We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portlethen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed one night on business. First time in a Premier Inn and if all are of this standard would have no hesitation in staying again. Room clean and modern. Bathroom area again clean and roomy. Downside was one of the bedside lights was not working and the shower gel dispenser had ran out, Bed was large and comfortable and had a flat screen T.V with tea and coffee making facilities. All in all a great business hotel.

Room Tip: The carvery/bar has regular food offers - eat as much as you want curry on a thursday and promotions...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realist1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0MASZ_SAFIER, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Realist1201,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen). Your feedback is much appreciated.

We are very sorry about the issues you have experienced with bedside light and shower gel. On next visit, please do not hesitate to come and speak with any of our friendly team members who will do their best to sort your problems.
Overall, we are very happy that you enjoyed our facilities and have no hesitation in staying with us again.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Aberdeen.

Best Regards,
Tomasz Safier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 361 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

great service staff very friendly especially night shift.2 mature gents on duty went out of there way to help us .even had time to joke with our children.and deal with very rude guests.bar was noisy .but okay very rude woman in room 28/26 told my children to be quiet ,it was only 10.50 but not hotels fault.

Room Tip: keep away from the restaurant can be noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0MASZ_SAFIER, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear james m,

Thank you for your contribution on TripAdvisor. It is very nice to hear that you found our staff very friendly. Your kind compliments will be passed on to our night shift team.

We are all looking forward to your next visit to Premier Inn Aberdeen South.

Kind Regards,
Tomasz Safier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stay here every time I work up in Aberdeen, that's if rooms are available, recently refurbished the rooms are clean and modern. Just a few miles south of Aberdeen with plenty of parking and a half decent restaurant attached to dine at.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wmack67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0MASZ_SAFIER, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Wmack67,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen South.
We are extremely glad you have found our rooms clean and modern.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Aberdeen.

Best Regards,
Tomasz Safier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Where to start, stayed here for one night last week the hotel itself is nice usual PI cleanliness and receptionist Debra was friendly and efficient. Went to the 'Restaurant ' for a meal we had 2 chicken goujons for starters which were ok but the mains we had were disgusting!, we ordered the special of surf, turf and chicken and a bacon and chicken salad. The bacon had been microwaved, white fat and cold the chicken not much better salad just looked as though it had been scooped off the floor and thrown in the bowl, the steak on the other dish tasted like it had been deepfried for speed, tasteless as was the chicken but the crowning glory was the battered prawns which when we broke the batter were still grey and raw ! When the waitress and duty manager George came to clear the table we pointed this out to him only to be told 'everybody else liked it ' , REALLY ? , if food poisoning is your idea of a good night out this is your place. George in fairness refunded the meal and we retreated to the hotel. Fast forward to 11.30ish when we were woken by the TV next door on full volume, I went to reception to ask the night guys Bert and Ken to come up I was told ' yeah in a few minutes ' as he was talking to George from the restaurant, great ! , I went back up and knocked the door myself and the TV went off immediately and as I turned I saw kens face peering round the door at the top of the corridor to see what was happening. Way too little way too late id already done his job for him. An hour later im still wide awake after this so went down for a cigarette and asked Bert and Ken if they were meant to patrol to corridors to prevent situations like this, Ken rounded on me and told me ' you listen to me ' ooh great customer service skills and more so threatening to a female guest. In the morning when we were leaving my husband asked for the good night guarantee to be honoured only to be stared at blankly and so repeated the request but they both pretended they couldn't understand an English accent. I filled in a comment card and handed it to them and requested the managers name which was Marta and told them I would ring her later to discuss the stay. Upon speaking to Marta later she was very apologetic and asked if we would consider staying again ?? NO NO NO AND NO !, We stay in Premier Inns all over the country 2-3 times a week and never have we felt so disgusted in an establishment as this.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tarmactourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide a high level of service in all establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. Please accept my apologies that your dining experience fell far short of your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that feedback is very important to us and we would like the opportunity to investigate further. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Only stayed here for one night, however, the service was excellent. Rooms were tidy, spacious and comfortable. Adjustable heating was available. The ensuite was clean and towels were provided. A small TV was provided. Beds were comfy and there were differennt pillows available.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the restuarant was lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulMoscrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta_Gacek, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear PaulMoscrop,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Premier Inn Aberdeen South.

All the team is pleased that you found our service to be excellent, rooms tidy, spacious and comfortable. We are happy that you had a good night's sleep and found the adjoining restaurant to be of a high standard.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Aberdeen.

Kind Regards

Marta Gacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for just the one night after a combined football match and shopping trip. It is about 10 minutes drive from the city centre. We had a family room which was large with a double and single bed. Everything was clean and modern, lcd tv, tea/coffee making facilities and 30 minutes free wi-fi. The staff were welcoming and efficent. We made use of the dinner and breakfast deal and there was plenty choice. It was rather busy but they managed to find a table large enough for our group of 9 no bother at all. There was again plenty of choice for breakfast: cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juices and all the usual hot products, bacon, sausage, hash browns etc. Nice touch from the friendly staff was being asked if we wanted porridge, scrambled, poached or boiled eggs or an omelette. It is just off the main road but we weren't bothered by noise at all. One small downside was that I found the bed to be slightly hard but my hubby had no complaints. The hotel offers excellent value for money and if in the area I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossom_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta_Gacek, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Blossom_26

Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay here at Premier Inn Aberdeen South.

We are extremely pleased that your stay in our hotel was a wonderful experience and that you found our rooms spotless and our team welcoming. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and you found our rooms to be well equipped.

It is a pleasure pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our ‘All You Can Eat Breakfast’ and you liked the variety of the offer.

We take a lot of pride in ensuring our guests have the best possible service and a good nights sleep and I’m glad we were able to do this for you and your family.

Thank you once again for such great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Marta Gacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the 4th time I have stayed at this particular Premier Inn and it is usually for 7/12 days so I need it to be comfortable, I found the bed to be slightly to hard for me but this was not a problem as a mattress topper was placed on the bed and I slept like a baby, how's that for service you would'nt get that service in some top hotels! The housekeeping staff are excellent the room is always kept beautifully clean and fresh so top marks there. The reception staff go out of their way to help you, nothing seems to be to much trouble for them if they can't find someone to help they go and do the job themselves. The restaurant next foor offers great service and food the breakfast is great value and the theme nights Chinese, Italian, fish and chips etc are a fabulous way of giving you choice and I invited my family to one of these nights and my grandaughter because she is under 3 ate free what more can you ask for. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta_Gacek, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Catherine F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay here on Trip Advisor, your feedback and comments are always very much appreciated.

I was pleased to read that you found your stays with us to your satisfaction. Your very generous comments have been passed on to all the team, all of which were overjoyed that they could make your stay a memorable one. I have also passed your kind comments to the team in adjoining restaurant.

It remains our focus at Premier Inn Aberdeen South to deliver the best customer experience that we possible can, I was personally thrilled to read your comments and feel like we are a long way down the road to achieving this.

Thank you once again for your comments, my team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Aberdeen South again on your next visit to Portlethen.

Best Regards,

Marta Gacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlethen
3.6 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
3.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
5.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel
7.6 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
487 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel

Address: Mains of Balquharn, Portlethen AB12 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Portlethen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portlethen
Price Range: $59 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decisions, decisions. Do you spend time exploring the scenery of North East Scotland, or do you head straight into Aberdeen for all the shopping, leisure and business facilities it has to offer? Premier Inn Hotel Aberdeen South (Portlethen) puts you within easy reach of whatever you decide to do. See where the crown jewels were hidden from Cromwell with a visit to the ruined medieval fortress of Dunnottar Castle. Or visit a real gem for garden lovers, Duthie Park and the exotic plants of the Winter Gardens. And don't miss the precious stone of Aberdeen itself, with the shimmering silver of the granite buildings and landmarks. Mouth-watering food awaits you back at the hotel, courtesy of our Brewers Fayre restaurant, as well as extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: On A90, take 2nd exit for Portlethen from either direction and follow signposts for Badentoy Park. The hotel is on the right. Next to the Mains of Balquharn Brewers Fayre. Sat nav postcode: AB12 4YD Transport and local information: Portlethen & Stonehaven Golf Course Aberdeen Shopping Sunset Boulevard Beach Portlethen Train Station 2 miles Aberdeen Airport 12 miles Aberdeen Ferry 10 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Aberdeen South Hotel Aberdeen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing