We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fork Diner - CLOSED

The Fork Diner
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just visited The Fork with my sister and bro.in law what a great place the owner and entire staff were wonderful the food was very very good. I will be back when ever I'm near.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigEd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    0
    1
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calhoun, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local place is very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I've been eating at the once titled "Fork in the Road" restaurant for a good while. When it moved to a shopping center and became "The Fork", I eagerly awaited its opening. Disappointed the first time...sorry Gray, but have eaten there since and the restaurant seems to be finding its niche. I ate their recently, and the fare was very good. One thing is my mother (who is 90) and my husband found the cole slaw lacking. It needs a little more umph! Other than that, the food was good and there are lots of choices. I understand that there is live entertainment on occasion and a bingo night along with karaoke. Since it is local, I am hoping this restaurant is around for a long time. I love the local art work displayed and the fact that I know the people who own it. Oh, and the desserts are to die for, homemade pies and cakes. Yummy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Southernlady047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Folks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our second trip to The Fork Dinner and I can say enthusiastically the the word of mouth recommendations I got about this place were true! Tonight we had beef tips over mashed potatoes, squash casserole and my daughter had the country fried steak. The BTOP was comfort food at its best and my daughter loved the CFS. If you are anywhere near Calhoun, GA you OWE it to yourself to visit this diamond hiding in a strip mall; you won't be sorry!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinM221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun GA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food...long wait...irritable owners.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have been wanting to try this place for a long time. I finally went there over spring break. It took a long time to get my food, but I was in no hurry, so I didn't mind that. The checkout process was unpleasant, though..I had to wait a long time to pay and the entire time I waited, the people whom I assume own the place (as they were behind the counter) were really complaining about things and in a very loud manner. I thought it was pretty tacky and no one at all seemed to appreciate my business....something a southern business should excel at doing. I will try one more time, though....and chalk it up to a bad day. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A diner that will won my heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Mind you, I don't write about restaurants I don't like. This one was an awesome surprise. It's a different kind of diner -- walls are lined with art by talented local artists. Just so happens the owner/chef used to work for Harris Art Center -- another place in Calhoun well-worth finding. Anyway, the menu makes it easy to eat healthy. It's all fresh, made in the kitchen home-style.
I loved the veggie wrap and the crispy sweet potato fries on the side. And how many diners make it possible to top it off with a glass of pino grigio? Great wine, by the way.
Saw an announcement that there was a mystery dinner theater -- sold out -- and hated myself for having missed it. In Calhoun! Who would have guessed? Definitely will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loretta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fork Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing