We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take the family!”
Review of Oinkers BBQ

Oinkers BBQ
Ranked #19 of 56 Restaurants in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Clayton, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great place to take the family!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Theres something here for everyone, even picky kids enjoy it! Have been going to Oinkers for years. The waitress call us by name, they get our food cooking just about as we walk in the door. Their homemade bbq sauces are phenomenal. Although the atmosphere is not the best, its got very friendly service and very tasty food for cheap prices. The desserts are also homemade. Peanut butter pie is my favourite. Easily one of the best places to eat in Clayton for the best price. cons: Parking lot is all gravel and gets a bit rough in wet weather. Occasionally runs out of bbq. has gotten better but sometimes we have to wait to get a table. Only open Thursday-Sunday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueXjello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints. Ever.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We eat here every time we get to Clayton which is about once or twice a month. It's always the best.... Great portions of tasty bbq for a reasonable price. Our #1 Clayton eatery for six years.

Helpful?
Thank MufeGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Family hospitality ! ”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Folks could not have been more friendly and accommodating. We had ORIGINALLY planned to dine at the " evil" ( lol) pig , but GPS could find it and THEN, even though I had called to check on their hours , they were closed up tight when we finally got there about 7:45. th 10 July. STILL waiting for the return call of the message I left them !
Anyway, we were so hungry and even tho it was after closing time, the real nice folks let us in and served up some real good pulled pork with a smile. Really want to try the ribs but they sell out super fast. The next day we returned on our way home but ribs weren't ready yet so we DID try the ribs at the rib " joint" on the other side of time. Yeah, they WERE good, but very expensive too. For sure I'll will make it a point to try the ribs at Oinkers and enjoy other meals too.

Helpful?
Thank kaw54realestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Once good but not anymore”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here about a half dozen times in the last few years and always enjoyed it but today was terrible. Ordered a small pulled pork plate. And an extremely small portion it was. The Texas Toast was a Hamburger bun slightly toasted. This came with two sides. My first choice, Brunswick stew, they were out of. How, pray tell, does a BBQ Restaurant, a local icon known for the Brunswick stew run out. I substituted onion rings and potato salad. Order came out with four small onion rings. Waitress said they were cold but the kitchen would make more. Now if you've ever eaten deli bought potato salad you can identify it. It was pitiful. Wife had the same thing except with baked beans which were obviously from a can. Did I mention the pork was very dry?
I will not be returning here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeogiaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The best food on the planet”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

They don't offer much but what they do is too die for. Their ribs are the best we have ever had in our lives. Tender and delicious. We stop there EVERY time we are in the area. They are only open a few days a week but we could and would go there every night. The prices are unbelievably cheap too. They need to move closer to our home town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oinkers BBQ also viewed

 
Clayton, Rabun County
Clayton, Rabun County
 
Clayton, Rabun County
Clayton, Rabun County
 

Been to Oinkers BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing