We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a little weekend getaway from the city. We had such a great time. The front desk lady was so helpful and very welcoming. The room was very nice and clean, and the resturant on the resort was very good and we met several locals. The resort is very pretty and the view of the mountains is fantastic. Only negatives, the bed was very hard and the hot tubs are seperate, one in the mens locker room and one in the womens locker room We will return again soon, we absolutly loved our visit !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for being our guest and for your review. Kingwood takes great pride in providing quality service and creating a memorable experience for our guests. When you return to the area we are looking forward to having you as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Kingwood Country Club & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 268 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a perfect place to stay between Clayton GA and Long Creek, SC. Its very clean and safe and reasonably priced and the staff is super friendly and helpful. The only thing I would recommend is Shampoo and separate conditioner instead of the one product together. It was winter and with all the dryness, you really need a separate conditioner.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast, wasn't great, but adequate.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatsotsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your visit and for your review of our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and are hopeful when you return to the area your will choose to be our guest again. We have put in place a new amenity package as you suggested!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We enjoyed this trip so very much...Great food,,,the staff made us feel so special...They sent us a bottle of Wine and at dinner a shrimp cocktail...We went hiking snow tubing and shopping.THANKS
YOU FOR A GREAT TRIP,,,,

Room Tip: Our room was great on the lower level..
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky20002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing Kingwood as your anniversary destination! You both were such a pleasure to have as our guests and we enjoyed providing some special surprises for your anniversary! We are hopeful you will be back to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Last week my husband and I finally took a vacation to Northern GA and stayed at the absolutely gorgeous Kingwood Resort. The staff greeted us with such kindness that we didn't want to leave. They have it all here with the spa (went 3 times!), golf and wonderful views of the countryside. The price was very reasonable for such a well known resort. We will be back next year. Thank you to the outstanding staff that took care of us!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellalovesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This resort is a perfect place to relax, play golf, shop, and enjoy the wonderful food. The rooms are nice and very clean! The staff is outstanding from the check-in to the housekeeping team-congrates to all! I enjoyed my trip to the Highlands but I like the small town of Clayton better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of our property. We would have to agree with you! Kingwood is the perfect setting for any type of traveler and we are hopeful you will be our guest again soon! Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Surrounded by the awesome North Georgia mountains, this rural resort almost forces you to relax. The staff is most helpful and while the rooms are older than the cookie-cutter rooms found from sea to shining sea, they are spotless, well appointed and close to Clayton. Call ahead if you can because of its popularity for weddings and golf events. Their restaurant and lounge are both above average. Rates are more than fair for the quality you will receive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLRifler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth r, Director of Sales at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of our property. Kingwood's staff takes great pride in providing quality service and to helping our guests create a lasting favorable memory of their experience. The property provides the perfect setting for all types of travelers and we hope that you will come back and be our guest again soon! Again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was my first stay at Kingwood. Friendly staff. Hot buffet-full breakfast. Firm mattress as experienced by me.

My stay was part of a wedding party over a couple of days....so you can imagine all the folks, all the concerns, all the mishaps, all the excitement. In particular, I want to say thank you for the assistance that the staff provided when I left something within the room (after little sleep and certainly all the excitement of the wedding!). After discovering that I had left one of my favorite pillows (that I take everywhere with me on my travels), I called Kingwood and they promptly located the pillow and determined with me how to return it. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallalilyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth R, Manager at Kingwood Country Club & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your first visit at Kingwood and am hopeful that you will return! Our staff does an excellent job providing quality and personal customer service. The resort is open all year and affords our guests comfortable lodging, dining, indoor pool and day Spa as well as golf weather permitting. So if you are looking to get away this winter season keep Kingwood in mind. Again, you are very welcome and thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
7.2 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
226 reviews
8.8 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
117 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beechwood Inn
Beechwood Inn
#1 of 7 in Clayton
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingwood Country Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Country Club & Resort

Address: 401 Country Club Dr, Clayton, GA 30525-5548 (Formerly The Inn at Kingwood)
Location: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range: $118 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingwood Country Club & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting away from it all has never been so convenient. With luscious dining options, world-class golf, hair-raising adventure opportunities, and plush lodgings - all accompanied by the stunning mountain views, Kingwood Resort is the perfect vacation retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingwood Country Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingwood Country Club And Resort
Kingwood Country Club Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing