We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD ENOUGH”
Review of Days Inn Clayton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Clayton
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Clayton
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“GOOD ENOUGH”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here because they allowed my dog. Nice for the money and clean. We felt safe but had to ask for north side away from the other parking lots that did not look as safe. Right in front we had the some of the best mexican food I've ever tasted and the service was great also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKEO960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, General Manager at Days Inn Clayton, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your input. Each review helps us to improve our facility and service. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    58
    49
    32
See reviews for
65
59
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The front office person acted as though we inconvenienced him when checking in and barely looked at us when we dropped off the key card.

The room had a bit of an odd odor but seemed fairly clean. The hotel is right on the highway and traffic was really loud. The door to our room did not close well so we made sure all of the locks were engaged any time we were in the room. Fortunately, we didn't plan to stay in the room during most of our one night stay so it wasn't too bad but I would probably chose another location if I stay in Clayton again.

The picture does not represent this hotel in any way, shape or form. The breakfast buffet had bananas, apples, bagels and cereal but it wasn't especially appetizing so we opted to eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, General Manager at Days Inn Clayton, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are looking at the door locks at this time. We have to change batteries annually so any repairs will be made. As you know, we are on the main route north and south, We get heavy traffic at times but we have easy access to the sights and events in our area. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this Days Inn while attending a family wedding in Clayton. The only reason we chose the hotel was because it's one of the only pet friendly hotel in the area. The only positive thing that I can say is that it was clean and had new carpet. Other than that, I would advise you to avoid at all costs.

First, the hotel sits at a stop light on busy highway. You might as well just put the bed in the middle of traffic because it sounds like every car is coming through the door. Very loud.

Then there was the bathroom, which looked like something you'd find at the back of gas station. Old tile, dirty old grout, bulging ceiling tiles and a fan cover that was hanging loose from the ceiling. The floor of the shower was stained. The bathroom was also painted some odd orange/yellow color. You could also tell where they had removed a vanity from the bathroom by the patched wall and the toothbrush holder nestled next to the toilet. Creepy. Oh, I forgot to mention the towels. Paper thin and stained. Suffice it to say that the photos don't really reflect the reality of the hotel. (Nor do they show the Mexican restaurant attached to the hotel.)

The owner also knocked on the door in the middle of our stay and asked us to leave so they could shampoo the new carpets. While I admire the attempt at cleanliness, I found it odd and inconvenient that they would do this while the room was occupied. We weren't ready to leave and I didn't feel comfortable letting shady looking carpet cleaners in the room with all my stuff, so he finally backed off this when I fussed about it.

Finally, don't depend on the place for any kind of breakfast (not that I would want to consume food there anyway). The selection isn't worth the walk to the lobby. You are better off going to the gas station next door, which actually has a decent selection of breakfast items.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Gamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clayton hotels

Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Rates were not to bad, considering the location of hotel. Hotel is on main highways, very busy and loud. The clerks were not very helpful on checking in and out. Breakfast was average to say the least.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, General Manager at Days Inn Clayton, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. As you said, we are convenieently located on the main route through the area. With that, we are easily accessed by travelers. The traffic can be heavy at times. I am sorry the front desk person could not take care of all your needs. We want you to feel at home while you are with us. Our breakfast is a Continental breakfast. We meet all the standards of the brand with what we offer. Please come back when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My boyfriend and his two friends were all groomsmen in a wedding that was going to take place at Chota Falls over Labor Day weekend. Friday night was the rehearsal, so we all piled into the SUV on Thursday night after working all day, to make the 10-12hour drive. Friday morning we arrive to around 6am, thinking that the family of the groom were already at Chota Falls, and then realize there was a miscommunication and that they were not going to be at the place until 3pm, so we have hours before we could get our rooms there and needed to get some decent sleep before all the wedding festivities would begin. Clayton, GA was only a few minutes down the way, and the Days Inn was the only hotel chain we were familiar with so we thought it be best to go with them. It wasn't much to look at driving up to it, but we went in anyways. The person working the front desk was very rude, and acted like it was very inconvenient of us to make her book us a room, and then get a roll out on top of that for our fifth traveler. It cost us $80 for our five hour stay, but we were so tired, we didn't care. As soon as we walk into our room, we were hit with a smell as if something had died in there. It honestly smelt like my dissection lab for Anatomy! The first couple pulled off the covers to jump into bed, and the whole thing was stained with black stuff! Also, the roll-out was damp. The first couple took 3minutes to decide they were sleeping in the SUV, the solo guy slept on the floor, and my boyfriend and I slept with our own sheets, pillows, and blankets that we had brought from home. The rooms must not have been very insulated, because we could hear EVERYTHING that happened outside and in the neighboring rooms. After a few hours of "sleeping" which none of us actually fell completely asleep, we packed up everything and checked out. After the weekend, once we were back home, I e-mailed the Days Inn Corporate office just informing us on how bad our room was, and that one couple felt as though they needed to sleep in the car, and they responded quickly saying that it was an owner-operated facility and that they were going to rely the message for us. I was okay with that. It took about two weeks for Days Inn Clayton to get back with us, and, if anything, their response just made the experience that much worse! The G.M. of Days Inn Clayton never once said "I'm sorry" in the letter to just apologize on how his establishment made us feel, and he basically insulted us the whole time saying that his hotel standards are "very high" and that our room was "very clean" and that they even "cut us a deal" because we'd only be there for a few hours. What a joke!! The place is a dump, and for being in the south, there was no hospitality towards us at all!! I would love to see this establishment go under hard. Management there could care less about their over-paying customers, and everyone who was employed there had the work ethic of an infant and didn't know proper manners. Also, did I mention there is a disgusting Mexican restaurant underneath of it?! I'd give it a lower rating, but a 1 is the lowest I could go! While I am at it, I wouldn't even recommend visiting the crummy town of Clayton, GA. We still had four hours to kill after leaving our dumpy hotel, so we went to some local bars. We spent about two hours at a place that limited us to four cups per pitcher, meaning one of us had to pay for a separate drink the whole time, and our actual waitress served us only ONE pitcher, never checked on our drinks, so when we refilled we had to go to the bar ourselves. It wasn't that big of a deal until she flat out called us out on our "crappy" $3 tip on our $28 bill that she only contributed about $6 of service. If Clayton, GA represents what this so-called "southern hospitality" is about, then the south has got to be one of the rudest areas I've ever been to!!!

Room Tip: Your vehicle is a better place to sleep than this dump. Drive a few more minutes down the road and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
6.7 mi away
Knights Inn Dillard
Knights Inn Dillard
#3 of 3 in Dillard
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
20.8 mi away
Country Hearth Inn Toccoa
7.1 mi away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Dillard
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Clayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Clayton

Property: Days Inn Clayton
Address: 54 Highway 441, Clayton, GA 30525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Clayton 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Clayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing