We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal Premier Inn comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portlethen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Nothing speacial about the place. It was a normal Premier in giving budget accomodation at a reasonable price.

Restaurant food was edible, with specialist buffets nights a few times a week now.

Room was clean and comfortable as normal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 369 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in January 2012. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming and the customer service is excellent. The rooms are spacious and clean and there was little noise from other guests or the nearby roads. The breakfast options are quite good for continental and the Premier breakfast looked OK too.
The only thing that stops me categorising this hotel as Excellent is the troublesome wifi. I gave up and used my dongle in the end because the connection kept timing out. I am sure if I had asked for help from reception that the problem may have been resolved, but in this day and age wifi is something that should just happen, like fresh air!

Room Tip: Individual Permier Inn hotels can put a block on single-night bookings. If the online system says t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Well located, quality accomodation with superb breakfast menu.
Staff very friendly and helpful
Navigation could not be simpler

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Enjoyed my 2 night stay here. Speedy and efficient check in. Fabulous Sleep. Rooms are very modern and comfortable. No noise disturbance, great breakfast with a selection of every breakfast option. Nice wee restaurant/pub offering great food and value for money, family friendly. The only negative for this premier inn would be th location, it's 10-15 mins from Aberdeen city centre, however, it is just a short distance from a frequent bus and rail service. Great stay for a great price. Definitely recommend this premier inn.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeskaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Booked in OK, I asked for a disabled room (have a poorly knee !) I was given room 3,there was a draught from the window, the window vent was broken and this made it noisy, I asked if there was a replacement room and I was told the hotel was fully booked so I would not be able to move.
The draught from the window got worse as it got windy outside.
2 nights without a proper sleep and when I mentioned it they said they would have the room inspected.
Once again the door closers on landings need adjusting, the constant banging during busy times and early mornings.
The pub next door is OK
Time this place had a refurbishment

Room Tip: Dont take room 3 ! Try abnd get one on the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2015

Hi Ferryman1960

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards.

Thanks again

Natalie Ring
Premier Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Although not hugely convenient for Aberdeen City centre (c.£20 taxi) this is a good basic hotel and probably reasonable value by Aberdeen standards. The rooms are clean and comfortable although you may need to turn up the heating when you arrive! All basic and no frills, but you get what you need. Room is quite a good size. Bathroom good although you should take your own soap and shampoo as only a wall-mounted dispenser is available (with shower gel - not my fave). Also watch out for the wash basin tap which is quite high pressure/low volume and rebounds onto you if not careful. But these are niggles - overall a good basic hotel where you will get a good night's sleep and not pay too much. Attached eating facilities are the ususal corporate chain Brewer's Fayre which will feed and water you but no more. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Would recommend although I usually try to stay in a more upmarket chain when on business if possible!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cayman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Friendly staff from the minute you get there till you leave from cleaners,receptionist ,bar staff
Would highly reccomend premier inn in particular this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlethen
3.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Central Justice Mill Lane
7.6 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Neuk
The Neuk
#1 of 1 in Portlethen
50 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel

Address: Mains of Balquharn, Portlethen AB12 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Portlethen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portlethen
Price Range: $59 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decisions, decisions. Do you spend time exploring the scenery of North East Scotland, or do you head straight into Aberdeen for all the shopping, leisure and business facilities it has to offer? Premier Inn Hotel Aberdeen South (Portlethen) puts you within easy reach of whatever you decide to do. See where the crown jewels were hidden from Cromwell with a visit to the ruined medieval fortress of Dunnottar Castle. Or visit a real gem for garden lovers, Duthie Park and the exotic plants of the Winter Gardens. And don't miss the precious stone of Aberdeen itself, with the shimmering silver of the granite buildings and landmarks. Mouth-watering food awaits you back at the hotel, courtesy of our Brewers Fayre restaurant, as well as extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: On A90, take 2nd exit for Portlethen from either direction and follow signposts for Badentoy Park. The hotel is on the right. Next to the Mains of Balquharn Brewers Fayre. Sat nav postcode: AB12 4YD Transport and local information: Portlethen & Stonehaven Golf Course Aberdeen Shopping Sunset Boulevard Beach Portlethen Train Station 2 miles Aberdeen Airport 12 miles Aberdeen Ferry 10 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Aberdeen South Hotel Aberdeen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing