We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I grabbed two nights at this resort for a mini vacation, and are so glad we did. This resort is nestled in a beautiful mountain area, and the staff were eager to make our stay pleasant and fun. We enjoyed access to the spa with hot tubs, steam rooms and saunas, a large indoor pool, and fitness center. Our room was spacious and nicely laid out, with a large private balcony and wonderful view. Do dine at the resort restaurant - a wonderful menu and everything we ordered was 5 star delicious! We enjoyed the old lovely architecture of the clubhouse and surrounding buildings. If we had more time we would have visited the many hiking trails in the area. Highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the place! They all face the same direction with a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyHannahT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We try hard to make sure everyone enjoys their stay with us and it is always nice to hear such wonderful comments such as yours. We are pleased you had a nice time and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our group of six (three couples) recently booked our reservations with the delightful Amanda. She was fabulous and most gracious, as she gathered all our information and selected rooms next to each other. She also shared many helpful tips to enhance our upcoming visit. What exceptional customer service! We felt like we were family, and we are anxious to visit Kingwood Resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cricket W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about one of our staff. All of the staff try hard to make everyone feel welcome and have an enjoyable visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We visited for 2 nights with 3 other couples. The rooms were clean and roomy. Loved the large balconies . The men really enjoyed the golf course and the ladies had a great shopping day in Clayton. The negative attitude by the bartender on our first night definitely affected our overall experience. We did not return for dinner or drinks the second night. Hiring a friendlier, more professional bartender would truly improve the ambience of this resort in a beautiful setting.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SisTAH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

I am so sorry to hear about your experience with one of our staff. We strive to make all of our guests feel welcome. I wish you had given our Restaurant another chance to show you how good the food is and how friendly our wait staff are. We hope you will return some day and give us that second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our trip was more than I had even imagined. Driving 8 hrs, we were unsure of what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised. From the moment we arrived, the staff was very friendly and welcoming. Mike Clansey especially made us feel right at home and went above and beyond to make our stay at Kingwood the best.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and was treated well. All of our staff try make everyone feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I can not put into words how much I was appreciative of Mike Clansey! I loved Kingwood but he magnified the experience by ten. He was beyond helpful for anything from attempting to golf, to nice places to visit in Clayton. I am from Indianapolis but Clansey made Kingwood feel like home! I could not thank him enough !

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jljtrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about one of our staff. We are pleased when someone goes above and beyond their duties to make our guests feel at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great place to relax and get away from stress of life. Rooms with beautiful views, very friendly staff. Love the spa, espeically the message and pedicures. Have a great hiking trail to take a walk to view 3 waterfalls and just apprecieta nuture. Enjoyed the hot breakfast on the weekend but missed it during the week, was my husbands only dissapointment, but that will not stop us from going again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Our Spa is an excellent place to unwind and relax with a massage or other treatment, we are glad you enjoyed it. The breakfast buffet differs some each day but they try to offer both hot and cold items. We hope you will come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The staff is fantastic - thank goodness because the rest of this resort needs some TLC. Our room was less than perfect but the staff offered to move us and apologized for the condition of our room. We managed to fix the sliding door so that was good, we managed to get the sliding door to the bathroom back on it's track so that was good. There were other problems that we didn't address but that was ok. The town is totally closed on Sunday so don't plan on going to Clayton, GA on a Sunday for dinner - we had snacks in our room and that was good because we had a wonderful late lunch at the Rusty Bike Cafe and we weren't that hungry. The resort offered breakfast free but it was only continental on Monday but they actually cooked us some scrambled eggs and sausage and biscuits - way more than requested so that was good. Breakfast is only from 8:00 on and we were leaving before that so we didn't do breakfast the second day but that was ok. The golf course was only just waking up to spring and the grass was still brown but we enjoyed it anyway. It is definitely a challenging course and the 18th hole is incredibly difficult at the end of a long day but that was ok too. Like I said the staff was so nice that we really didn't care about all the problems and I'm sure in another month it will be much better - we felt like it was our own personal resort and that was ok with us. As you can see we don't require perfection and the price was right but I do think people need to know that you shouldn't visit Clayton, GA until late April at the earliest to experience the best it has to offer. Having said all this it was an ok visit - just ok - certainly not worth a return trip. Cudos again to the staff - they did the best they could. The outdoor pool was not open but it looked nice and the tennis courts looked to be satisfactory but we didn't use them so I'm no sure.

Room Tip: Not sure what to say except that our room was not the best. Perhaps you should check out your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dquigley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

I'm sorry that you had some problems with your room. You should not have been put in a room that needed some work done on it. Our rooms are a little older but kept very clean and repairs are done when required. Clayton is a small town but very friendly and busy during the season. We hope you will give us and our town another chance sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
7.2 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
238 reviews
8.8 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beechwood Inn
Beechwood Inn
#1 of 7 in Clayton
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingwood Country Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Country Club & Resort

Address: 401 Country Club Dr, Clayton, GA 30525-5548 (Formerly The Inn at Kingwood)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range: $102 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingwood Country Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting away from it all has never been so convenient. With luscious dining options, world-class golf, hair-raising adventure opportunities, and plush lodgings - all accompanied by the stunning mountain views, Kingwood Resort is the perfect vacation retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kingwood Country Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingwood Country Club And Resort
Kingwood Country Club Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing