We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Clayton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn
Grayson, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in Clayton”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent a couple nights in the motel and Frank has created a gem in a place that needed one. The decorations are above and beyond what you will find in a chain. The coffee is great and there is a fridge and microwave. The bath was large and the beds comfortable. Frank is also a very attentive host and wants to please his guests. There is no breakfast served but the rates make that an acceptable trade off. He also has cottages if you need more room and they look even nicer. If you need a room in Clayton try this you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
47
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Everything we wanted: nice surroundings, internet connection, clean, comfortable, home-y and reasonably priced. That alone would have been enough to make us happy. But we found all that and so much more!

Our cabin was thoughtfully decked out with a lovely fireplace (gas), AC and heat, rocking chairs, a heat lamp for the bathroom as well as a washer and dryer and amazingly soft, thick towels and linens. There are local crafts decorating the rooms and a stocked bookshelf under the flat screen TV.

Other surprises that turned out to be useful as well- the bottle of hydrogen peroxide in the bathroom medicine chest, a nice new coffee pot, along with coffee and filters in the kitchen, beautifully landscaped and maintained grounds, the big gas grill and a trail up to a picnic table with a great view of the mountains. This place is a real treasure!

Then there's Clayton- a nice little town filled with lots of small shops for browsing, cafes for resting and getting coffee, a variety of restaurants and a very well stocked Ingles grocery store.

And then there's Frank, the friendly, helpful owner/ operator. Besides building some of the cabins and renovating all the others, he keeps the cabins and grounds in top notch shape, knows the area well and will direct you to some breathtakingly awe- inspiring waterfalls,

Did I already say this place is a treasure?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graciewho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family came to Mountain Aire for a little bit of quiet and to escape the hustle, bustle, and techno-insanity that is everyday life. What we found is that Frank is fantastically on top of everything here, has built and maintained a perfect little getaway, and really cares about his guests. The cottage we stayed in, The Clearview, provided us exactly that, a clear view of our family and the time to reconnect. This establishment has everything you could need in a quiet escape, without all of the traffic and to's and fro's of a standard hotel. Kudos to Frank and his Mountain Aire. What a blessing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatom, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We are on the porch now drinking a glass of wine in our rocking chairs. A single owner that handles everything including the cleaning. Very good value for a few days in Clayton, GA, close to main street, we walked to the cafe to eat breakfast. Lots of trees and greenery on the property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

An exceptional motel- We stay here anytime we want to relax and enjoy the mountains. The rooms are lovely and very clean.We come back once or twice a year because the experience is so pleasant and renewing. Frank, the owner is unusually helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

During a recent visit to Clayton I stayed at the Mount Aire. I found it to be very clean, quite, comfortable, and very well appointed and maintained - SUPER clean! I would highly recommend Mount Aire to anyone. Frank was a very friendly and helpful host!

Room Tip: I looked at several rooms and all were clean and appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaP0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for three nights in July in the Dogwood room. Very clean and nice. Pretty bathroom with handpainted design on the walls. Frank is a very gracious and caring host! We certainly plan to come back!!
Roberta& Wayne Sturgis

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
114 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn

Property: Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn
Address: 18 Motel Dr, Clayton, GA 30525-4126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn Upscale & Affordable Cottages, The Hillside House, Individual Kitchenette Rooms, or Suites Daily, Weekend, Weekly, or Monthly Getaways. Upscale and Affordable - Casual, Comfortable Charm. Centrally located to everything! Please Note: All interiors are Strictly Non-Smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Aire Cottages Hotel Clayton
Mountain Aire Cottages And Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing