We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or Miss”

Oriental Pearl Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 59 Restaurants in Chamblee
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We've been to this restaurant 8-10 times for dim sum. Sometimes it is outstandingly good, and others only so-so. Last time, the wait was reasonable (after 12:00 on Sunday be prepared for a long wait), but some of the food was cold. Also,we got one of our favorites early - chinese broccoli (which was a bit cold) because they don't seem to cook that much of it.

Decent dim sum and our usual place, but definitely hit or miss.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    31
    9
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FOOD POISONING”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We used to love this place but the service and food has gone way downhill. The ultimate came when my 8 year old got food poisoning from the BBQ pork buns last weekend!! So disgusting. That was all she ate because we left due to horrific service. Clearly the health inspector needs to pay this place a visit. Something needs to be done here...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlester c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Inadequate Staff”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Have been an intermittent customer for over 25 years. Weekends, lunch and Chinese New Year. The food can be great but...when their staffing is off, stay away. Unpredictable when the staffing is a problem. I have left on more than one occasion after not getting dinner after waiting over an hour. Unless management changes, would go somewhere else.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TopDoc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Nice experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It is a good place for dim sum. I went there with my friends, it is typical dim sum place, similar as other places. Overall it is good experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
2 reviews
“Hit or miss”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Eating at the Oriental Pearl is hit or miss. I have gone here 6 times in the past 2 years. Some days you will be able to get food quickly. Some days, the food is slow or cold. Overall for the price, it is worth a try.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 433Ker_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Pearl Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Pearl Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing