We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Seafood & Sandwiches”
Review of Miss Meg's Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Miss Meg's Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Fairview
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Seafood & Sandwiches”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We found this place last summer and really like it. Over the last 6 months we've made several road trips taking us through Clayton and always stop by. The signs that say they don't serve fast food still make me giggle, but we've never waited too long for our food. The breads are homemade and we've tried quite a few of their specials and never been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Mindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The shrimp was decilious and we also tried their soup of the day. Very generous portions and attentive service. Miss Meg's is a great find with fresh seafood.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuciandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Blueberry Pancakes”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Breakfast from another world and another time at Miss Megs in Clayton. The blueberry pancakes tasted like Grandma's and the eggs like they were fresh from the hen house. We loved this breakfast and loved the no fast food signs all around.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marjorieli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“I'm dreaming of Grouper!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Miss Meg's is only open for breakfast, lunch and dinner on Thursday through Saturday (breakfast and lunch on Wednesday). The seafood here is plentiful and astonishing. For a moment I thought we were on the coast of Florida, as the seafood was so fresh and so perfectly prepared. Miss Meg's brings seafood directly from Brunswick, GA, so that is the secret. I had grouper and my husband had a shrimp po' boy - both were some of the best we have ever enjoyed. The coleslaw is also very good and the evening menu is a LOT of food. There is a wait in the evening and sometimes at lunch because this is not a huge place. Expect to wait for your food, as they cook everything to order. The service is efficient, but the food is the star. Parking can be a slight issue in the busy times. The surrounding merchants can become really snarly about parking where they have designated signs, so a heads up on this. This is a local place and the locals are very faithful - we were told by a local merchant that Miss Meg's has the best seafood in Rabun County and we would totally agree.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ninjaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh shrimp & creme brule.....to go!!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We received a gift certificate to Miss Meg's.
Clayton weather was perfect and we decided to go on a picnic.
So we ordered two shimp dinners and two creme brule to go.
A dozen shrimp fried to perfection in each box with french fries, green beans, & cheese toast. Salad with dressing on the side and crackers
in two other containers. Creme brule was divine! What was supposed to be hot, was. What was supposed to be cold, was. We were more than pleasantly surprised! Quite delicious! Cannot comment on inside service, ambiance, etc. cause we had take out!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Meg's Restaurant also viewed

 
Clayton, Rabun County
Clayton, Rabun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing