We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Rochford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Keep away”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Arrived today 12 October....welcome at reception was not good and to add to that the lady receptionist seemed to have a problem with English....eventually she had to draw a picture of how we could get to our room...be prepared this complex is HUGE and some of the rooms are miles away from the advertised amenities....we had to drive to the front desk and to the restaurant which had a long line of people waiting for tables...finally ate in the nasty fast food place...this is not a hotel, it is a series of motel blocks with no lifts if you are on the first floor and the sound of those above you on the ground floor ...an expensive mistake...if you must go here ask for rooms in the main lodge

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    1,866
    1,423
    476
    234
See reviews for
1,643
2,157
159
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Valley, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Rubys Inn is like a small city, everything you need to enjoy a visit to Bryce Canyon National Park. Very well equipped General Store with sundries, food, camera equipment, jewelry, books, postcards, etc, from high quality items to less expensive tourist fare.. Different levels of restaurants from more formal dining to cafeteria style. Rooms are clean and quiet and facility is close to the Park. Laundry facilities available.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnd5319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Perfect location for Bryce Canyon. Not really a romantic gateway, no soul, but all you need is there: shops, choice of restaurants, gas, ... and large and clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citrouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stopped for one night enroute from Salt Lake City to northern Arizona, mostly wanting to avoid Las Vegas. Vegas would have been a sure fire winner vs Ruby's. We were told that the only room they would give us was a very overpriced king suite for $189. The new building across the highway was even more $$$. Being late and not wanting to drive who knows how many miles back we grudgingly said OK.

The room itself was up to date, clean, and comfortable - but not worth $189. My AT&T cell phone wouldn't get a signal the entire time we were there. The buffet food was average at best and way overpriced. The topper was that they shut down the guest Internet computers at 10 pm and don't turn them back on until 9 am the next day. So much for being able to obtain directions, read email, etc. in the morning when all the kids aren't monopolizing the computer.

Gas prices at the station out front turned out to be 30 - 40 cents higher than any station in the area - which we found out after we had driven aways. And, they don't trust you to pay at the pump. You have to take your credit card in to the cashier, then go out and pump your gas, then go back in again to finish the transaction - and the man at the desk took five minutes to run the transaction correctly.

If you are going to Bryce Park and want the convenience of staying overnight near the park, then Ruby's is probably a good choice (though not a good value - you'd get more for your money by staying in Panguich or commuting the hour each way from Cedar City.) If you don't need to stay at the park, avoid this overpriced, mediocre tourist trap like the plague.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smca428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bryce Canyon City hotels

Puyallup, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2009

In August 09 we stayed at the new Best Western at Ruby's Inn, Bryce, Utah. Our stay was
exceptional and we cannot praise it enough. The staff was first class (Alyssa) and the moment we stepped through the front door we felt we were the only guests there.
This hotel is four months old and it is beautiful. Rooms are spacious, beds are the best, accommodations are first class complete with flat screens and every room has a view of the incredible mountain side. The complimentary breakfast is delicious and a huge selection to chose from. The only thing missing on site is a restaurant but right across the street at Ruby's Inn are two full restaurants and several "grab and go" places.
It is less than a five minute walk. We especially enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and oversize rocking chairs in front of the fireplace. Everytime we walked in the staff greeted us by our first names, asked us what we did that day and could they assist us in anything.
Kudos to the management....you have a great staff and that makes all the difference in the world. We will be back, but for a longer period of time!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiftyChristy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Do not pay extra for the Lake View/sulphurous swamp. Very disappointed. We stayed in the "Lake View" lodge. It's more of an eyesore than a pleasant outlook. In the hotel's website pictures, it looks nice but in reality you are looking out the front of your motel unit over the walk way, over the carpark. To a green gungey pond.
This hotel is positioned just outside of Bryce Canyon National Park's entrance, which is the reason why most stay. The rooms are cleanish (toilet with skid marks) and have a bar fridge and microwave. Reception staff are not very helpful. English isn't their first language nor is Spanish. If it wasn't for the location, and other hotels in the area (except Bryce Canyon Lodge in Bryce Canyon National Park) not being competitive, I'm not sure how well they'd go. So, apart from the Bryce Canyon Lodge, it's the best of a bad bunch. Just don't pay extra for the no exsistent view.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradnshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Our family of five stayed at Best Western Ruby's Inn in August 2009. We booked a family room for four nights to explore Bryce Canyon and Grand Staircase - Escalante National Monument. Exploring Bryce and Escalate during four days turned out to be an excellent idea, staying four nights at Best Western Ruby's Inn was our best decision ever. This hotel was the most expensive out of eight hotels during our Southwest USA trip last summer while it offered the least value for money. The room was very noisy because of bad (or badly maintained) plumbing. Each time someone opened a water tap nearby in our 'lodge', we heard the water running very loudly; needless to say that this mainly occurs late in the evening and early in the morning. The room was only superficially clean, we found cereals under a bed the day we arrived. The first night, the wifi did not work either.

The location though is unbeatable, near the Bryce Canyon National Park entrance and just one hour drive from many places in Escalante. The nearby grocery store was very convenient and - unlike the hotel - reasonably priced. There are not many alternatives in the Bryce area, so I recommend to stay here maximum two nights to visit Bryce Canyon and explore other parts of the region from a different location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaerius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryce Canyon City
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
5.2 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
679 reviews
13.6 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
4.5 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
630 reviews
15.3 mi away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Address: 26 South Main Street, Bryce Canyon City, UT 84764
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce Canyon City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bryce Canyon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Ruby's Inn, the closest accommodations to Bryce Canyon National Park, is the perfect base for your exploration of scenic Southern Utah. We offer the finest accommodations and amenities in the Bryce Canyon National Park region. Ruby's Inn at Bryce Canyon is a destination in and of itself. Rubys Inn has 368 Spacious Guest Rooms, 2-Bedroom Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Color Satellite TV, Air Conditioning, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools and Spas. At Bryce Canyon you'll enjoy horseback riding, ATV and helicopter tours, along with Bryce Canyon western experiences such as chuckwagon dinners, rodeos and more. You'll also find our General Store to be the largest, including an impressive selection of authentic Southwestern Indian arts and crafts including jewelry, pottery and weavings. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Ruby`s Hotel Bryce
Best Western Rubys Hotel
Best Western Bryce
Bryce Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing