We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect...Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen-Ella Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Clarkesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

It is becoming a tradition for my husband and I to keep a "Getaway by Ourselves" jar on our dresser to save up for a brief time away to recharge. We aren't able to go very far as our lives revolve around teens and their acivities and sports, but we have found our favorite place to go. In fact, I think I'll rename the jar, "Glen Ella Springs Getaway"! As soon as we leave the inn, we both begin talking about when we can escape for another short trip.
This time we came to celebrate our 23rd wedding anniversary, and even though it was such a short time, we felt like time stood still there. It is so easy to just leave all the noises and technology behind!
It's really just what everyone else says....and so much more! Innkeepers and staff work so hard to make your stay wonderful. The rooms are so clean and little touches make your stay special. The grounds are so beautiful and so well-kept, and we had the best time sitting on the porches, reading, talking and watching the birds. It really is perfect.
Besides all that, what makes this our favorite place to retreat is that you can enjoy all that, and when it is time for dinner, you have one of the best restaurants in Georgia a few steps from you. We both tried a different dish this time, and it was even better than usual. When we left, we sat outside on the porch, listening to the rain on the tin roof. Heaven.
All the other guests there look so happy and relaxed; it really is such a great place to get away from the craziness of life.
The "Glen Ella Springs Getaway" jar is going to be filled soon, I hope! :) Every time I think of buying something I don't need, I will think of that time we shared there, and I will gladly drop it in there instead! :)
We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, but the King and Queen Penthouse are worth splurging for, if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GASooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 464 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed two relaxing nights at the inn. The property wasn't difficult to find, but was far enough off the beaten path to provide tranquility and privacy. The owners and staff were warm and welcoming without being intrusive. They recommended other restaurants in the area and helped us plan and arrange off-site activities during the day.

The food was really one of the highlights. Breakfast, which is included in the price, was wonderful and changed daily. Dinner (optional) was as good as any high-end restaurant in a large city, but as comfortable as dining at a friend's house. The vegetable and herb garden within eyesight of the dining room fortified the menu with local produce. The restaurant alone was worth the drive.

We booked a queen room, which was on the small side, but very comfortable, bright and clean. We also enjoyed the rocking chairs on the porch, swimming pool, firepit and exploring the 12-acre meadow dotted with benches, chairs, games and a tree swing.

We highly recommend visiting Glen-Ella Springs Inn for dinner. However, to truly experience the warmth of the owners and staff as well as experience the majic of the inn and the grounds, you must stay at least two nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the meadow side of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I have never stayed there as I have a place not far from there but occassionally we go there to eat dinner. We have been there for majors holiday dinners and just weekend dinners. It's always been very good and the staff is professional. The owners are great and walk around making sure you are enjoying the food. Never had anything I didn't like there. I'm sure if there is a problem, they would take care of it right away. If you are nearby, I recommend stopping by for dinner. They can also tell you of fun places to go if you aren't familar with the area.

Room Tip: Have no idea of the rooms as I have never stayed there, just ate there. It is on a diry road so some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

An inn with history and charm set on a beautiful meadow made our 28th wedding anniversary one to always remember. The food was outstanding as well as the warm and friendly staff. We loved this place and will visit again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the meadow side have a nice view of meadow and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Thank you Ed & Luci for a wonderful stay, delicious breakfast, and spending time showing us around your beautiful Inn and gardens. We felt right at home and are looking forward to our return. Your sheets are the most comfortable I have ever slept on! The meadow and gardens absolutely beautiful! We loved waking up there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonanzaWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Simply put, You will find no better country inn experience than Glen-Ella. Those of us that are fortunate to be able to travel in this manner are always looking for the unique experience accompanied by superior hospitality, food and amenities. Glen-Ella does it with grace.

Ed and Luci are the consummate hosts. They are never far from the action and gracious in their efforts to please guests.

This is not just an overnight stop but rather a relaxing and fulfilling interlude in a generally hectic travel experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the field and river are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by some of the recent updates by the new owners, Ed & Lucy. The room was most comfortable, and the grounds were immaculate! The breakfast was outstanding! We highly recommend this wonderful "secluded get-away!"

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarkesville
3.6 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
15.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cornelia
Hampton Inn Cornelia
#1 of 4 in Cornelia
410 reviews
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
10.8 mi away
Beechwood Inn
Beechwood Inn
#2 of 7 in Clayton
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-Ella Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-Ella Springs Inn

Address: 1789 Bear Gap Rd, Clarkesville, GA 30523-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Clarkesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clarkesville
Price Range: $183 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen-Ella Springs Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of Atlanta, sits this historic country inn, nestled on 17 acres in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Featuring 16 elegant yet rustic guest rooms and a fine dining restaurant, guests are treated to a serene setting and award winning cuisine. There are numerous hiking trails and waterfalls nearby to explore. Or simply relax and enjoy the picturesque setting of the inn with extensive herb and flower gardens, swimming pool, sun deck and expansive meadow where you'll often see deer grazing. Glen-Ella Springs was also named to National Georgraphic Traveler's Stay List 150 in 2008 and has been recognized as one of the Top Ten Dining Destination (in the state)by Georgia Trend Magazine since 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Glen-Ella Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen-Ella Springs Hotel Clarkesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing