We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beechwood Inn
Nearby Hotels
Kingwood Country Club & Resort(Clayton)(Great Value!)
$119
$89
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$80
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americas Best Value Inn(Clayton)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
228
36
8
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
36
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchother guestssaturday nightfarm to tablevineyard roomwine cellarwine and appetizersget awayblueberry cottageevery eveningcrackersliving areasoft sheetssous chefprivate decklocal ingredientsdifferent wines
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 277 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed at the Beechwood Inn with a friend earlier this month. Gracious is the best word to describe the experience, from the food to the hospitality to the setting to the rooms. Dave and Gayle are delightful hosts, the rooms are generously sized and nicely furnished, and the grounds are lovely. We also took a private cooking class from Dave, which is still paying dividends at home! The dinners and the breakfasts were fantastic, and we loved the freshly baked cookies and appetizers & wine available to guests in the evenings. If there is a better place to stay in the North Georgia mountains, I can't imagine it.

Room Tip: There are about 10 rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, some with separate living areas.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinmom525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Glad you enjoyed the cooking class – and very glad it is paying dividends! We hope you will return to Beechwood Inn – Georgia’s Premier Wine Country Inn.

David and Gayle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I must say I enjoyed Beechwood so much! It is a wonderful place to stay. The food is excellent. The atmosphere is wonderful. The town of Clayton is so neat. I highly recommend a visit soon. I will go back myself. We enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving there!

Room Tip: Any room is excellent.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Glad you enjoyed our Traditional Southern Thanksgiving Dinner at Beechwood Inn. We have many guests return year after year, and hope you may as well.

David Darugh
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visited the Beechwood Inn over the weekend for a work retreat and were delighted with our choice.
Friday we arrived much later than we'd anticipated but we could not leave Atlanta at an earlier time. Leason learned.
Saturday and Sunday breakfast was phenomenal and the perfect way to start our day. I could have the cheese blintz casserole every day of my life it was so good!!

We were able to hold our meeting uninterrupted for most of the day Saturday and followed this with wine thirty- a get together with other guests; all very pleasant.
Dinner was a five course paired with wines. Delicious! The best pork belly I've ever had.

The rooms were wonderfully cozy, perfect sheets made you want to just stay in bed a bit longer.
David and Gayle go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and my group of five most definitely did.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMT92013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Glad your organization had a great visit to Beechwood Inn. We provide a professional location for your business meeting – but also try to add some wonderful personal touches (like home-made cookies and our daily wine-thirty) you won’t experience at a box hotel. Glad you enjoyed all of your meals featuring great local products. We hope you will keep Beechwood Inn in mind for your next retreat.

David and Gayle Darugh
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I spent a great evening and morning at the Beechwood Inn. We stayed in the Lura Suite, a very quiet room with attached screen porch. Off the porch was a wonderful water feature that made sitting there even morn relaxing.

We had just finished hiking Brasstown Bald and called when we approached Clayton. David gave us excellent recommendations for dinner and interrupted his own to receive us. David was the perfect host. He met us at the door and gave us the grand tour.

The inn itself is beautifully decorated and sitting there time seems to stand still. We met Dave's wife Gayle the next morning. After a superb breakfast, prepared with locally grown foods, we walked around the gardens. Since we had more hiking to do, we regretfully packed the car. We will, however, be back.

One more thing: the Beechwood is centrally located to many hiking and antiquing venues. There is good shopping in Clayton, including an antique store where you can buy anything up to and including a cannon. The food at The Universal Joint (a former service station) and the Zeppelin is also great.

Recommendation: try to arrive by 6PM to enjoy Wine Press. We will next time.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Lura Suite for its quiet and its attached screen porch.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Beechwood Inn is privileged to be located in the beautiful North Georgia Mountains. We are blessed with many wonderful outdoor activities nearby and our historic villages offer interesting places to shop, dine and to taste local wines. Our central location to a great variety of these activities makes our concierge duties pleasantly simple.

We look forward to your return.

David and Gayle Darugh
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights this month in the Blueberry Cabin and had a great time. Bedding is wonderful, environment is nice, and breakfasts were delicious. It was a little pricey, but nice for a special getaway.

Room Tip: If you like being a little apart, go for the Blueberry Cabin
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elayne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Elayne: Glad you had a great time and enjoyed the Blueberry Cabin, our wonderful 600 thread count sheets and our delicious breakfasts featuring the best of fresh and local foods. As owners and innkeepers our commitment is to provide added touches including the best products, best service, best local insights, yielding what we trust is the best guest experience in the beautiful North Georgia Mountains. David Darugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews