We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yikes......July 14, 2012 stay.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yikes......July 14, 2012 stay.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just returned home from our vacation and I must comment about this stay. First off, we paid $99.00 without tax and an AAA discount. The first room was horrible. Terrible smell and the boxsprings had red/rusty stains and were gross. The headboards do not move so we could not look behind them. I was actually looking for bedbugs as you can't be too careful. We went to the front desk and respectfully asked for another room. The desk guy was Billy or Bobby, something like that. Anyway, the next room did not smell but we didn't want the pepperoni that was by the nightstand that someone left behind. We marched back down to the front desk and my husband even showed him the picture. He was running out of rooms to let us see. We finally took the last room as we are traveling with 5 people and have to have a suite. The kids all wanted to leave this hotel but honestly, I felt stuck. There were 3 other sets of people that I heard complaining. One had to get another room, others stuck in the evelvator when it broke and a couple that were supposed to stay two nights and thought they didn't get their second night. The trash bins were filled to the rims, everywhere. The guy that checked us in was the only worker. Breakfast was the normal that you would expect and I can't honestly even tell you what it was. It's discouraging to pay this amount when you can stay at resorts in FL for nearly the same with a discount. We stayed at 2 more Country Inns on the way home without issues.

Room Tip: Due to this experience, we ask to see the rooms prior to checking in and paying anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beastofburdenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnCalhoun71, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel. With the feedback that you have provided we will strive even harder to exceed your expectations. Please feel free to call me to discuss any other issues you had. 706-625-6500.

Yours In Hospitality,

Brian Lofton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    70
    40
    25
    18
See reviews for
137
51
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel was sold out this time -- I barely got a room. Yet Blake and Kimberly were as friendly and attentive as ever. They really make you feel at home! When I'm in the area, I don't even consider other hotels. This is the place to stay in Calhoun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaggypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Shaggypete,

It is always a joy to have you stay with us when you are in town. Thank you so very much for kind words. Please don't hesitate to call us whenever you are back in town!

Yours in Hospitality,

Ashley Layton
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLeansboro, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Chose Country Inn & Suites for the second CI&S hotel stay along our vacation route and very disappointed in this one. Check in process simple and friendly, very attractive lobby. Proceeded onto our room door and yikes! Carpet torn in one area, big nasty stain in another, what we believe to have been pieces of dog food on the floor, walls dirty and scuffed up, cigarette burn on pillow case, old tv, holes in comforter, cob web as long as my arm in celing corner and had been there awhile. When checking out the swimming pool (have two kids), there was a scummy film across whole top of pool, yuk! Breakfast not bad although not enough tables for guests to sit at. Lighter side - sheets seemed to be fairly clean and shower, sink and toilet were also clean. Not at all worth the $100 paid and won't choose this one again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnCalhoun71, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I'm glad that the service and decor of the lobby was to your satisfaction. I apologize that the condition of your room was not satisfactory. I'm glad you shared these thoughts with us and we will share them with our staff and promise on your next visit you will see a difference.

Sincerely,

Brian Lofton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We opt to stay at CI&S whenever we can. Having had better than average experiences there, we naturally thought we had made the right decision this time. Unfortunately, the facility did not meet our expectations. It is a good place to stay and the value was very good.

Good size parking lot. Reception is acceptable.

The room was smaller than usual with an old style hd tv and a small desk. The bed is very good except the pillows were paper thin.

Problems: there is no fan in the bathroom so it gets to sauna temperatures pretty quickly. And the coffee maker is in the bathroom. We find this somewhat unsanitary.

Breakfast was good, not great especially as the previous day's accomodation was outstanding. It's a hard act to follow under those circumstances.

The facility is good value for your money but we have come to expect better from CI&S.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trafdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Trafdlo,

Thank you so much for your stay at Country Inn and suites and your kind words. I am sorry for some of the difficulties you had with our hotel and we would love to have you back again if your travels bring you our way


Yours in Hospitality,

Ashley Layton
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Property was ok..nothing special..we had a coupon so felt it was worth the money. Would not feel the same if had paid $100 plus. Little hot water in shower..low pressure, no bowls at breakfast (seriously??)..Check in man was very friendly & the beds very comfortable. The property was right down the street from an Outlet Mall. Much better than the La Quinta across the street that we visited before checking in here. Cracker Barrel & Longhorn across street too.

Room Tip: There is an indoor pool on the first floor..so go higher if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandasue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartersvilleGM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear "pandasue123"

Thanks so much for your review. And I agree with the bowl situation! We would love to have you back again as our guest! Please feel free to call me if you would like to discuss any of the issues you had 706-625-6500.

Yours in Hospitality,
Kevin Callesoe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had picked up a hotel discount coupon booklet at the Welcome Center because we were looking for an inexpensive decent place to stay on our way back to Florida. Saw several that were inexpensive but after checking them out on Tripadvisor, decided against them. I have always had good luck with Country Inn & Suites so we decided to give them a try since we had found a coupon giving us the price of $65 plus tax. By the way, we saved $22 over the "AAA discount" price that the couple who checked in right before us received so spending a few minutes looking at those coupon booklets was well worth it. The room was clean and quite comfy. Some people said in their reviews that the beds were hard. We found them to be firm, but not overly hard. I guess that is a judgement call. I know that some people prefer their beds to be softer, but since I have a bad back, I need the firmness. The bathroom had granite countertops and plenty of room for all of our bathroom supplies, such has toothbrushes, etc. But, I must say that the hair dryer was probably the least powerful hair dryer I've ever used. I finally gave up and let my hair air dry. The breakfast was a typical hot hotel breakfast and also included several different cereals. I do suggest that you go to breakfast before 8 AM because soon after we got there, the breakfast room was so full that there were no places left to sit. Some people were sitting out in the lobby. We left early and took the rest of our food to our room so that an elderly couple couple have a place to enjoy their meal. But, it might've been the time of year we were there. Several people we meant were on Spring Break. All in all, I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a decent room for the night.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FLgal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartersvilleGM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear "FLgal8",

Thank you so much for your stay at Country Inn and suites and your kind words. I am sorry for some of the difficulties you had with our hotel and we would love to have you back again if your travels bring you our way.

Yours in Hospitality
Kevin Callesoe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin TN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

On a trip back from Florida we picked this location based on it's pet friendly policy and coupon. When we checked in we asked for a non-smoking king and were advised they only had a handicapped accessible room. We agreed, handed over our coupon and went up to the room.
We were at the very end of the hall farthest from the road and my first thought was "wow this will be super quiet".
After unpacking we went back out and found a nice assortment of restaurants nearby. We came though the lobby and found some cookies and coffee for dessert. The kids birthday party happening in the indoor poor was still in full swing. So not a good option for a relaxing dip.
When we returned to the room to relax and watch some tv we heard a thumping bass sound. At first we thought someone had parked in the vacant lot we were overlooking behind the hotel and had their stereo on. We kept trying to figure out where the sound was coming from. Later we realized there was a dive bar adjacent to the unattractive vacant lot behind us and it was in full party mode til 1PM. Luckily we were so tired we fell asleep, woke up around midnight and my husband took the dog out for a quick walk. The bar was still jamming and the police had arrived!
So the thumping bass was a bit annoying but the room overall was quiet otherwise aside from the occaisional slamming door. We didn't hear a thing til the next morning when we did hear water running.
The room itself was clean and attractive with some dated aspects. It did have an old fashioned bedspread which was kind of creepy...I am sure they don't wash those after each guest. We folded it down near the foot of the bed which just left us with a thin blanket. It did have an old tube style tv but it worked fine.
The pillows on the bed were flat as can be. I did go to the lobby and asked for a couple of extra ones so we could prop ourselves up to watch the tv.
The bathroom was super clean and large and the handicapped version had a walk in shower.
The next morning we took turns going down for breakfast. There were a few hot items, waffles and the usual muffins, toast and cereal. They had a nice juice machine that had delicious peach/citrus juice. It was amazing that many of our fellow guests came down in their pajamas to eat breakfast. Hadn't seen that before at other places. Maybe it is a Georgia thing?
Otherwise the breakfast and stay overall was pleasant and restful. If you choose this place you may not want to be on the backside at the very end of the hall...maybe then you won't hear the noise from the bar next door, or maybe you could just jump the fence and join the fun?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartersvilleGM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear "TNGal",

I am so glad you chose Country Inn and Suites for your stay. I am very sad to hear about some of the difficulties that you had at the hotel but was also glad to hear that there were some positives also. Please feel free to contact me anytime if you would like to discuss some of the issues you had! 706-625-6500

Yours in Hospitality,
Kevin Callesoe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calhoun
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calhoun
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Calhoun
Super 8 Calhoun
#1 of 17 in Calhoun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Calhoun
La Quinta Inn Calhoun
#4 of 17 in Calhoun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Adairsville
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dalton
Hampton Inn Dalton
#5 of 22 in Dalton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun
Address: 1033 Fairmount Hwy, Calhoun, GA 30701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Calhoun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country inn & Suites in Calhoun, Georgia is a 64 room hotel. We have 19 Suites available. We are located less than a mile from the Premier Outlet Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Calhoun Hotel Calhoun
Country Inn And Suites Calhoun
Country Inn Calhoun
Calhoun Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing