We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great secret in the mountains”
Review of Beechwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beechwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Beechwood Inn in early Dec. 2012. Friends of ours got us a gift certificate here. We would never have known this place existed if it wasn't for them, and we just loved it! The sheets may have been the softest we have ever slept on...better than the Ritz Carlton. We had breakfast and then laid back down for one more good 30 min. to experience the sheets! And the dinner was just wonderful, as was the wine. We purchased some of the wine Dave recommended for the dinner and drank it on our anniversary this year. We were there the night of the SEC football championship game and had one of the rooms that had the t.v. The room was very accommodating. Thank you for the warm hospitality and being so detail oriented on the room, amenities, food, and wine. We could tell a lot of time and planning had gone into the Beechwood Inn experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 263 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here on the spur of the moment and got lucky with a cancellation. The hosts were in the middle of serving dinner and were quite busy but still took the time to get us settled and show us around. My main regret is that we did not arrive earlier and have more time for the wine tasting and enjoying the facility. This is definitely on the list of places we would like to come back to for a slower, more leisurely visit. The breakfast was great, definitely "select registry" quality - and if anything a bit too much! Would definitely recommend - but make sure you have time to enjoy it and see the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WT_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed again recently and Dave gave us the feeling we were inconveniencing him. They advertise wine time every afternoon. We arrived a bit after 6 PM to be greeted by Dave saying I was just about ready to leave you a note and go home for dinner. We had made it clear we would arrive around that time. No offer of a glass of wine and a unwelcome attitude was the atmosphere. I gave this inn a rave review before but Dave needs to be warm and welcoming and glad to see us. I would think he was glad to have a room sold that night. The bath towels should be larger and there should be more then two in the bathroom. When I wash my hair I need 2 towels, one for me and one to wrap my hair.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ersl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

I would like to humbly apologize for what transpired. My intent is to always be hospitable. I am sorry I did not offer a glass of wine when you arrived. We offer our signature wine-thirty from 5:30pm to 6:00pm daily, but we are happy to pour a glass of wine almost any time. We also have a wine license, so wine is always available for sale.

I looked at your reservation information and when you booked your reservation you told us that you expected to arrive at 4:00pm. I apologize if I appeared anxious to head home and prepare our dinner. You are also right, we were glad to rent a room that night as you were the only guests at Beechwood Inn that night. I definitely should have treated you better as your comments about my conduct are embarrassing to me.

Our towels are advertised as super absorbent as they are 70% organic eco-friendly bamboo and 30% cotton. We gladly supply more towels on request. I pointed out at check-in that we live on the property so if you needed anything my wife and I are available 24/7 to make your visit more comfortable.

I am truly sorry about my behavior and I am sorry it lead to your discomfort. This is our livelihood and we chose to be in this business because we love people and hope to make their visit to the inn a wonderful experience.

I know you live a long distance from Beechwood Inn but your travels may bring you through our way again. I can’t ship our wine but I am making a note that if you stay at the inn, or are just passing through, I will be happy to provide you a complimentary three pack of Beechwood Inn wine. I promise to be more accommodating next time you visit and will make sure you get more towels in your room.

David Darugh
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have stayed at the Beechwood Inn nine times, in all seasons. We usually book for two nights and always include the Saturday night dinners. The quality of the food and wine at the dinners and the gourmet breakfast are just the best. We used to live an hour away, now we are 3 1/2 hours away, the miles will not keep us from returning. The decor is tastefully presented , comfortable and not over-done.. David & Gayle make everyone feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in September as a quick getaway from the kids. It was a short drive up from Atlanta but felt like a world away. We don't typically stay at B&B's...just not our favorite thing, but this was a great experience. We enjoyed some wonderful wine and fried green tomatoes on the front porch and could have sat there relaxing all night. Checked out a local winery tasting and also had dinner in town. Loved breakfast the next morning, we were stuffed! Then went to a nearby state park and headed home. We will definitely return and would love to go for one of their wine dinners.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have recommended the Beechwood Inn to many colleagues and friends but had never stayed myself. Had the opportunity to celebrate an anniversary and decided to stay at the Beechwood Inn. I was more than impressed with the facility, the accomodations, and the management/owners. Was only the 2nd time to ever stay in a B&B; I can now say that I have been best !! The dinner on Saturday night with wine was amazing; followed up by a first-rate breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We just spent another wonderful weekend at the Beechwood. This was our fourth visit and will definitely not be our last. The room was cozy. The guests attending the Saturday evening "winethirty" were a pleaseure to meet and the wine pairing dinner was out of this world. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia0581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
7.3 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
234 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
1.3 mi away
Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Inn

Address: 220 Beechwood Dr, P.O. Box 429, Clayton, GA 30525-5287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range: $204 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Living Magazine (November 2016 Issue) Names Beechwood Inn “One of the South’s Best Inns.” View the full article.BEECHWOOD INN – NORTH GEORGIA MOUNTAINS: Georgia Magazine Selected Beechwood Inn as the “Best Bed and Breakfast Inn in Georgia.” Wine Enthusiast Magazine places Beechwood Inn in the Top 5 Destinations “for your next wine and food-focused escape.” Travel writer Becky Lamb says, “Beechwood Inn is the closest thing to a Napa Valley Bed and Breakfast we have in Georgia.” The restaurant was named one of the “Top 10 Farm to Table Restaurants in Georgia.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Beechwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel Clayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing