We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed - no”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portlethen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressed - no”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Not overly impressed, breakfast was £8.25 for what can be described as reheated rubbish, stayed in many premier inns for both work and social and this was unfortunately the worst experience. We booked a family room which in essence was a standard room with a couple of portable beds thrown in making our stay very uncomfortable. The premier inn website states free wifi this is true however for only 30mins per day IF you can connect properly and once connected was painfully slow. Recently installed freeview was impossible to watch as signal was poor.... Fire alarm whilst trying to prepare family for a wedding was great but the lack of apologies or complimentary drink in the bar would have been nice. Regularly in Aberdeen so will have to look at alternative hotels.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMurphysouth, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Chris T,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn Aberdeen South we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable and pleasant stay, and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise once again that on this occasion your stay did not meet your expectations and we failed to satisfy your needs.

It is sad to learn that your experience was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured that the issues raised will be investigated and actions taken to ensure it does not happen again.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.


Kindest Regards,

Marta Gacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    102
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
130
87
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A 5 star hotel would struggle to be as good ! The welcome was very warm and helpful . The room exceptionally clean as was the bathroom. Very comfortable beds and pillows , breakfast was exceptional also , quality to rival none . Do yourself a favour forget the highbrow go for quality AND comfort .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billybothwell68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMurphysouth, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Billythefish68,

Thank you for sharing your amazing comment about Premier Inn Aberdeen South with us and the rest of the world. It is so nice to read such a positive and enthusiastic review. It is also a great reward to our team to find out that our guests compare us with 5 star hotels and we were able to exceed the expectations and impress with the quality and standards of our hospitality services. We will be honoured welcoming you back in the near future.

Big thank you for the recognition,

Marta Gacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Excellent service, superb receptionists, very clean, very quiet, slept like a dream. Food is good in the pub/restaurant attached but too child friendly for me! Breakfast was excellent.....enough said!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMurphysouth, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear MrsPHull,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent stay experience on Tripadvisor. We are grateful that you mentioned so many great aspects of your stay, such as excellent customer service, cleanliness standards and comfortable sleep. We are delighted that you found our All You Can Eat buffet breakfast to be excellent. Your amazing comments on our staff will definitely be passed onto all team members!

We would hope to have an opportunity welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Marta Gacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed in a few premier inns over a few days and this was the best one!! Staff very welcoming at reception and told the kids to hunt for a duck in the bedroom for a prize!! A small touch that went down a treat !!in the brewer fayre next door we had a great Sunday carvery and a huge play zone for the kids!! The staff in the restaurant were a credit to brewers fayre franchise and again made the kids who are 3 and 1 1/2 feel very special! If ever in the area again I'll DEFINATELY be back!!! Thanks so much .....

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Souter78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMurphysouth, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Souter78,

In the first place I would like to thank you for your wonderful comment on Tripadvisor about our Premier Inn Aberdeen South. We are thrilled to hear that your kids enjoyed the TREASURE DUCK HUNT so much as it is priceless to see the happiness on a little face and we are pleased that we achieved it once again. I would like to thank you for your remarkable words about our establishment and I hope it will motivate many others to also try the excellent service and facilities of our hotel. It is a delight to read how much you have enjoyed your stay among us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Marta Gacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I chose this hotel because it's the nearest from Maersk Offshore Training Centre in Aberdeen. I didn't know a thing about this hotel and after my 6 night stay I can say it was a very good experience and accomplished all my expectations. A good surprise indeed.
The personnel was nice and positively attentive to my needs. The room was very clean and confortable. The surroundings are very quiet and allowing a good night sleep.
I will recommend this hotel to all going for business or leasure in Aberdeen South.
I will repeat my stay for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms between 50 and 60 are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joaquim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMurphysouth, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Joaquim S,

We would like to thank you for your friendly comment on Tripadvisor about our hotel. We are very pleased to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay. We are proud that you had a good night sleep in a clean, comfortable and quiet environment which is a promise we strive to deliver every day. We are also thrilled to read that you found our team to be positively attentive to your needs and our hotel worth such a great recommendation.

We do look forward to welcoming you once again for another great stay while undertaking future Maersk Offshore training courses.

Regards,

Marta Gacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

A large hotel complex situated in a quiet location just outside the City of Aberdeen. We were staying there for a family gathering. My brother lives nearby so this was an ideal place for us to to stay. The staff are lovely, very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The room had everything that we needed.and was clean and tidy.
The onsite restaurant organised a buffet for our family gathering and they did us proud. However, I agree that the breakfast is overpriced and we used the nearby cafe in the mornings. Despite that, I would still recommend this PI and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room some distance from reception to avoid any noise from other residents coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMurphysouth, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Helen C,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay with us here at Premier Inn Aberdeen South. We were absolutely delighted to read that we were able to make this family event so special. Our team is working very hard to make every minute of our guests stay enjoyable and remarkable. We are extremely happy that we have achieved this again. It is sad to hear that you found our All You Can Eat buffet breakfast to be overpriced as we strive to deliver value for money dinning experience, although we are glad that you would recommend our hotel to future guests and we will be happy to welcome you again soon.

Many Thanks,

Marta Gacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We met at the Premier Inn meeting for a family birthday. Three of the families stayed in the hotel as the other two lived nearby. We had a dinner at the Premier Inn and the service was outstanding. The staff put up balloons and made us all really welcome. They could not have done more to make the evening go well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMurphysouth, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Ailie r,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Premier Inn Aberdeen South and for writing such a nice review about the hotel and restaurant. We were very pleased to hear that your family birthday party was such a positive experience and we very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a future visit.

Best Regards,
Marta Gacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlethen
3.6 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
3.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
7.6 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
7.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
Address: Mains of Balquharn, Portlethen AB12 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Portlethen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portlethen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decisions, decisions. Do you spend time exploring the scenery of North East Scotland, or do you head straight into Aberdeen for all the shopping, leisure and business facilities it has to offer? Premier Inn Hotel Aberdeen South (Portlethen) puts you within easy reach of whatever you decide to do. See where the crown jewels were hidden from Cromwell with a visit to the ruined medieval fortress of Dunnottar Castle. Or visit a real gem for garden lovers, Duthie Park and the exotic plants of the Winter Gardens. And don't miss the precious stone of Aberdeen itself, with the shimmering silver of the granite buildings and landmarks. Mouth-watering food awaits you back at the hotel, courtesy of our Brewers Fayre restaurant, as well as extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: On A90, take 2nd exit for Portlethen from either direction and follow signposts for Badentoy Park. The hotel is on the right. Next to the Mains of Balquharn Brewers Fayre. Sat nav postcode: AB12 4YD Transport and local information: Portlethen & Stonehaven Golf Course Aberdeen Shopping Sunset Boulevard Beach Portlethen Train Station 2 miles Aberdeen Airport 12 miles Aberdeen Ferry 10 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Aberdeen South Hotel Aberdeen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing