We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was EXCELLENT!”
Review of Shoney's

Shoney's
Ranked #66 of 88 Restaurants in Calhoun
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service was EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The food here back in the day was very, very good. You could always expect a great meal when you ate here. Last few times we have been here, and another Shoney's in Chattnooga, the food has been, just average. We had a waitress who was fantasitc! She was very friendly and attentive. Don't know what's up with the Shoney's chain...There are alot that have closed. Maybe they need to look what they did in the past that was right and revive this great restaurant. I hate to see it go by the wayside.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marsha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best breakfast bar anywhere”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Anything you can imagine for breakfast is there, from bacon & eggs, to biscuits & gravy, to pancakes and french toast, to a fresh fruit bar, and you can eat as much as you want for $6.99.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talking Rock, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Plan Better Please.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Last Sunday my husband,young adult daughter and I took my mother-in-law here after church. They have a breakfast buffet but none of us felt like having that,so we ordered off the menu. I hear the buffet is good but I can't speak to that myself this time. It was crowded,not unexpected as apparently a large number of folks were there from Mamma's congregation and she says this is common on a Sunday. This Shoney's is also right off interstate 75 and would attract travelers.This,then, is where my only real complaint comes in. You always draw a large crowd at an easily anticipated time each Sunday, you need to plan.Service was friendly but staff was unable to keep up-at least not if you were ordering off menu!!Getting our order in took an incredibly long time and getting food was even longer. Our waitress did apologize when she finally brought the food and as I said,she, and I imagine the cooks also, were very busy. Management needs to plan better. Otherwise, the food was decent and about what I would expect .I certainly would not advise against going here, just plan to be there awhile!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nursewendybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“AWESOME Service and Breakfast Buffet!!!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We eat here about twice a month and usually enjoy our meal. On 12/30 we arrived and hour before the buffet ended and I was expecting the worst. Everything was hot and fresh and our server "Val" was outstanding!!! She was very attentive to our booth and kept my coffee hot and fresh. I love to eat but I must say the service was even better than the meal!! Great job Valerie!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zookeeper30165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing