We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of Downtown Kitchen

Downtown Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Downtown Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 175 Restaurants in Canton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main St
Woodstock, GA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went back to Downtown Kitchen for the first time in years - we had a very mediocre experience there a number of years ago, and had other "favorites" where we preferred to spend our time and money. However, this time was much, much better. Started with a couple of drinks at the bar, where the attentive bartender made us feel welcome. Interesting wine list with a variety of not-so-common offerings by the glass and bottle, and a broad variety of cocktails (although they need to add a cucumber martini, per my wife!). We had the charcuterie appetizer - it was quite tasty (although I would have opted for a little different presentation on the cheeses rather than little cube niblets). Our server at dinner was equally good, I wolfed down a delicious pork dish with garlic mashed, while my wife enjoyed the stuffed trout and collards, one of her favorite sides. A great experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    45
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed average meal”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We went to celebrate a birthday and were disappointed with the food and value. The waiter did a good job of serving but not a great job. Salads were good but simple, three had the filet and it was below average especially with the cost of 33. Not an attractive piece of meet and not flavorful. The special halibut was very good thankfully as this is what the birthday girl ordered! No special recognition or comments about the birthday. Wouldn't go back to many better choices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingjim53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Little Escape”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This has become our favorite go to restaurant for date night. Great menu selections from appetizers thru dessert, great service and all servers are very personable !! Cory the GM makes sure all his guests are happy. They will accommodate any special requests without hesitation. We prefer the downstairs dining room but they also have a second floor with local bands playing on the weekend. Great little neighborhood Gem!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An oasis”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Expectations were low when I visited the Downtown Kitchen in the shopworn town of Canton. The menu choices were impressive, the food well prepared, draft beer selections top notch (for a limited menu) and wine equally well selected. I look forward to returning. It holds up well against many neighborhood places in Manhattan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sidbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Downtown Kitchen in Canton, GA was such a fun experience. We went to eat there on a Saturday night, where they had live music upstairs. Though we were unable to stay for some music and fun, the experience was incredible! The food was delicious (my boyfriend and I are spinach and artichoke dip connoisseurs..this far surpassed any we have ever had!), the service was exceptional, and the atmosphere was extremely classy. Amazing experience, and we will DEFINITELY be back!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rmariea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Downtown Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing