We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter Center East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter Center East
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chamblee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for 4 weeks on a business trip. Front desk staff is great, apart from when it comes to mail. My name is not exactly standard, so their system has a different spelling to what is in my passport... I had to rescue mail from being sent back twice... The lady on the desk just made a basic enquiry on their system and both times wrote not in hotel and put it in the return pile... good thing I checked :). Breakfast was great, busy over the weekends, but nice. Always fresh.

Would I recommend staying here? You bet... Value for money, nice staff, nice rooms. I had a studio for a week and a 2 bed unit for 3 weeks. Both well kept and nice to stay in.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vicdupreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    16
    17
    19
See reviews for
38
17
12
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

On a recent trip to Atlanta we stayed at this property...
My family and I had a GREAT trip to the area
The hotel staff was great!!!
Carolyn (???) at the desk was wonderful...
She gave us all the information we needed on how to get around in Atlanta
Mark the night auditor was very friendly also

The breakfast was Ok...They could have had more offerings but we didnt choose this property for the free breakfast...It was enough for us to grab and go.

Overall it was a great trip and we will return to the area!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TravelKidChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Let me preface my statement by saying I'm a frequent traveler (80%) and a Marriott Rewards Gold Member so I think my expectations are based on experience and not emotion.

My family and I recently relocated from Naperville, IL to John's Creek, GA however during the transition we needed temporary housing for 30 days until we could move into our new home. Our stay began at the Alpharetta Windward Residence Inn but since we are a family of four the room was a little small and therefore we moved to the Residence Inn Dunwoody/Perimeter based on the bi-level floor plan. I will add the Alpharetta Windward Residence Inn was incredible! The absolute opposite from the Dunwoody/Perimeter location.

I suppose I should've known something was terribly wrong when I inquired of Carolyn (front desk) regarding the surrounding area being fairly safe since I had quite a few personal belongings in my SUV that couldn't fit in the room. Her response was "well, it is Atlanta and Atlanta is SHADY". When I asked to see the room before we checked in she took my drivers license and said that she wasnt sure if I would steal her TV's while looking at the room and therefore she needed my ID. OK, so while that was obviously rude one might understand the rationale even if the explanation was in poor taste and offensive. Being the Marriott loyalist that I WAS (prior to this stay) I brushed it aside and looked at the room. Despite the grounds being in pretty poor shape the room was fairly spacious and that was the most important thing. Making assumptions regarding the upkeep, service, etc.

Well....here goes. Second night in a roach is crawling near the door and I'm thinking maybe it just came in under the crack. I dispose of it quickly and the family retires for the evening. The following day I'm working in the room when housekeeping stops by - the young lady literally changed the towels, pulled the covers up on the bed DID NOT MAKE THE BED and changed the garbage. THEN LEFT! I thought surely she would return to vacuum, clean the bathrooms, finish making the bed, etc. NOPE! Never returned. This went on for a couple of days before I complained and someone different cleaned the room. OK, isolated incident right? WRONG! The next morning we not only have a roach crawling in the KITCHEN but there is a knocking on the wall. Again, I bring the issue to the front desk and I'm told its a woodpecker. I'm not making this up. Well Woody was active all day and all night for my 12 day stay which I cut short. I moved to the Staybridge Suites in Alpharetta. All in all we had to deal with roaches 3 of the 12 days which means there were probably more we just didn't see, terrible housekeeping (almost every time it was cleaned it had to be requested!), food that ran out at the buffet, terrible attitudes from many of the staff (definitely not all of them were bad). The African American gentleman at the front desk was very helpful as was one other lady whose name I wish I had taken down. She was shorter, short natural hair style (description is for the Marriott Management to help identify the GOOD STAFF).

The area (Sandy Springs is a great location) but this hotel should be closed. It's not fit for guests, prisoners, or containment.

If you stay in building 6 bring bug spray and cleaning supplies!

Room Tip: Trust the reviews and make no assumptions based on brand/chain! Avoid building 6 and the woodpecker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chamblee hotels

Imlay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This Residence Inn is in an upscale area of Metro Atlanta at the border between Dunwoody and Chamblee. You are only minutes away from the Perimeter Mall shopping area which has just about everything from Macy's to Wal-Mart, and restaurants galore. Our king studio suite was just as pictured on Marriott website, and had all the amenities of a studio apartment. Beds were comfortable, had feather pillows. Lots of storage and it was nice to have a full size refrigerator. Breakfast varied from day to day which was nice although they could have offered more fresh fruit. We stayed for 5 nights and felt like home. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We did have one day where housekeeping forgot to clean our room, but the front desk staff brought us the items we needed. It's well known that traffic in Atlanta is terrible, but we found that it was faster and less congested to take Peachtree Rd/St into downtown instead of the expressway. Overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: Buildings 1, 2, 17, & 18 are closest to the Gatehouse (and the road). You have to use stairs for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My family and I stayed there during the week of my nephew's graduation. We were there for 3 days and had 2 rooms. A 2-bedroom loft and a studio. The rooms are very nicely appointed with modern furniture, fixtures and art. We were all very comfortable and there was enough room in the 2-bedroom to entertain my sister's family of 5 along with the 5 of us that stayed at the hotel. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The staff was friendly enough, not overly, but they were accommodating to all of our needs. The breakfast was changed up a bit each day to give variety. Although they seemed a bit stingy on the amount of breakfast meats they put out at a time. I can say though that we all ate rather well. The pool area was comfortable and the pool was very clean, not too much chlorine which was nice for my 2-year-old. The grounds were clean but definitely were in need of a spring spruce up. Pine needles were all around the landscaping in place of mulch (just one of the details I happened to notice). Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely return.

Room Tip: This is an exterior corridor hotel. The lofts and some other room types are on the 2nd floor. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at residence inn for 5 (out of a planned 10day stay). Let me start with the good. The location is good. Close to perimeter mall and various restaurants. Also close to hospitals which is the reason we were there. The rooms are clean and function like a studio apt. Appear to be recently renovated. Big fridge, dishwasher available, etc.
The provided breakfast in fine. Bagels, muffins, some hot items and juice.
Now the not so great the beds are terrible. Extremely hard beds, awful pillows (we went out a purchased pillows after first night). The towels and toilet paper are also rough.
Ended up leaving early and moving to another hotel (another Marriott brand).
Overall, for the price not bad.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

terrible... there are some dead insects in room. i can't believe this hotel is in marriott brand.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fredkkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamblee
2.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Center East
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Atlanta - Perimeter / Dunwoody
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Atlanta Perimeter at Villa Christina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Perimeter Center
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Perimeter Center
3.0 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Atlanta
Sonesta ES Suites Atlanta
#53 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter Center East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter Center East

Property: Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter Center East
Address: 1901 Savoy Dr, Chamblee, GA 30341-1031 (Formerly Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter/Dunwoody)
Location: United States > Georgia > Chamblee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chamblee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter Center East 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter Center features refreshed suites making your stay more comfortable and convenient than ever before. Guests can take advantage of complimentary breakfasts each morning, evening socials and our spacious suites offer all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter Center East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter/Dunwoody Hotel Chamblee
Chamblee Residence Inn
Residence Inn Chamblee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing