We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Macon, GA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I were in Clayton visiting relatives and had a wonderful 3 night stay in the hotel. We enjoyed breakfast each morning, as well as a delicious dinner in the restaurant. All staff were very courteous and prompt with any requests we had. We reported that the AC was not cooling well and the issue was immediately resolved thanks to Amanda's prompt attention! We enjoyed morning coffee on the deck which was furnished with a small table and chairs. Unfortunately, we did not have the opportunity to use the spa because of our schedule, but found many things to do within a short drive, including hiking in a beautiful national forest, fishing for trout, and a weekend event in the city of Clayton.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have mountain views, but the the upper set of rooms had easy access to the clubhous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachdawgscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We enjoy hearing from our guests that they had a wonderful visit with us. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    85
    44
    19
    9
See reviews for
74
102
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our group of 5 people stayed the weekend in a 2 bedroom condo. The condo was very clean and tidy and the back balcony was a good size too it was great. Throughout the weekend us three guys played 72 holes of golf. It's a really fun course. Very short, narrow and with some dog legs and straight turns. Couple drive able par fours to make you think. Great greens. Staff is all very nice and friendly great place to be. Will return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Codyjohngeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time on our golf course. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are on our last stay of 4 nights here. It has been a very relaxing time. The staff are very courteous and friendly. We came here to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary and could not been happier with the food and service. We ate in the restaurant last evening to celebrate our anniversary. The food was outstanding. We unfortunately couldn't get in to get a massage with our vouchers ; but hopefully next time we will. Thank you staff for a great time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us. I am sorry that you were not able to get a Spa appointment during your stay but hope that you will return again to give the Spa another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Came here for a weekend getaway, based on the website it looked great. It was ok. The room smelled of stale cigarette smoke as did our neighbors. The breakfast was lacking on healthier items such as fruit and yogurt. It was better than most hotels breakfast. The spa was great. They were very friendly and clean. The staff at the resort and spa were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that might have been newly remodeled or added to avoid stale odors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us but do apologize for the room odor. Our housekeeping staff strives to keep the rooms very clean and smelling fresh. The breakfast buffet usually has some healthy items such as fruit and yogurt so not sure why these were not available to you. We hope you will come back for a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paintsville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Pros very friendly staff, clean rooms, nice beds and bedding, pretty scenery
cons bugs in room, need new tvs, cold breakfast bar, and weak luggage rack, parking was excellent and staff always willing to meet your needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here but sorry you had a few issues. As far as the TV's we are in the process of upgrading the rooms with new equipment. The breakfast buffet varies each day with hot and cold items. We hope you will have a return visit with us to see all of the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Kingwood Golf club is just AWESOME - it has always been good but I guess the new management has stirred things up and it is now EXCELLENT. Louis? - he always checks me in for golf and is so friendly and helpful and of course the good ole fashioned country welcome when you walk throughout he front door of the pro shop is very comforting :)
Played there twice on this trip and Robert - I think his last name is Webb - greeted me both times and ensured I felt VERY welcome! On both occasions - and this is new for me - he followed me to my car to get my clubs and got them on the cart plus was very friendly. When I finished my round he cleaned my clubs and reminded me not to forget anything - week I was about to get in my car when he said - "See you almost did!" and handed me my cell phone - thanks Robert :) The course is in good condition and only will get better with the spring and summer approaching. Love the challenging doglegs - gorgeous scenery and close location to Clayton and my home in Tiger - I paid $49 for cart and round. I think it's a must play course in the Georgia mountains - tell Robert and Sunny Max said hi :)

Room Tip: Did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandviewCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your experience on our golf course and with our staff. The staff all strive to make our guests feel welcome and hope they have a wonderful time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I grabbed two nights at this resort for a mini vacation, and are so glad we did. This resort is nestled in a beautiful mountain area, and the staff were eager to make our stay pleasant and fun. We enjoyed access to the spa with hot tubs, steam rooms and saunas, a large indoor pool, and fitness center. Our room was spacious and nicely laid out, with a large private balcony and wonderful view. Do dine at the resort restaurant - a wonderful menu and everything we ordered was 5 star delicious! We enjoyed the old lovely architecture of the clubhouse and surrounding buildings. If we had more time we would have visited the many hiking trails in the area. Highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the place! They all face the same direction with a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyHannahT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We try hard to make sure everyone enjoys their stay with us and it is always nice to hear such wonderful comments such as yours. We are pleased you had a nice time and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
7.2 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beechwood Inn
Beechwood Inn
#1 of 7 in Clayton
259 reviews
5.7 mi away
Historic Sylvan Falls Mill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingwood Country Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Country Club & Resort

Property: Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Address: 401 Country Club Dr, Clayton, GA 30525-5548 (Formerly The Inn at Kingwood)
Location: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingwood Country Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting away from it all has never been so convenient. With luscious dining options, world-class golf, hair-raising adventure opportunities, and plush lodgings - all accompanied by the stunning mountain views, Kingwood Resort is the perfect vacation retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingwood Country Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingwood Country Club Hotel Clayton
Kingwood Country Club And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing