We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cherokee National Capitol” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Echota

New Echota
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Calhoun
Attraction details
Rome, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cherokee National Capitol”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you are headed north to the Great Smokey Mountain area, then you need to stop off in calhoun and visit New Echota. This was the captitol of the Cherokee nation before the trail of tears. It is a beautiful place and full of Cherokee history and charm.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice morning walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

My son and I went early on a summer day. It was such a nice morning walk on the grounds. The movie and museum gave us an amazing look into the Cherokee efforts to coexist with the white man.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Part of my Quest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is yet another piece to my quest to visit all of the Georgia State Parks. I never knew much about the Cherokee Indians, and was amazed to learn that they actually adopted the European style of life, with modern homes and villages of the day. These were much simpler times, and was taken in by the tavern building on the self guided tour. Perfect size for a single gent to retire in, maybe I'll build a similar one someday. I'll have to go back, this particular day was bitterly cold and I did the tour very quickly, and passed up on the nature trail.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ATL0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

In spite of the lack of funding which prevents the site from being open more and having more guides, New Echota is a beautiful place to visit. A nice small museum, a first rate short film and seven buildings spread across several acres. The last Eastern Capitol of the Cherokee Nation , New Echota was a thriving community until the removal and a recognized departure point on the Trail of Tears iA nature trail, a farmstead, a rescued tavern, the reconstructed Supreme Courthouse, Council House and print shop for the Cherokee Phoenix are among the points of interest. Great place to get the kids out of the car and let them run off a little steam.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Where the Trail of Tears began”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

After watching the well done video in the Visitor Center theatre, and viewing the artifacts and information in the small exhibit hall, you can tour the grounds of the once "capital" city of the Cherokees. Here you'll find the Cherokee Supreme Court, Council House and site of a printing press that turned out the Phoenix newspaper printed in Cherokee and English. Most of the buildings are reconstructions, but done with the help of original plans and archaeological evidence that brings them back into life. A ranger or well informed volunteer tour guide would have been a big help. I had to keep checking my memory of facts picked up from the film and exhibit hall to recognize the significance of what I was seeing. Visiting the Chief Vann House 15 miles to the north prior to New Echota helped me establish the context of the town and its significance. It was remarkable to be able to stand in the area where the treaty that brought on the Trail of Tears was signed by a small sub-group of Cherokee leaders who felt that moving west was the best of any bad deal they might get from the government. While Elias Boudinot's house is not standing, the four corners of its foundations are marked and a sign acknowledges this was the location of the signing. All of these leaders were later assassinated in Indian Territory once the forced migration of the Cherokee was completed some years later. Boudinot's brother will later become a Confederate general during the Civil War. The informative exhibits make no excuses for the behavior of Georgia politicians and national politicians in treating the Cherokee so badly. It is pointed out that the U.S. Supreme Court backed the right of the Cherokee to keep their land, but that Andrew Jackson replied, "They have made their decision, now who is going to enforce it?" Little wonder that more traditional Cherokees today will not handle $20 bills that bear Jackson's picture. Be sure to walk all the way to the back of the town to see the Worcester home, the only original structure still extant. The missionary living here was arrested for being on Cherokee land without a Georgia government permit and imprisoned. This is a significant historical point and its within a few minutes of I-75. Well worth a quick visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SkipJAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Echota also viewed

 

Been to New Echota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing