, so location was perfect as well. Reasonable prices, good security, friendly, I just can't say enough about the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived at dusk to be whisked away by the grounds manager in order to pick out our site. He was very accommodating: if the site was missing something he would get it right away. Very family oriented. Clean bath house, but only one. Loved the fire pit and swings.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleveland
4.1 mi away
Knights Inn Cleveland
Knights Inn Cleveland
#1 of 3 in Cleveland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Country Hideaway
Country Hideaway
#2 of 3 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
4.7 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yonah Mountain Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yonah Mountain Campground

Property: Yonah Mountain Campground
Address: 3678 Helen Hwy, Cleveland, GA 30528-2859
Location: United States > Georgia > Cleveland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Cleveland
Number of rooms: 113

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing