We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blueberry Cabin at Beechwood Inn Great Place to Stay”
Review of Beechwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blueberry Cabin at Beechwood Inn Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We got married at Lake Rabun and spent our first night of our honeymoon in the Blueberry Cabin. It was spacious and a great place to spend the night. The next morning the food was fabulous everything from the quiche to the sausage. I highly recommend staying at the Beechwood Inn. My wife and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the Blueberry Cabin - we refer to it as our "Honey-Moon Cabin." Congratulations - and sorry about the rain during your wedding.

David and Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    33
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
189
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Beechwood Inn while in town for a wedding. We stayed in the Nantahala Suite which was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was recently remodeled and very lovely. The bed was super comfy, with high quality linens and very nice pillows. Breakfast in the morning was delicious each of the three days we were there. Breakfast is served from 8-9, so don't sleep in too late or you'll miss it! We also loved "Wine thirty" and getting to chat with other inn guests, as well as David and John. We enjoyed lots of hiking and outdoor activities in the area, and some fun shopping and antiquing as well. We definitely look forward to returning sometime soon!

Green Features: Lots of the breakfast foods served were grown locally and organically. We definitely appreciated that!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hosts made us feel at home. Breakfast, the house, the hosts and every detail was absolutely perfect! Thank you David, John and Gayle for this wonderful experience. We will be back soon!!! Can't wait..

Gebara Family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandraoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

For a change, the B & B was better than the advertising pictures and descriptions. Although very close to the town of Clayton, the Inn is tucked away on a hillside among the trees in a very intimate setting. Our Lura's Suite was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. The entire staff was friendly and efficient but David Darugh, Owner and host, made our stay special. Indeed, he and wife Gayle make the experience at Beechwood unique and wonderful. They are trained and experienced chefs as well as wine experts who go to extraordinary lengths to source and serve the freshest and best local ingredients. Breakfasts are a morning feast. David's "Wine Thirty" each afternoon is a delightful experience of tasting area wines along with his commentary. If you opt for his special Saturday dinner, it will be a lasting memory of exquisite dining. They have achieved a difficult blend of providing fine food and a bit of education while having the guests feel absolutely relaxed. It was a perfect getaway for us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carguy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for the kind words and observations. David and I truly enjoy our guests and we are glad that is evident. I also thank you for recognizing our use of local products and for understanding that we use these meals to include a small amount of education about our country’s food choices. Our hope is that a few of our diners who experience our local foods and sustainable practices will want to make their own connection to time, season and place and will be encouraged to adopt a more sustainable lifestyle and diet. We look forward to your next visit.
Gayle Darugh
Owner/Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It is well worth the extra expense to stay in the Blueberry Cabin. Privacy, small kitchen, covered porch, beautiful view, huge soaking tub, sitting area, quick walk to the main house are just a few of the perks. Planning our next trip!

Room Tip: Privacy an issue? Get Blueberry Cabin.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins available. Nice convenience. Green level
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailRoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arrived at the Beechwood Inn in Clayton Ga. not knowing what to expect but were so pleasantly surprised. The inn is older but very warm and charming and Dave and his wife Janet make you feel very special right from the start. The gourmet breakfast was fabulous and the wine thirty on the porch in the evening is quite wonderful as well. We were celebrating a 40th anniversary and wanted a cozy and romantic atmosphere to spend our precious time together and we certainly found it at the Beechwood Inn. The other guests were fun to get to know and everyone was celebrating something from an engagement to 30 and 40year anniversaries. We are planning a trip back in the fall to see the leaves and experience one of Dave's farm to table gourmet dinners!

Green Features: The Beechwood Inn practices recycling and wonderful locally grown fruit, vegetables and even make their own wine!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great hosts. No central air, so had two window A/C unit running all weekend. Very bed and breakfasty. Would come back in the future. The Saturday night gourmet dinner was tasty and fun to experience, but not worth $79/person.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Doug: Glad you found our hospitality to your liking. We enjoyed chatting with you at wine thirty. Hope you liked the freshly remodeled bathroom in the Stekoa Suite. We updated 4 this last winter. Next winter when things slow down we plan on installing split mini systems. That should remedy the window unit issue. This old building eats money.

We are pleased you found our Farm to Table Dinner tasty but sorry you said it was not worth $79.00. Had you mentioned this after dinner or at check-out I would have happily adjusted your bill. For your next visit I am sending a gift certificate good for a bottle of wine from our cellar. David Darugh/Innkeeper/Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
7.3 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
209 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
10.8 mi away
Glen-Ella Springs Inn
Glen-Ella Springs Inn
#1 of 5 in Clarkesville
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Inn

Property: Beechwood Inn
Address: 220 Beechwood Dr, P.O. Box 429, Clayton, GA 30525-5287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Bed and Breakfast in Georgia 2013" by the Readers of Georgia Magazine. Beechwood Inn is Georgia's Premier Wine Country Inn and offers luxury lodging and fine dining. Wine Enthusiast Magazine places Beechwood Inn in the Top 5 Destinations "for your next wine and food-focused escape." Travel writer Becky Lamb says: "The Beechwood Inn is the closest thing to a Napa Valley Bed and Breakfast we have here in Georgia." The Inn features Northeast Georgia's only Wine Spectator Award of Excellence restaurant. The inn offers fine dining almost every Saturday featuring Chef's Tasting Dinners paired to fine wines. Most of our seasonal foods are organic and natural, many from sustainable North Georgia farms, orchards, dairies and vineyards. Due to the special nature of our foods advance reservations are needed. Two "Best Chefs America" 2013 on staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Beechwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing