We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen-Ella Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glen-Ella Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Clarkesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The South
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“True Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

If getting away is what you are looking for, Glen-Ella Springs is the place for you. The remote location, incredible grounds, and delicious silence allowed me to relax like I haven't in a long time. The food was great, Luci & Ed were wonderful hosts, and I enjoyed spending time with the other guests. Great for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Clover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    46
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
260
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Georgia and found a wonderful country inn located along the back roads in the mountains that was amazing. We were qute take in with the history of the inn and its surrounding beauty. Innkeepers Luci & Ed along with their Manager Debbie were wonderful and made sure that all of our needs were taken care of. Our room retained the historic integrity of the property while providing modern amenities and was nicely decorated. The Inn has its own restaurant and the food was awsome. Their Chef really knows what he is doing. There was a wedding going on when we arrived. The site lends itself as the perfect venue for a wedding. Glen-Ella Springs is a Member of the Select Registry, Distinguished Inns in America, which we prefer staying in when we travel. They certainly meet the high standards set for those properties.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have porches to relax on with rocking chairs. We lovde our room (21) and would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewhitedoeinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband surprised me with overnight reservations for Glen Ella on our forty-ninth anniversary. From the moment we hit the well-kept gravel road 1/2 mile away, the lush greenery invited us in, and the blooming hydrangeas surrounding the rustic inn through its veil of trees called our names.

The immaculately kept inn, with just the right balance of rustic and antique, delighted the senses with polished wood floors, a mix of bright pattern and color, and fresh flower arrangements from the garden grounds. Our king room featured a large, comfortable bed, very nice linens, a cozy seating area, and a spacious bath, nicely appointed with the fresh smell of bath salts and oils. At our request, the manager delivered a beautiful tray of fruit and an assortment of cheeses and crackers, to be enjoyed with a bottle of wine on the rocking chair porch.

Prior to dinner, we walked the grounds, and Luci, the innkeeper, on seeing my interest, happily invited me in to see the preparations for a birthday celebration in the charming open pavilion, including the flower arrangements being made for the tables. I also observed the work of the two sisters who keep the cottage garden, with its raised beds of flowers, vegetables and herbs, in addition to the wedding courtyard with its carpet of grass and vine-draped arbors.

Dinner that evening on the open patio over-looking the garden was a feast for the senses as we looked out on the garden with its twinkle lights magically appearing midst the sweet pea vines draping an arbor, while the hummingbirds and butterflies chased each other through the blossoms. The service was prompt, personal and friendly, the perfect prelude to a meal that was delectable. The salad was fresh and appealing, the grilled salmon was delectable, nestled on a bed of local vegetables as beautifully presented as they were delicious. All this accompanied by a basket of freshly baked breads and muffins, and an outstanding selection of wines from local vineyards as well as others. Though we resisted the dessert menu, we observed the sighs of admiration and approval from guests at surrounding tables.

Foregoing dessert, we walked the extensive meadow fanning out from the inn and encircled by a babbling brook at the edge of the national forest. Walking hand in hand, we observed the happy sounds of guests celebrating a 70th birthday in the open pavilion which had come alive with an abundance of twinkling white lights. We walked around the creek, towards the open fire pit, ringed by adirondack chairs, clusters of trees and wild flowers. Returning to the inn, we saw that the twinkling lights of the arbor had been joined by a chorus of other white lights, making the inn look like a fantasy land.

As we climbed the stairs of the swimming pool deck, another couple asked if we would mind taking their picture, for it was also their 49th wedding anniversary. We laughed and shared the fact that we had identical anniversaries, and they took our pictures as well. It turned out we lived near each other and had friends in common. Continuing on to the garden house, we discovered a comfortably furnished, inviting room complete with complimentary coffee, soft drinks and snacks, and a young couple celebrating their 10th anniversary. After they helped us figure out the Keurig coffee maker, we shared our stories of courtship and marriage, the accomplishments of our children, and the work that had made our lives meaningful, it was easy to say goodnight and return to our cozy rooms, freshly aware of our blessings through the years.

Breakfast on Saturday continued to delight, as Ed the innkeeper and husband of Luci, welcomed us with a sumptuous array of fresh fruits, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, and spreads, and steaming hot coffee. But the main attraction was freshly-made buttermilk waffles with maple syrup and perfectly crisp bacon served on the porch. The garden, with sunlight streaming through the mist, heralded the morning with sweet sights and smells. We were joined by our friends of the night before, and the combination of terrific service, heavenly food, and good company made us forget the time until we suddenly realized we had to rush to make it to a service in nearby Clarkesville.

Reflecting on our stay, both my husband and I can't say enough about this experience. The costs were very reasonable for the quality and the experience. The service was personal, professional and exceptional. And the inn in all its natural and preserved beauty, beckons us to return as soon as possible, and bring friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdhredfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Glen-Ella Springs Inn was one of the best getaway destinations we've experienced when we've chosen to "stay and see Georgia". The historic hotel and grounds are immaculate (the gardens are like a Disney movie: hummingbirds, deer, butterflies, etc.) and the staff go out of the way to be accommodating. All meals, including our "backpack" lunch, were delicious. Needless to say, we're already contemplating a return to the Glen-Ella Springs Inn...I'm finding it hard to resist their New Years Eve package!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

My fiance (now-husband) and I were looking for an outdoor venue, not too far from Atlanta to host our 75-100 guest wedding. We wanted something that felt natural and organic (read: not a golf course or vineyard), but was still well-preened and elegant enough for a wedding. We narrowed it down to 3 places and after making lists of pros and cons consisting of location, cost, amenities, aesthetics, catering, rooming, etc. Glen-Ella was the clear winner.

I can't say enough good things about Luci and Ed. They are both so competent and friendly and super easy to work with. I must have emailed Luci a million questions (I was planning the wedding from NYC!) and she always answered quickly and with the expertise of someone who's been coordinating events for years. You can definitely tell they they love owning the Inn and they love welcoming people in for special events. It was so clear to me that they aren't just looking to exploit their venue for those big wedding fees; they genuinely care. We even had to change our date after we had signed our contract and due the circumstances, Luci was kind of enough to make an exception and give us a new date. They also thought to pack up some leftovers from our dinner, so we could enjoy them the next day when things had slowed down a bit. Just a few of many examples of how great they are!

I also can't say enough about how beautiful the venue is. We got married in the meadow under a tree, but they also have gorgeous gardens and flowers all around the Inn and a gorgeous open-air pavillion. The rooms were super clean, with a cool mix of woodsy and antique decor. Plus, the room we stayed in had everything we needed - a tall armoire, refrigerator, water bottles, an iron, etc. Many of our guests had air mattresses to fit extra people in their rooms and they were super happy with those too. I have to mention the pool too. Luckily for us, our wedding day fell on the hottest day ON RECORD for Clarkesville, GA. It was 102. So having the pool to enjoy before and after the wedding (we actually had an after party when the reception ended at 10pm held at the pool and the bonfire) was so helpful in keeping people cool and happy.

I could say a lot more because Glen-Ella and the folks who run it are so amazing, but the last thing I'll say is that we were 100% more than satisfied with booking our wedding there. I would recommend Glen-Ella to anyone looking for a low key, natural surrounding at an affordable price. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamshannonstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

My daughter's wedding was held in the meadow at the Inn this past July. Family and friends stayed at the hotel. The weekend was just fantastic.The wedding (300 guests) went off with a flair. I feel that because of the wonderful staff at Glen-Ella, Luci and Ed Kivett (the Innkeepers) were so accomodating and went out of their way to help make my daughter's wedding perfect. Luci helped us plan all of the details for the wedding. She was so very helpful in referring vendors for us to contact for the event. Everyone (and I mean everyone) that came to the wedding said that it was the BEST wedding they had ever been to. My family and friends just loved staying at the Inn. The rooms were great and the food was so DELICIOUS! If anyone is looking for a great place for a wedding, don't hesitate to contact Luci at Glen-Ella. You will not be disappointed at all with your decision. Everything was so beautiful. The landscape and the scenery make for a picture-perfect place for any special event, especially weddings!!

Room Tip: We loved staying in the two penthouse suites at Glen-Ella Springs Inn, but every room there is wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Several thoughts that I hope will help others make a good decision about where to stay when you find yourself in North Georgia. After visiting other properties we were beginning to become somewhat discouraged. When we walked into Glen-Ella we knew instantly, this was our place. From there it got increasingly better.

The dining was absolutely perfect. I would rank the dining experience as follows:
* Quality of the fare------Excellent
* Presentation------------ Excellent
* Balance of flavor------- Excellent
* Atmosphere------------- Very Comfortable
* Wine Selection--------- Good
Overall the dinning experience was 5 Stars.

The property was extremely well cared for! Beautiful, quiet, relaxing, NO TELEVISIONS!! YAY!! If your goal is to have a peaceful connective get-away with someone you love, this is by far the Top of our list. We give the property 5 Stars.

For those who are familiar with it, this property is on the Select Registry. A certain seal of excellence!!

Thank you to the staff; Chef Mark, Mariah, Debbie, Christina, and Ruth-Ann. There are so very many that are unnamed here but never the less played an equally vital roll in making ours and many others stay very, very wonderful! Thank You!!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the place but, the rooms facing the pool are the most scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarkesville
3.6 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
15.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 18 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
24.8 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
15.9 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-Ella Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-Ella Springs Inn

Property: Glen-Ella Springs Inn
Address: 1789 Bear Gap Road, Clarkesville, GA 30523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Clarkesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clarkesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen-Ella Springs Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of Atlanta, sits this historic country inn, nestled on 17 acres in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Featuring 16 elegant yet rustic guest rooms and a fine dining restaurant, guests are treated to a serene setting and award winning cuisine. There are numerous hiking trails and waterfalls nearby to explore. Or simply relax and enjoy the picturesque setting of the inn with extensive herb and flower gardens, swimming pool, sun deck and expansive meadow where you'll often see deer grazing. Glen-Ella Springs was also named to National Georgraphic Traveler's Stay List 150 in 2008 and has been recognized as one of the Top Ten Dining Destination (in the state)by Georgia Trend Magazine since 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Glen-Ella Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen-Ella Springs Hotel Clarkesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing