We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveler rating
446
55
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
446
55
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glen ella springs garden house north georgia the penthouse queen room tallulah gorge fire pit rocking chairs gravel road wedding weekend warm hospitality tree swing short drive each morning guest rooms third floor luci
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 509 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Easy to find, located on a private 17 acre estate within a hollow not far from Tallulah Gorge and Lake Rabun, Glen-Ella offers historic preservation, great cuisine and quiet comfort for individuals, couples and groups looking for a destination or interim stop in the Georgia high country. Ed & Luci Kivett + Staff make the most of your stay by offering a place to unwind. My wife and I found Glen-Ella via Map Quest as part of a planned trip to Mt Leconte, Tenn. We were looking for an economical, easily accessible interim stop a day in advance of the hiking adventure in the Great Smokies National Park given a lengthy drive from our home. Glen-Ella was more than economical and easily accessible as we were welcomed upon our arrival at 7 pm with a great dinner as well as good conversation with the Ed, Luci & the Staff + other patrons. The room accomodations were first class as well. It's now our designated first stop on future trips to the high country in Georgia/NC/Tenn. You are missing a treat if you drive along Hwy 441 and do not make a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triplets3Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

This was our second time returning to Glen-Ella Springs. We boiled down our experience to one word "Perfect". First, the hospitality of the staff and of the Inn Keepers made us feel like family. They went above and beyond in making our stay absolutely wonderful. The restaurant was excellent, the service and quality of food was 5 stars. We recommend the succulent lamb and the steak. Plus, the restaurant accommodated our daughter's celiac disease and gluten free requirements.

The property itself was pristine. There is nothing like waking up in the morning feasting on a great breakfast on the deck. All the while, watching the deer play in the meadow, the beautiful hummingbirds feeding in the gorgeous gardens and a big lazy cat basking in the sun.

The inn is located near three clean lakes . We rented a pontoon boat and spent the day swimming, water tubing and fishing. It was good bonding time with our family. The rest of our stay was exploring little antique shops near by, zip lining, and horseback riding. By the way, all the activities were setup by the inn.

All in all, we would recommend the Inn and we've promised ourselves to return at least once a year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGFILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The Inn was nice, very relaxing and quaint. However the food is what did it for me. The meal was one of the best I had in quite some time. I sampled everyone else's plate during dinner and loved it all. For someone that travels often this is saying a lot. The breakfast casserole considering that its included in the price of the room was also outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlrosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We've been to Glen Ella several times and always enjoyed ourselves. It had been 7 or 8 years since we had stayed their last. The location is still as beautiful as always with the creek in the back and the lake up the road. The inn is starting to show signs of wear (upholstery needs to be updated, it's not as clean as it used to be, outdoor furniture is faded). And the food has gone way downhill. I would call it country food now (hard-boiled egg casserole instead of made-to-order pecan butter pancakes, for example), not the gourmet food it used to be (the fried chicken was fine, but nothing like their entree dishes used to be). The wines are still something of an issue as well.

Glen Ella is a lovely place with friendly people and beautiful views. It's just not elegant and gourmet anymore. It's more what you would expect than anything that would knock your socks off.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Glen Ella Springs. We were there for a wedding and did not know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The grounds of the inn were absolutely beautiful. The food served was excellent and the staff was exceptional. Since the entire hotel was reserved for the wedding guests, we were able to see many of the rooms. We were in one of the smaller rooms, but the suites were very spacious and all the rooms had a "home-like" feeling. The beds were more comfortable than the larger "high end" hotels where we have stayed. The only complaint that my husband had was that there was not a television in the room, but they did have a nice garden house with a television, computer, movies, snacks, etc. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews