We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelming moldy smell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calhoun
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We are frequent HIE patrons. This is the worst experience I have had at this chain (and perhaps at any chain). We checked in late tonight while on a road trip. We were greeted by a humid, moldy smelling room. Even my children commented on the strong odor in room 129. The hotel appears dated and my husband felt it unlikely that we would have much luck finding a better experience in a different room. We decided to tough it out for our brief stay. The room is so humid that the sheets feel wet and it is making for a very clammy, uncomfortable night. The restroom is not clean in appearance. The shower is dingy and several back hairs and other grime are present in the shower. I will be glad when morning comes and we can hit the road again. I am finding it difficult to sleep here. I think I will wait and shower at our destination HIE.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CubH8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calhoun, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear CubH8tr,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Calhoun.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 132 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

I chose to stay at this hotel due to the location. While the front desk staff was welcoming, the room certainly was anything but... Housekeeping misses as much as they hit while cleaning. Everything was dusty and the carpet looked like they only vacuum the traffic areas - there was excess dust, dirt and debris around all of the edges from the minute you walk through the door. Since the room was not very clean, I decided to skip breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayeteekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear kayeteekaye,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel as well as our friendly front desk staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the cleanliness of your room accommodations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Drove 18hr today so we were very tired when we checked in. The room was very clean and nice. The bed very cozy and comfy. We would stay again if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Arielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasondra H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calhoun, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I’m so glad that you stayed here with us at the Holiday Inn Express Calhoun, GA. If there’s anything you would like to add please feel free to contact us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Normally stay at the Hampton Inn but it was full and since the Holiday Inn Express in Marietta, GA was fine, we decided to take a chance. Bad mistake! The room was dirty with bits of food and dust bunnies on the carpet, "mystery" stains on the blanket (that went unused of course) and had to wait for 20 minutes to get anything decent to eat at breakfast. (To be fair, the one lady trying to feed everyone was overworked). Have learned my lesson. The next time we'll jump back into the car and keep driving.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayH155012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calhoun, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

RayH155012,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed for my first time at this hotel yesterday after checking with other hotels in the area that were more in line with my budget but being sold out. So I went here and luckily they had two rooms left and I was treated very well and they even gave me my AAA discount which was a pleasant surprise even with only two rooms left. Then to top it all off because I was a Priority memeber they gave me a free upgrade which just made it all the better. I was pleased with everything about the room, the breakfast, and the staff. The only negative which is very small is the layout of where the elevator is and the parking from the entry doors can is farther than most unless you are a lucky one and get a close spot, but I'm just glad they have an elevator, right! There are plenty of good places to eat around the area and there is Factory Outlet malls close by too where you can do a little bargain shopping. Hope this helps! I will be staying here again and recommend it to anyone. My advice to a smelly room as one review said is to ask for another room (assuming they have one available of course). Anytime I've ever had a smell issue at a Holiday Inn Express and called the front desk they immediately put me in another room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wofiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasondra H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calhoun, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I’m so glad that you stayed here with us at the Holiday Inn Express Calhoun, GA. If there’s anything you would like to add please feel free to contact us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

On our recent trip to Florida we've stayed at several Holiday Inn Expresses and were generally pleased until we've visited this one. First of all the room smelled of curry! Don't get me wrong I like Indian food but the heavy smell was just bit too much for us to handle. The bathroom was not adequately cleaned when we came and the water didn't drain from the bathtub during shower. Worst of all we were all bitten by something and were so terrified of bed bugs that we washed everything that we brought in twice when we came home. My advice - stay away from this place.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Canadacanadian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasondra H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calhoun, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I’m so glad that you stayed here with us at the Holiday Inn Express Calhoun, GA. We have made a lot of upgrades to this hotel. We hope that you are able to give us another chance and stay with us again. If there’s anything you would like to add please feel free to contact us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have stayed at several Holiday Inn Expresses and we are always pleased with the rooms and especially the hot breakfast. This was a typical stay so we are pleased. They always accommodate my large family with a room with 2 queens, pullout, and free crib. Wireless internet was good too. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasondra H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calhoun, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I’m so glad that you stayed here with us at the Holiday Inn Express Calhoun, GA. If there’s anything you would like to add please feel free to contact us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calhoun
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calhoun
0 mi away
Super 8 Calhoun
Super 8 Calhoun
#1 of 17 in Calhoun
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Calhoun
La Quinta Inn Calhoun
#3 of 17 in Calhoun
413 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Adairsville/Calhoun Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calhoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calhoun

Address: 125 Hampton Dr SE, Calhoun, GA 30701-7881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Calhoun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Price Range: $91 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calhoun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calhoun! The hotel offers complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet. Rollaway beds are not allowed by local fire department. The hotel features include: fitness center, guest laundry, and meeting rooms to accommodate 20 people. This Calhoun hotel is convenient to restaurants and shopping malls, Prime Outlets Center, and close to Mohawk Carpets, Shaw Industries, Mannington Carpets, Case Corp, New Holland America, Kobelco America Inc., Kerry Ingredients, Sakai America, Tai Ping Inc, Bostic Findley Inc, Fiskar Inc, Evco Plastics Inc., Faus Floor and 20 miles from the Carpet Capital of the World! Visit Calhoun, GA and Stay Smart at this Calhoun Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calhoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Calhoun Hotel Calhoun
Holiday Inn Calhoun
Calhoun Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing