We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food in carrollton.”

The Border Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 150 Restaurants in Carrollton
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Rome, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in carrollton.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

When you want great food and a cheap drink this is the best place in carrollton to start off your night. The fajita nachos and borojo loco are amazing but so is all of there menu so it's hard to go wrong here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMcGhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, average Mexican food”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Nothing spectacular, but it was good lunch instead of the usual fast food. Great lunch portions. Wonderful looking patio....it was in the 30s when we were there so it wasn't open.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarciD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Affordable and Delicious Mexican Food!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The food is excellent, the service is fast and the prices are reasonable. I love their lunch menu especially the "loco mexican" and taco salad. I also love their tacos and nachos and their pollo ranchero! You can get a very filling meal, free tortilla chips and salsa and a drink for $7 or $8.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendibabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“From bad...to good!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a lunch time group who frequented this place weekly for years. In 2010, the place just went downhill...service was spotty, and the food was bland at best, and bad on many occasions (including grissly chicken dishes and 'funny' tasting beef dishes. So, we found a different favorite mex eatery (LaSalsa) and have been happy ever since.

Last night, my wife and I decided to give The Border a retry as it had been so long, and we wanted to see if anything had changed. YES IT HAS!

Service was EXCELLENT. Very, very attentive personnel, from the greeters, to the hostess, to the waitresses. We were checked on several times during our meal, and with nice, friendly attitudes.

The food was also VERY good. We had the guac, a chicken dish, and a steak dish, and everything was served hot, and tasted great. The only thing we didn't care for tremendously was the salsa, but that is always a personal preference food anyway really.

Overall, we were very pleases, and plan on working The Border back into our mexican food rotation down the road!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bamadog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were very surprised at the quality of food at this restaurant. Since my wife and I are Lovers of Mexican food we try to venture out and try new places whenever possible. We found this place through restaurant.com and it was well worth the drive which was about 30 miles from our home. The food was excellent and although not quite "Authentic" Mexican it was far better than most of the Americanized Mexican places we have tried. The service was fast and friendly and I hope to become a regular customer. Prices are reasonable and with a coupon from restaurant.com it is unbeatable! If you are the partying type there is a full bar on the lower level which I have no doubt is full of people on the weekends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zcar690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Border Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Border Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing