We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our best B & B experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Chatsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Independence, KY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of our best B & B experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed at The Overlook Inn on 9/8/08. The night innkeeper was delightful. By far the best service we have ever had. The evening wine and cheese was a nice touch. The inn was exceptionally clean, including our room The Moon's Eye. We ordered the Fireside basket for our dinner which was delicious with lots of food. We enjoyed the screened inn porch and the two-person hot tub. Although the inn sits on 52, we did not notice excessive noise. The morning staff were also incredibly accomodating and the breakfast was excellent. We have stayed in many B & Bs and each had their own charm. The Overlook Inn ranks in our top 5. Although it was a little pricey, the experience was worth every penny. We will return.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the drive from I-75
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Minerva55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    17
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
108
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellijay, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

Surprising my Husband on his Birthday is what led us to this wonderful Bed and Breakfast nestled high in the southern tip of the Blue Ridge Mountains and the Cohutta Wilderness. The first thing that struck us was the spectacular view from the Council Room as we entered the Inn. Soft music was wafting down from the expansive arched ceiling and the Tranquility of the place quickly stripped away the tensions of the work week. We just wanted to sink down into the overstuffed leather chairs and never leave. Soon the friendly and helpful Staff whisked us away to our wonderful room complete with private porch and hot tub which also had a Mountain view. The room, called Grand Gahutti, was lovely with a King Iron bed and a Lounge plus our very own Robes to wear as we lounged and enjoyed the hot tub. We had ordered a Fireside Basket which was groaning with goodies and was delicious, eaten in front of our own fire. The Breakfast the next morning was the very best I've ever had in an Inn and was definitely Gourmet. With the friendly staff, the beautiful vistas and the historical area in these Mountains to explore, not only have we sent many friends and relatives here, but we even decided that this is where we wanted to retire, so we bought some property nearby. Since then, we have built a house here in the North Georgia Mountains, and you might say it was the Overlook Inn that led us Home.

  • Liked — The ambiance and Tranquility of the place
  • Disliked — Lack of Restaurants on the Mountain
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindseyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

Before I start in with the negatives, let me say something nice first. We were greeted warmly by Susan (on her last day working there) and made to feel most welcome. Our room, the Conquistador, was comfy and cozy and well-equipped. The public room was lovely and had an amazing view.

Okay, now on to the negatives: we felt cheated by the lack of a view. The website listed The Conquistador as having the best view of all the rooms. Well, here was the view: the road, power lines, and tall trees which obscured the mountains. THERE WAS NO VIEW! My husband and I had been so looking forward to spending time on our porch and feasting our eyes on the view--it's the primary reason we chose this inn and chose that room. So it was a huge disappointment.

The Fireside basket was nice--although sitting on the porch looking at a road, power lines, and trees while we consumed it was less than thrilling.

After dinner we wandered around the grounds. The wildflowers were beautiful, but the condition of the grounds otherwise is poor--the twig swings were rotted through and couldn't be used, the various birdbaths and pots were tipped or broken, the trail was overrun with poison ivy, and a large bag of trash was broken open and spread about. And my husband was terribly disappointed that his horseshoes were not making their mark, which he blamed on the fact that there was no sand, as there should be with horseshoes.

One final complaint, and I'll finish with something nice again. The "gourmet" breakfast started with: orange jello. JELLO! A little bowl of orange jello, a smidgeon of whipped cream, and a few narrow slices of apple and peach on top. It was somewhat bizarre. It was followed by a breakfast burrito and bacon. What's gourmet about that menu?
Okay, to end on a nice note: it was great having a little fridge in the room, and it was even stocked with water and sodas.

  • Liked — The cozy room, the common room
  • Disliked — The fact that the view advertised on the website is non-existant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

My husband and I chose the Overlook Inn as a quiet, remote place to celebrate our one-year wedding anniversary. When we arrived at the modest property we were a little disappointed by its location, a stone's throw away from the two-lane mountain highway. We quickly realized why there aren't any pictures of the inn's facade on its website. We had an easy check-in at the gift shop, Coyote Redd's, a store full of the usual mountain trinkets. We were led to our room ("Celestial Suite")- the nicest and most expensive room in the inn, which was ten steps from the gift shop and facing the highway. Our blinds had to remain shuttered the extent of our four-day stay.

On the positive side, our room was expansive and offered a two-person jetted tub and separate rainforest shower. The room was decorated in full-mountain fashion with cross beams, wooden floors, and a deer antler chandelier. Our room had a private entrance, which we enjoyed.

After we unpacked and settled in we grabbed our books and walked over to the Council Room, which is the reading/breakfast/fireplace room. The view from this room was breath-taking, but it was also the only room with a mountain view. This cozy room offered a comfortable place to read, play board games (scrabble and yahtzee), and take in the scenery. The weather was warm, and we decided to take our books to a bench we saw from the window. When we got outside we saw that the bench was broken and had nails sticking out of it. Two other benches were in the same condition (a July '07 review mentions the same benches). The only other option for outdoor seating were wraughed-iron patio furniture that was extremely uncomfortable.

There is a hiking trail (Robert's Trail) that begins at the rear of the inn and continues down the mountain for several miles. My husband and I enjoyed this trail, though it is extremely steep (my husband and I have recently completed marathons and still found it challenging).

Every afternoon the inn offers wine, cheese, crackers, and fruit. If you are a wine conosier we suggest bringing your own bottle. Our room provided a wine rack and a small refrigerator, which they refilled with bottled water.

For dinner on our first evening we had the inn prepare us a fireside basket. The basket consisted of delicious brie, crackers, hummus, raw vegetables with dip, and homemade chocolate cake. The basket also consisted of two pieces of microwaved chicken and croissants. Croissants proved to be a main staple on the inn's menu, as we had them 3 out of the 4 mornings (eggs benedict on croissant, cheese croissant, microwaved croissant). We wondered if the uneaten croissant from our dinner basket found its way to the morning meal. Also, bacon was on our breakfast plates 4 out of the 4 mornings, leaving our cholesterol counts higher than the mountain's altitude. However, the presentation at breakfast was charming, as white tablecloths, fresh flowers, and polite service improved our experience. Every staff member was congenial.

On our first evening we retired to our room early and decided to try out the large jacuzzi. My husband turned the water on, and to his bewilderment a solid stream of water began pouring from the ceiling a good 10 feet above the tub. This feature was definitely not romantic or well designed, as it splashed water all over the room. One might compare it to mounting a garden hose on the ceiling of your bathroom. Both the rainforest shower and the jacuzzi had two temperature settings (Arctic Winter or Chernobyl Hot). We asked the staff to adjust the temperature settings, for we had to dance around in the scalding water. The problem was never fixed, and we weren't able to use the "rainforest sprayers." We noticed in the guest book that several other couples had had this problem.

The bed was comfortable, but we had to leave the window open at night due to the lack of AC or heat in our room. Occasionally we would hear large trucks barreling down the highway. The bedspread was also musty and dingy, and we tried to keep it off our bed.

The surrounding area is very rural and offers countless miles of unspoiled wilderness for nature lovers. The nearby towns of Chattsworth and Ellijay offered little to no dining options, and we found ourselves eating dinners at Arby's and Zaxby's. Edna's Restaurant, a small diner in Chattsworth, provided good, down-home southern cooking.

Other than reading and relaxing, the highlight of our getaway was traveling to the "nearby" Amicoala Falls State Park (a 45-min drive through apple orchards). This waterfall provided a beautiful photo-op, as it is the highest waterfall east of the Mississippi River. One has the option of driving to the top of the falls, but we enjoyed taking the hundreds of stairs to the top.

Overall, my husband and I cannot recommend the Overlook Inn because we cannot justify the amount we paid for our stay (~$230. per night plus room tax). The food was below average and extremely repetitive, the grounds were shabby, we felt closed up in our room since we had to keep the blinds closed, and the only way we could enjoy the mountain view was to sit in the Council Room with other couples.

The Overlook Inn did offer us a place to relax, rejuvenate, and reconnect, but we can think of many inns (& towns) that are more quaint and offer better quality and value.

  • Liked — View from the Council Room, King-sized bed, shower & jacuzzi (if the water temp. had worked)
  • Disliked — Lack of variety and quality of food, lack of view and privacy in room, water temperatures, nearby towns, ants in room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank passionforadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2007

Location: Easy to locate off of I-75. Beatiful drive up the mountain, beware if nervous at heights with no guardrails! The inn is on top of the mountain with unbelievable views from both sides of the inn.

Check-In: This takes place in the Coyote Redd giftshop next door to the inn. Super friendly, quick check-in that included receiving a document with the in's and out's of the inn.

Inn common areas: very cozy, with wood burning fireplace, TV, wood beams, leather sofa/chairs and a view that is unbelievable!

Room: Stayed in the Prince Madoc. The room is cozy with a huge stone gas fireplace, porch, king size bed, and spa tub in the room. We knew ahead of time that our bathroom was across the hall. This was no big deal for us, though by the end of our stay we were tired of "getting dressed" in the night! Another poster was unhappy that the porch and room were right on the highway - this is a mountain road with little traffic. It did not bother us at all. The only real negative part of my review is the thin walls. If this is a tremendous issue for you, than think twice before booking this room. Not only could we hear people talking in normal voices in rooms on either side, we could hear EVERYTHING from the common area. This was not an issue until our last night when one of the "guests" decided to lay out on the couch at all hours and watch TV very loudly. She got the hint when my husband thought nobody was out there and went to turn off the TV. In my opinion, this was lack of consideration by guests and not the inns fault, although I wish there was more soundproofing. Other notes, the room did have a fridge with bottled water and a coffee maker.

Food: The dinner basket was very tasty and we would order it again. Both the chicken and trout were good. In the afternoon there was tea and treats, then wine and cheese (all red wine), and on Sat night cheesecake as well. Drinks and ice were always available. Breakfasts were good, although I'm not sure it was "gourmet" the second day. The eggs benedict the first day were very good. The staff was very accomodating with several couples with "special" requests.

Service: The service was outstanding from check-in, the innkeeper, server at breakfast etc. THAT is why we would return without hesitation!

Overall: We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend going to Blue Ridge to shop. We would definitely return, but more than likely to a cabin rather than the inn just for more peace and quiet.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, beautiful views
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snwarf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton Ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

My partner and I love to visit the Overlook Inn!!! The people are friendly, the views are magnificent, the food is superb, and best of all it is quiet. We allways say we are going to run out and get dinner, but we allways change our minds and get The Fireside Basket!!! It is wonderful. I am a big coffee drinker so I love going out and getting coffee @ around 3:00! Wow, perfect timing! I am also a big wine drinker so the cheese and crackers are right up my alley too! Breakfast is always wonderful! Kay is a great cook! I always do the cooking at home so it always nice to have someone do it for you! She has some great recipies, maybe one of these days she will share some of them with me! Susan is great too! She always makes us feel at home! She always makes sure everything is just right! Joan is great too! I think the staff at the in make our stay alot more pleasant. It wouldn't be the same without them! If you do decide to take a trip to the overlook inn there is a lake that you just have to go see! It is called Lake Conasaugua. I hope I spelled that right. You will see a sign for it! Just remember 14 miles on a gravel road is alot further than on a paved road!!!

  • Liked — The People and The Views
  • Disliked — We loved everything about it! That is why we keep coming back!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank franny003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

We loved the Inn. We had our "mini-honeymoon" there on New Year's weekend, and couldn't have had a more pleasant stay. We arrived late, nearly 11:30 at night! The very thick mountain fog made the trek up the mountain seem like it lasted forever. The fog carried over into the morning - we had the most delicious breakfast, and prepared for ultimate relaxation! The next day, the fog cleared and the sight was breathtaking! The staff/innkeepers were incredibly accommodating, meals were flawless and filling! The New Years party was a blast - champagne, heavy hors d' oervres, and piano playing. We will be back this year, and are giving rave reviews to all of our family members back up north, hoping to get them down for the stay, too!

  • Liked — the food, the privacy when you wanted it, the company when you wanted it, the "gift shop", the surrounding area, the views, the fireplace in the bedrooms, too many likes to list!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank caitlinelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatsworth
21.9 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
12.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn
20.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jasper
21.2 mi away
Seventy-four Ranch
Seventy-four Ranch
#2 of 4 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
21.1 mi away
Douglas Inn & Suites
Douglas Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Blue Ridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9440 Highway 52, Chatsworth, GA 30705-6654
Location: United States > Georgia > Chatsworth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chatsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have found your perfect romantic getaway here at The Overlook Inn. Our inn overlooks the beautiful Blue Ridge North Georgia Mountains. We are located 1.5 hours north of Atlanta, Georgia. Just north of Atlanta, Georgia you will find The Overlook Inn overlooking the beautiful Blue Ridge Georgia Mountains. Located on top of The Summit of Fort Mountain you find priceless mountain views year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Overlook Inn b&b
The Overlook Hotel Chatsworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing