We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Chatsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My significant other and I came here to stay for a night. We were originally supposed to stay in the Fieldstone, a room I had picked because of the gorgeous interior stone wall, fireplace, and tub in the room. However, as we were checking in, they asked if we would like to upgrade to the Moon Eye room for $10 as there was a vacancy. We decided to upgrade, as the Moon Eye had a screened in porch with a jacuzzi, a small tv, fireplace, and a bathroom inside the room. We absolutely loved our stay! Our room was very clean and well-kept, and it was really fun to be able to use the jacuzzi in the cold weather. The Overlook Inn is similar to a lodge, with warm and rustic decorations and awesome mountain views. There are tables, chairs, and walking trails on the property as well. The pictures on the website give an accurate representation. They offer tea, coffee, and biscotti in the afternoon, then bring out wine, cheese, grapes, and crackers later in the evening. I think the breakfast is different every morning, but the blueberry french toast and homemade granola parfait we had were fantastic. Breakfast is served at 8:30 or 9 am, so you have two options of when you would like to eat. The staff is very attentive and friendly, they definitely made our stay even better! We already can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkd258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    17
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
109
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I wanted to love the Overlook Inn so much more than I did. We stayed in the Fieldstone. Upon first getting to the B&B, we were so excited about the gorgeous view. The staff was wonderful and extremely accommodating.

Now, for the disappointing part.. when first getting in to the Fieldstone, we were overwhelmed by a really strong smell of air freshener - one plugged in and one sitting on the dresser. I decided to unplug and put them in a drawer (I could barely breath!) - a couple hours later, I realized why there were air fresheners.. the room had a really strange smell. Almost a litte like sewage. We decided to just open the door. Another weird part was dirt or debris came out of the hot tub's jets. And on top of all that, the fitted sheet on the bed felt very old and rough. Lastly, we had robes to walk to our bathroom, but there were sheer parts of the robes that were very close to turning into holes and may have led to a really awkward encounter if someone saw us.

Breakfast was creative - but just ok. Orange juice, coffee, eggs benedict, hash, baked grapefruit, and muffin with a very strange tasting chocolate-like sauce on it.

The lucky part about my negative reviews are that these problems can be easily fixed (I think!), but not sure if I'll return until I know they are.

Again, the staff was a pleasure, and the little shop was so cute. The common area was relaxing and had a nice view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CAtlanta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here many times and each time is fantastic! We always stay in The Celestial Suite. Everything from the breakfast in bed every morning for free, to watching TV from the in-room jacuzzi while looking at the glass fireplace, to the rainforest shower and amazing chocolate cake and nearby hiking makes this place one of the best. We have been well taken care of by Neil for many years and the other newer staff members Samantha, Marie and Jessica make it awesome. Very much privacy is given and help is there if you need it. If you are a couple seeking a great relaxing getaway...this is it! This particular trip we stayed 12/29 through 1/1 and hardly left our room. Thanks to everyone there that made our stay special. We can't wait to return again soon. We have been married 20 years and try many B&B's throughout the US and this one is our favorite! It is worth the 8 hour drive from Tampa everytime and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraandMike65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous views, comfy bed and clean rooms. Very updated and cozy atmosphere! Nice outdoor jacuzzi, great restaurants down the mtn also. Breakfast was wonderful and service was excellent! Lovely inn! Will be back for a future stay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess116000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a perfect romantic getaway at The Overlook Inn. It was just a short trip from Atlanta but it felt like we were worlds away. The staff was exceptional and thought of everything to make our stay wonderful. We stayed in Moon Eye and enjoyed every moment. The room was beautifully decorated and the gas fireplace, screened in porch and hot tub were perfect. The view was spectacular!

The breakfast was homemade granola, chocolate chip pumpkin muffins, fresh fruit with yogurt, Eggs Benedict and bacon. The homemade biscotti and tea in the afternoon, and the cheese and wine in the evening were perfectly timed. We ordered a fireside dinner and chose to enjoy our stay without even leaving the mountain. It was a charming and valuable getaway for us. We already booked our next getaway!

Room Tip: The rooms are all a little different, but we most enjoyed the ones with the hot tubs. They do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Well. It's time for the review.
I like the compliment sandwich. First layer, the views are amazing. It is secluded and so simple.
The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. My, goodness, the private porches are great for late nite cocktails. Second layer, it is cut off from everything. Ron W. is correct in stating that for $70 you may want a bit more variety, and the mattresses could be a bit better. Last layer, the staff is WONDERFUL! They will do all that they can to make your stay just what you want. The breakfast and afternoon snacks were spot on! We will be going back. Also, ask for some of Miss Marie's peach muffins you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: If mattress comfort is important... . Ask for details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed in the Celestial Suite. Beautiful scenery. Old house converted to Inn. Main room is nice with a great view. Do not waste your money on dinner. Heated in microwave for 70 dollars. Stick to the wine and cheese. Shower sprays water on the floor. Basic cable. WiFi was terrible. Spider webs on lights. Dust on furniture. Expected more for the money.

Room Tip: Maybe the cabins would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonW220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOverlookInnOwner, Owner at The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I am sorry that your stay at The Overlook Inn was disappointing. Our mission is to provide quality accommodations and an exceptional vacation experience so we take our guest’s feedback very seriously. We have worked alongside our housekeepers to address the cobweb and dust issues you raised in your recent review and made adjustments to the shower so that it doesn’t spray on the floor. We are revamping our dinner offering and can assure you that our dinner package will only include the freshest ingredients in the future. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority so we appreciate your review. Your comments have helped us identify and correct problems so that all our guests may enjoy a relaxing and carefree stay with us.

Robert & Liz Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatsworth
21.9 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Mountain View Inn
20.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jasper
21.2 mi away
Seventy-four Ranch
Seventy-four Ranch
#2 of 4 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
21.1 mi away
Douglas Inn & Suites
Douglas Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Blue Ridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9440 Highway 52, Chatsworth, GA 30705-6654
Location: United States > Georgia > Chatsworth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chatsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have found your perfect romantic getaway here at The Overlook Inn. Our inn overlooks the beautiful Blue Ridge North Georgia Mountains. We are located 1.5 hours north of Atlanta, Georgia. Just north of Atlanta, Georgia you will find The Overlook Inn overlooking the beautiful Blue Ridge Georgia Mountains. Located on top of The Summit of Fort Mountain you find priceless mountain views year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Overlook Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Overlook Hotel Chatsworth
The Overlook Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing