We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Premier Inn portlethen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel

Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel to your Saves list
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mains of Balquharn, Portlethen AB12 4QS, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
#WakeUpWonderful from £35
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portlethen
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Premier Inn portlethen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for one night in April. Paid £81 for one nights stay room only.
Check in same as usual and polite. Room same as all premier inns.
30 mins free internet not enough. Pillows plenty to choose from. Bed comfy and room clean.
Food in pub next door was ok usual brewers fayre.
Had a good sleep but prefer other hotels that have different feel to them and not the same. Also prefer to order food to the room and also get wi-fi in with the cost.
Great location for my business visit straight on the A90. Which you can't really hear.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteBrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0MASZ_SAFIER, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear SteBrizz,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen).

It is sincerely nice to hear that you found our team to be polite and rooms clean and comfortable.

All the Premier Inn's are similar concept hotels to ensure our guests receive the same high standards across all our sites.

Overall, I am very glad you had a good sleep with us and we are looking forward for your next visit to Premier Inn Portlethen.

Best Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    85
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
98
64
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chalus, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I'm quickly becoming a fan of the Premier Inn chain. The rooms are large (especially for UK) and well furnished (even if all identical).
The staff at Aberdeen South were brilliant, friendly and helpful. The room we were given was at the back of the building which was great as it meant that we didn't get any road noise (the A90 is one of the main roads into Aberdeen). I would recommend that you ask for a room at the back, also there didn't appear to be a lift so suitcases had to be carried upstairs. The Brewers Fayre next door is an easy option for eating in the evening. We were there on the Sunday so there was a roast buffet - however we ordered off the menu as we had a voucher and the food was rather disappointing. The Brewers Fayre is also used for breakfast and if I compared this breakfast to other ones I've had at Premier Inns this one was far superior. I would definitely stay at this Premier Inn again.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dils23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0MASZ_SAFIER, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Dils23,

Thank you for your review about your stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen South.

I am delighted that you found our staff brilliant. We pride ourselves on delivering great customer service and going an extra mile for the guest.

The feedback about your eating experience will be passed to the Restaurant Manager.

Overall it is very nice to hear that you are becoming a fan of the Premier Inn and we are looking forward for you next visit to Aberdeen South (Portlethen).

Best Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Travelling with my father around Scotland for a long weekend, Premier Inns seem the most logical choice in somewhere quick and cheap to stay overnight, while being safe in the knowledge of receiving good standards.
This Premier Inn is all this. Brilliant night's stay, and great location to jump straight onto the A90. We had dinner in the adjoining Brewer's Fayre, and was good, although a little overpriced IMO. Breakfast as always, is good Premier Inn standard, and the coffee is top notch.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyf90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0MASZ_SAFIER, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear jonnyf90,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen).

At Premier Inn we pride ourselves on ensuring our guests have clean and comfortable room and I am very glad you have experienced that.

I have passed your comments on to the restaurant general manager, who I am sure will take your feedback on board.

The All you can eat Premier Breakfast and unlimited Costa Coffee refills for £8.25, which I am sure you agree is great value for money.

The team and myself are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night and arrived at 11.30pm, the two guys on reception were friendly and helpful and the room was usual Premier Inn standard, i.e. large, clean and with everything you need.

Not much more to say really, I choose to stay in Premier Inns whenever I'm away from home on business as they do exactly what they say on the tin, and are much better than other chains I've tried at more money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0MASZ_SAFIER, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Gordonrgs37,

Thank you for your kind review about Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen). Your positive feedback about the friendliness and helpfulness of our team is much appreciated.

It is sincerely nice to hear that you found our hotel to be the "usual high standard" and prefer to stay at Premier Inn's than in other chains.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Aberdeen.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed for three nights from Saturday to Tuesday. I had to request a room change to the back of the hotel due to the noise from people leaving the restaurant. The reception staff were friendly and polite. Unfortunately housekeeping seemed to disregard the "Do Not Disturb" sign on my door and woke me up on the final morning of my visit. Rooms were very clean and comfortable but soundproofing could be better. Wifi was slow and almost unusable at times. On the plus side the restaurant was excellent and parking was always available. Would use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0MASZ_SAFIER, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear SHal76,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen). You feedback is crucial to us.

I am very sorry that our housekeeping team has waked you up. The following will be investigated and addressed. In regards of wifi, on next occasion please come and speak to our friendly team on site and we will try to sort it for you.

Overall, we are very pleased you would use our service again and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed one night on business. First time in a Premier Inn and if all are of this standard would have no hesitation in staying again. Room clean and modern. Bathroom area again clean and roomy. Downside was one of the bedside lights was not working and the shower gel dispenser had ran out, Bed was large and comfortable and had a flat screen T.V with tea and coffee making facilities. All in all a great business hotel.

Room Tip: The carvery/bar has regular food offers - eat as much as you want curry on a thursday and promotions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Realist1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0MASZ_SAFIER, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Realist1201,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen). Your feedback is much appreciated.

We are very sorry about the issues you have experienced with bedside light and shower gel. On next visit, please do not hesitate to come and speak with any of our friendly team members who will do their best to sort your problems.
Overall, we are very happy that you enjoyed our facilities and have no hesitation in staying with us again.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Aberdeen.

Best Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

great service staff very friendly especially night shift.2 mature gents on duty went out of there way to help us .even had time to joke with our children.and deal with very rude guests.bar was noisy .but okay very rude woman in room 28/26 told my children to be quiet ,it was only 10.50 but not hotels fault.

Room Tip: keep away from the restaurant can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0MASZ_SAFIER, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear james m,

Thank you for your contribution on TripAdvisor. It is very nice to hear that you found our staff very friendly. Your kind compliments will be passed on to our night shift team.

We are all looking forward to your next visit to Premier Inn Aberdeen South.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlethen
7.6 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
3.8 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
#4 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen North (Bridge Of Don) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
Address: Mains of Balquharn, Portlethen AB12 4QS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Portlethen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portlethen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decisions, decisions. Do you spend time exploring the scenery of North East Scotland, or do you head straight into Aberdeen for all the shopping, leisure and business facilities it has to offer? Premier Inn Hotel Aberdeen South (Portlethen) puts you within easy reach of whatever you decide to do. See where the crown jewels were hidden from Cromwell with a visit to the ruined medieval fortress of Dunnottar Castle. Or visit a real gem for garden lovers, Duthie Park and the exotic plants of the Winter Gardens. And don't miss the precious stone of Aberdeen itself, with the shimmering silver of the granite buildings and landmarks. Mouth-watering food awaits you back at the hotel, courtesy of our Brewers Fayre restaurant, as well as extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: On A90, take 2nd exit for Portlethen from either direction and follow signposts for Badentoy Park. The hotel is on the right. Next to the Mains of Balquharn Brewers Fayre. Sat nav postcode: AB12 4YD Transport and local information: Portlethen & Stonehaven Golf Course Aberdeen Shopping Sunset Boulevard Beach Portlethen Train Station 2 miles Aberdeen Airport 12 miles Aberdeen Ferry 10 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Aberdeen South Hotel Aberdeen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing