We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen-Ella Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Clarkesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had an excellent time. The restaurant is outstanding and the staff was attentive. Our room was a combination of rustic and elegant making for a wonderful stay. We'd eaten dinner there before, but never stayed there. We'll be back many times.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 476 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I went to Glen-Ella for dinner this past weekend to celebrate 35 years of marriage! We had dinner outside and the grounds are just beautiful! The food was delicious and the atmosphere is wonderful. I had the halibut with shrimp and it was very good. Being at Glen-Ella takes one back in time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dixiegirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We planned parents 50th anniversary party at Glen Ella. There war 75 guests at the event, 5 adult and 3 children weekend guests. The property was immaculate, the service was impeccable and the event was perfect. The food was ridiculously delicious-the chef very talented. The inn-keepers are delightful. We we will be back for a couples weekend, even though the kids want to live there.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the meadow, if possible. That will not be possible in the suite-if traveling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Having been a welcomed guest for over 15 years (though latest visit was first since '04) I am happy to say, "Traditions are made to be respected...and enhanced." What Bobby and Barrie Aycock started - low key, warm hospitality, fine cuisine - Ed and Luci Kivett are carrying forward in spades. Admittedly I was curious (OK, call it a bit anxious) how the transition had unfolded. Happily, "vintage" Glen Ella can now add "updated, without charm lost" to its moniker. Example: still no TVs in the guest rooms - wonderful - but you can transfix yourself to your latest personal device - alas - because Glen Ella is now in the WiFi world. Why anyone would want to stay in their room, given the amenities, meadows, trails, pool etc etc stumps me. (No wisecracks, please...the privacy of your room has all sorts of, ahem, potential and things going for it.) The Glen Ella staff are a combination of veterans (the Aycock years) and new faces. Old ways CAN collide with new ideas. Glen Ella is thriving proof. Thank you Bobby and Barrie, for your years of dedicated stewardship. And thank you, Ed and Lucy, for incorporating your personal touches to enhance what has always been a special place and experience. JM Donohue

Room Tip: Request meadow view side. And if it's splurge time go for the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife wanted to see a small art exhibit at a nearby college about an hour from Atlanta. I looked around for a quiet get-away to extend the weekend and found Glen-Ella Springs Inn. What we discovered was a gem. Truly quiet surroundings with waterfalls and lakes and streams, and a facility remade from the hands of the 19th century. Although the buildings, rooms, and surrounding grounds are spotless, well-tended, and relaxing, the Inn keeps it's charm that is almost rustic with wood paneling everywhere along with the stacked-stone fireplaces in the lobby and restaurant (the ash remnants in the fireplaces give you the sense and smells of walking into an English pub or even an old country estate). Speaking of the restaurant, the food is spectacular and unique; the lamb chops (along with an Argentinian Malbec) were the best I've ever had (really). This will be a place that my wife and I will return to for many years for a get-away. Thanks to Ed and Luci Kivett for their labor of love.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the back and sit in the rocking chairs at sunset.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Wonderful, peaceful inn with exceptional staff and innkeeper family!
Not a single thing negative about this Inn! Would go again tomorrow!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the meadow side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLB1832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed at Glen-Ella for the wedding of my good friends', Shannon + Eric, wedding. We took over this lovely place & it was perfect. The grounds are gorgeous, the pool is refreshing, the food is delicious.

While the wedding party was off at the rehearsal dinner in town, a friend & I enjoyed a relaxing dinner at the Inn that we are still talking about because it was THAT GOOD.

The ceremony & reception was so Shannon + Eric, and even though it was the hottest day of the year, we had the greatest of times celebrating their love. We are all semi-recent college grads & Glen-Ella was the perfect background for bringing friends who have moved all over the country back together to cherish our youth & create lifelong memories. Glen-Ella will always hold a place in my heart for this reason, and I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesshett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarkesville
3.6 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
15.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
15.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cornelia
Hampton Inn Cornelia
#1 of 4 in Cornelia
419 reviews
16.2 mi away
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
11.8 mi away
The Simmons-Bond Inn
The Simmons-Bond Inn
#1 of 1 in Toccoa
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-Ella Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-Ella Springs Inn

Address: 1789 Bear Gap Rd, Clarkesville, GA 30523-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Clarkesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clarkesville
Price Range: $183 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen-Ella Springs Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of Atlanta, sits this historic country inn, nestled on 17 acres in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Featuring 16 elegant yet rustic guest rooms and a fine dining restaurant, guests are treated to a serene setting and award winning cuisine. There are numerous hiking trails and waterfalls nearby to explore. Or simply relax and enjoy the picturesque setting of the inn with extensive herb and flower gardens, swimming pool, sun deck and expansive meadow where you'll often see deer grazing. Glen-Ella Springs was also named to National Georgraphic Traveler's Stay List 150 in 2008 and has been recognized as one of the Top Ten Dining Destination (in the state)by Georgia Trend Magazine since 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glen-Ella Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen-Ella Springs Hotel Clarkesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing