We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Management; Okay Value.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Canton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canton
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Canton
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor Management; Okay Value.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have stayed here 5 or 6 times this year to visit my fiance during weekends. The first 3 or 4 stays were great, no problems whatsoever. Starting in September 2012, there must have been new management and some new staff members, because my bills were being charged to the wrong card, or they would check my room out to another person with the same last name, then charge me twice when I check-out. That's just management.

The rooms are what you pay for; I wouldn't stay here for anything over $75 a night. The showers are okay, the important thing is that the hotel has hot water. The rooms tend to be moister than normal, I am not sure why. One more thing to make sure of is that you are not next to noisy people. The walls are thin, and if people like their TV loud, or like partying, you are in for a bad night. Breakfasts are so-so, as in there is minimal selection, but it isn't bad. Anywho, I enjoyed the good stays I had. I may consider coming here again when better management is in place.

Another note, when a certain contracting company has their workers stay there, they like to drink outside and just lean on whatever car is close to them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canton, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Paul D,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is most disappointing to hear about your recent experience at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you for staying with us, and and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
33
14
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I reserved a "suite" over the Thanksgiving holiday. Two queen beds and a sleeper sofa. My husband and I and our teenage daughter stayed in the room. My son decided to stay with his cousins. The room was very noisy. We could clearly hear the TV from the room next to us and the exercise machines whirring in the gym on the other side. The beds were quite soft so every time my husband turned over it woke me up. There was a coffee maker, refrigerator and enough basic amenities to qualify as acceptable. I didn't get a sense of complete cleanliness -- the caulk in the shower was moldy and there were stains on the sofa bed. The breakfast was fairly good -- scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, etc. It was fine for a visit to the family for the holidays, but I might take a look at the nearby Best Western next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here for a few days while visiting family over the holidays. The facility was well maintained and clean. The staff was very friendly and personable. I had an expedited check in and from the time I walked in until I had my key in hand was probably 1 minute.
The breakfast buffet was what I would consider average and typical for this type hotel and there was plenty to eat.
The only problem we had was the dryer in the laundry room took our money and wouldn't operate. It was a minor inconvenience. .
I think we received good value for the cost of the room and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the hotel to avoid the parking lot noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PACMan5814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I'd strongly suggest staying right across the street at the Best Western. This holiday inn express is very poor in comparison to the holiday inn express theme.
The front desk employees are quite relaxed and show an attitude towards not caring very much about your day or making guests welcomed.

The house keepers are running around to fetch towels, soap etc.. I asked 1 housekeeper why they don't have carts with there supplies stocked on them- her reply was that the hotel doesn't have enough towels, sheets, etc for everywhere needed and that they only have 30 minutes to clean each room, and if they work past a certain time they won't be paid for it. I was disgusted at what I had heard. When I asked another housekeeper on a lower floor about the hours they work, the supplies situation, and management... I was told they were paid minimum wage (7.25/hr) and must be done cleaning rooms by noon or won't be paid-- and it didn't matter how many rooms needed to be done. Wow!! This is no way to run a Hotel-
Poor, unorganized management.
Not a relaxing atmosphere for a guest, or a family. We stayed 2 days. will NEVER EVER stay here again.

Cheap, cheap, cheap is what this holiday inn express IS. A shame considering usually Holiday Inn Express at many other locations are quite NICE.

Not this one.
BEWARE!!!!

Room Tip: We would suggest the Best Western across the Street, Or Hampton Inn next door, with rates very simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motelguru1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canton, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear motelguru1989

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the poor service you received. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canton hotels

Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The staff is so nice here that I really didn't want to write a negitive review but I need to pass info. along to other travelers as I rely on tripadvisor for advice on my travels. This hotel needs some attention. Stayed on floor level and hotel room door does not close all the way, it is unlevel and leaves light about a 1/4" at top of door. Ants were a problem around mini kitchen area and in the bathroom. I'm sure it was due to the rain we were having but still ants are ants. They did offer to spray but not wanting toxic fumes in our room we just killed them as we saw them. Just be careful with your snacks as they got into our snack bag and had to throw some away. The breakfast was ok, but pancake machine wasn't working, along with refrig. that holds cold items. Had to ask attendant for items when she was there. Saw a dog in the hotel several times. I thought this was a no pets hotel, glad I didn't have an allergic reaction. Bottom line is that I got a good nights sleep here which is most important. Cracker Barrel was next door and can be walked to. Nothing else within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canton, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Bubbie2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I was delighted to read your review and your very kind comments regarding the staff here. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Nina graciously accomodated our last minute reservation. Hotel was quiet and clean. Complimentary breakfast was fine, my sons loved the pancake machine (lol). FYI-phone in 320 doesn't work, so whenever we needed something we just visited the front desk. No biggie, but that should probably get checked out. Rates were good, conveniently located to shopping and restaurants (walk to cracker barrel). Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Every area of the hotel was so clean and all the staff was so kind. Things were just perfect for my husband and I.
We were visiting our grandchildren so it was so nice to have a place for them to hang out with us.
The price was really great since we are senior citizens. We stayed 3 nights and wish we could have stayed more. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank granny558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta Canton
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Canton, GA
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Canton
Days Inn Canton
#2 of 7 in Canton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Canton
Motel 6 Canton
#4 of 7 in Canton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
15.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canton

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canton
Address: 713 Transit Avenue, Canton, GA 30114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Canton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Canton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a true Southern Hospitality experience, come visit beautiful Canton, Georgia, and Stay Smart at the Canton Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. This Canton, GA hotel is located in the foothills of the North Georgia Mountains in the heart of Cherokee County, just off I-575 N, exit 20. Only minutes from Woodstock, GA, Jasper, GA, Ellijay, GA, and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Enjoy the warm surroundings that make this Canton hotel special and you will feel at home away from home. We are now proudly offering our complimentary Express Start Breakfast featuring two hot items daily - omelets w/cheese, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy.Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. All rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, iron and board, coffeemaker, hair dryer, 2 phones with data port and voicemail, work desk w/ chair, cable TV with HBO.Meeting facilities available. On-site fitness center. Jacuzzi suites available. Grill and picnic area. Dozens of restaurants close by, and a shopping mall is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canton Hotel Canton
Holiday Inn Canton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing