We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Universal Joint

Universal Joint
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Creative burgers, wings, well thought out menu with everything made in house. A full bar including 16 draft beers featuring craft and domestic. Outdoor seating and live music Friday and Saturdays May through October.
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Went here with the in laws. This was once an old garage and the owners did a great job of turning it into a funky restaurant. Indoor and outdoor seating. We had sliders, fries, and smoked wings. All were excellent and large. The wings were as meaty as any I've ever seen and the meat just fell off the bone. Big selection of draft beers also. Not a fancy place but it beats the heck out of fast food or the standard country cooking places. Stop in!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigdawg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    187
    53
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This ain't your grandpa's garage!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Looking for something different on our way to Franklin NC other than the Dillard House & found it! The service was great (thanks Mongo!) & the portions huge ! You might want to split entrees! It's just a couple blocks off 441. You will not be disappointed! By the way, the Dillard house is superb; we've been there many times & wanted something different!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Sit outside if you can”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stopped in for lunch on our way through the area. I had the trout salad which was perfect. My partner had the burger and it probably needed to be cooked just a tad bit more to his liking and definitely mine. It was very big. He seemed to like it fine. The fries were good and the beer cold. I could see that this could be a fun place. The server was a little wacky.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachpeach75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great casual dining in a beautiful mountain town”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Whenever we are to or through Clayton, Georgia we try and stop by Universal Joint for lunch or dinner. It's a great casual dining spot with fabulous hamburgers and a great list of local beers. My husband really enjoys the tater tots that you can order with the sandwiches. The patio is always lively and since the evenings are usually cool it's a great place to hang out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TDGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Had a fun lunch”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

After a hike nearby, we went to UJ for lunch with our boys. It was a beautiful day and we sat outside and enjoyed some bluegrass music. Service was friendly and lunch was good. We enjoyed hamburgers and quesadillas and it was a great family outing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuciandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal Joint also viewed

 
Clayton, Rabun County
Clayton, Rabun County
 

Been to Universal Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing