We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveler rating
446
55
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
446
55
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glen ella springs garden house north georgia the penthouse queen room tallulah gorge fire pit rocking chairs gravel road wedding weekend warm hospitality tree swing short drive each morning guest rooms third floor luci
Filter
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 509 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The Inn was nice, very relaxing and quaint. However the food is what did it for me. The meal was one of the best I had in quite some time. I sampled everyone else's plate during dinner and loved it all. For someone that travels often this is saying a lot. The breakfast casserole considering that its included in the price of the room was also outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlrosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We've been to Glen Ella several times and always enjoyed ourselves. It had been 7 or 8 years since we had stayed their last. The location is still as beautiful as always with the creek in the back and the lake up the road. The inn is starting to show signs of wear (upholstery needs to be updated, it's not as clean as it used to be, outdoor furniture is faded). And the food has gone way downhill. I would call it country food now (hard-boiled egg casserole instead of made-to-order pecan butter pancakes, for example), not the gourmet food it used to be (the fried chicken was fine, but nothing like their entree dishes used to be). The wines are still something of an issue as well.

Glen Ella is a lovely place with friendly people and beautiful views. It's just not elegant and gourmet anymore. It's more what you would expect than anything that would knock your socks off.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Glen Ella Springs. We were there for a wedding and did not know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The grounds of the inn were absolutely beautiful. The food served was excellent and the staff was exceptional. Since the entire hotel was reserved for the wedding guests, we were able to see many of the rooms. We were in one of the smaller rooms, but the suites were very spacious and all the rooms had a "home-like" feeling. The beds were more comfortable than the larger "high end" hotels where we have stayed. The only complaint that my husband had was that there was not a television in the room, but they did have a nice garden house with a television, computer, movies, snacks, etc. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

What a great treat to find the Glen-Ella Inn this past weekend! We loved our room,the service,the food ,the wine and the location. The innkeepers Lucy and Ed were most cordial and accommodating.Their two sons are a delight and very well spoken for such young people! The overall ambiance will definitely draw us back for future visits.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motorcycleman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The food and service here are good but a year or so ago they stopped allowing BYOB and now sell only Georgia wines. They advertise several vineyards but only stock habersham wines which are about the worst in North Georgia. Would be nice to have a decent wine withthe lovely food.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
Thank tedbro43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotsman64, Owner at Glen-Ella Springs Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2010

We appreciate all feedback at Glen-Ella Springs Inn and were glad you enjoyed the food and service at our restaurant, which has received recognition by GeorgiaTrend magazine as one of the top 3 dining destinations in Georgia. Over 2 1/2 years ago, Glen-Ella Springs was designated a tasting room for Habersham Winery, one of the oldest in Georgia, allowing us to serve wine in our dining room. While Georgia law prohibits BYOB in our dining rooms, we are still able to accommodate those who prefer their own wines on our covered outdoor dining terrace. We not only serve Habersham wines but also Tiger Mountain, Persimmon Creek and Blackstock. Recently, the county did approve a new ordinance allowing businesses outside the city limits to apply for a wine & beer license, which we will be applying for and expect to carry additional wine options at the beginning of the year. Until then, we are proud to support a local industry which has been gaining recognition in the national wine industry. We invite you to return to dine on our terrace with your own wine in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews