We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best New Year ever....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen-Ella Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Clarkesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the frist moment I rang the Glen Ella to book our stay to our arrival and departure we where very impressed. The owners and staff paid such attention to details, and nothing was to much trouble for them. The food was scrumptious, and the service great. The hikes in the area are well worth spending an extra day for. Best massage I have had in a long time. We have done alot of these type of stays but we will definitely return to this one.
Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Glen-Ella Springs Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 458 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

My sister invited my daughter, her daughter-in-law and myself for a quick little get away to Glen-Ella. She stays there several times a year for business and thought we would enjoy it. She booked us the largest room with two queen beds. The room was beautiful and cozy. We had a shared sitting room next door and a lovely balcony with rockers. Our dinner that evening was very good. No complaints. Breakfast was exceptional. The apple pancakes with toasted walnut butter was out-of-this world! I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarrJann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We loved our stay and Glen-Ella. Peaceful and Quiet. Food was wonderful, especially breakfast. Very warm and friendly environment with charming innkeepers, Ed and Luci. We will definitely return in future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Celebrated anniversity/birthday recently at Glen-Ella and was impressed by location, ammenties and restaurant. We booked king room that was large,very clean and had a comfortable bed with superior linens. Inn keepers/staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. The restaurant had a varied menu and both our dinner selections were excellent. We certainly would recommend !!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNAS1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband had been at Glen-Ella the weekend before with coworkers for an event and absolutely loved it. He booked a room for us for the following weekend before coming home! Upon our arrival, we were warmly welcomed. Lucie walked into the lobby from the kitchen and introduced herself to us. Even though it was right before lunch time and she had a big luncheon to prepare for, she took the time to talk with us and get to know us like we were the only people there. I really appreciated that! We were showed our room - we stayed in the King Suite - and it was perfect! We especially appreciated the fireplace and balcony. It started to rain, but there were umbrellas available all over the facility, which allowed us to take a stroll even with the rain. Dinner was amazing! I had the sirloin and my husband had the grouper, which was the biggest and tastiest grouper steak that we have ever had! Breakfast was just as good. We met Ed before having breakfast, and he was just as warm and friendly. His apple cinnamon pancakes with cinnamon butter are amazing! I love how homey Glen-Ella is, how everyone feels like an old friend, and how peaceful the surroundings are. It was a very special weekend for my husband and I, and we will surely be back to visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavannahX_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A few weekends ago we decided at the last moment...3:00 on Friday afternoon, that the weekend weather forecast was too incredible to spend in town (Atlanta) and we should go to the country. Camping did not appeal, as we did not particularly care to cook for ourselves and pack all that equipment, so after a quick internet search we decided that cabin rentals were too much trouble, hotels were not really spending time in the country, and to be honest I hate B&B's--they are too much like staying in a stranger's home, and I don't care to be that intimate with people I've just met. However, all was not lost...we were fortunate enough to find Glen-Ella Springs Inn, which, technically is a B&B, but is big enough so that you feel that you have privacy and no forced socialization. When we finally arrived, it was dark, and the inn and surrounding trees were lit beautifully, entering the lobby with a crackling fire and the subtle lighting of the rooms is incredibly welcoming. it was almost magical! Your blood pressure lowers by about 50 points right then... The setting is lovely, the historical aspect is fascinating, the buildings are old and charming (no tv in rooms, but internet fast enough to stream Netflix on any device you bring). The rooms come in various sizes, the Queen room we had was small, by standard hotel comparisons, but we thought it perfectly well planned, and thoughtfully furnished. The bathrooms have incredible water pressure in the bathtub/shower, and a seemingly-endless supply of hot water. Towels are fluffy and large, bath salts are provided. Also, as an added touch, just in case you're into that kind of thing--the restaurant is rated one of the top 3 in the state of GA--of course this includes Atlanta & Savannah, so that is no joke. We found the service at dinner to be very good, attentive but not intrusive--that can be a difficult balance in a smaller setting. We dined fireside, and as we arrived later than most, we basically had the place to ourselves. The menu did not disappoint, and included vegetarian options, locally-sourced products, and a sense of elegance that in no way felt self-important. It was a bit surreal actually, to be eating that kind of food, in a historic setting, in the middle of nowhere. The staff are all friendly, helpful, and warm. Overall, one of the most pleasant weekends we've ever spent--from check-in to check-out, just perfect. Also, nearby Clarkesville is absolutely charming--this is a really beautiful area with lots of antiques and art, and some really spectacular parks, waterfalls, and Tallulah Gorge nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nashx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have lived in Atlanta my entire life and never even heard of the Glen Ella Springs Inn- wow, I was missing out! It is tucked away down a gravel road just behind Lake Rabun (the restaurant would be a great find for home owners on Lake Rabun). You are completely secluded, but also close to many fun activities. The Inn itself is the true embodiment of rustic elegance. The history of the place is tangible, yet modern amenities and the comforts or luxury are not overlooked. We would certainly return for a nice weekend getaway, as it is only 1.5 hours from Atlanta. The rooms are huge, and there is ample space for relaxation throughout the Inn. The restaurant serves great food at very reasonable prices. I would highly recommend this facility as the ultimate in relaxation.

Room Tip: Other reviewers commented on noise as an issue (the building is very old, which is part of its charm...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarkesville
3.6 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cornelia
Hampton Inn Cornelia
#1 of 4 in Cornelia
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
933 reviews
15.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-Ella Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-Ella Springs Inn

Address: 1789 Bear Gap Rd, Clarkesville, GA 30523-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Clarkesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clarkesville
Price Range: $183 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen-Ella Springs Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of Atlanta, sits this historic country inn, nestled on 17 acres in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Featuring 16 elegant yet rustic guest rooms and a fine dining restaurant, guests are treated to a serene setting and award winning cuisine. There are numerous hiking trails and waterfalls nearby to explore. Or simply relax and enjoy the picturesque setting of the inn with extensive herb and flower gardens, swimming pool, sun deck and expansive meadow where you'll often see deer grazing. Glen-Ella Springs was also named to National Georgraphic Traveler's Stay List 150 in 2008 and has been recognized as one of the Top Ten Dining Destination (in the state)by Georgia Trend Magazine since 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Glen-Ella Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen-Ella Springs Hotel Clarkesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing