We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
London, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small and Cozy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a renovated Jameison hotel now under the Baymont moniker. We found the staff friendly and helpful. We found the room to be on the small side, especially the bathroom. The room was clean and the beds were cozy. The breakfast was adequate. We received great value for the price that we paid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParFore16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynna G, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments. I agree our bathrooms are on the small side. If you have an opportunity to return again, please feel free to request building #2, the bathrooms are larger. We have had many positive posts regarding our beds and a good breakfast is priceless when traveling.

Trip Advisor Posts are our report card and honest feedback is most appreciated. Thank you again for taking time to share your observations.

Sincerely,
Lynna Gron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    117
    85
    45
    15
See reviews for
148
111
34
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

After driving all day from south Florida (600 miles) we needed a good place to crash for the night.
Hoped for a clean & quiet room, comfortable bed, wifi, complimentary breakfast & information regarding a good restaurant for dinner...all at a reasonable price. Must have been our lucky day, as Baymont Inn provided everything we were looking for. Good location, ample parking & a friendly, helpful staff. If we're ever in the area again, we'll stay there for certain.

Room Tip: Request ground floor, back building facing pool...easier to unload your car plus convenient to break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuencathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynna G, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments and your rating of "5!" It is always an honor to know you enjoyed your stay enough to return when you are in the area. We appreciate all our guest's and absolutely understand the importance of providing a legendary experience in every aspect of your stay.
Thank you again for taking time to share your post, we appreciate you and look forward to "wowing" you again soon!

Sincerely,
Lynna Gron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Everything was fine, including the price. When we reserved this (the previous day) it was listed as belonged to a different chain, but when we got there it had become a Baymont Inn. We chose it because in its prior identity it had very high customer recommendations. The transition seems to have gone smoothly; everything was just fine. The breakfast was very high on carbs, but there was fresh fruit and good coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuendeTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynna G, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your post! We appreciate that you mentioned our brand change. We are thrilled to be part of the Wyndham family of hotels and offer Wyndham Rewards. Our biggest challenge has been to ensure our Jameson loyal guest's that our team is still here and continues to be dedicated to hospitality. We strive to guarantee every guest experience is as it should be, regardless of what sign is out front.
Your comments are appreciated!
Sincerely,
Lynna Gron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Huge disappointment. We asked for a smoking room and we've received the 103 one. Even as a smoker, I couldn't stay there. It smelled horrible and it was on the 1st floor and with the exterior corridor, i really could sleep there. So we've asked for another room. We've received 214 or something which was better. Even if it still was a smoking room, it didn't smell that bad.
The bathroom has only a tub and a w.c. and the sink is part of the room. the wc is sooo close to the tub you feel like you're peeing in the tub :)
Everything is old, yellow, it feels dirty and horrible.
The problem is the price. For 100$ a night you would think you have some decent conditions, but this is not the case. Thank God it was only 1 night, but I will never sleep in a Baymont Inn.
Oh, and the breakfast it's a joke.
Try avoid staying there.

Room Tip: Don't go to 103!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynna G, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your visit to Baymont Inn, formerly Jameson Inn. I am very sorry to know you were disappointed with numerous aspects of your stay. We recently changed to a Baymont Inn and are thrilled to be a part of the Wyndham family of hotels. The bathrooms are very small in building number 1, and unfortunately, rooms that are dedicated as smoking rooms present unique challenges for odor elimination.
I truly do not understand your comments pertaining to "breakfast was a joke." We offer Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, 5 cereals, 3 pastries, hard boiled eggs, and numerous toaster items. The breakfast room has different stations; apparently, we need to do a better job of presentation to ensure our guest's are aware of our selections. We appreciate your comments and the photos, and truly regret that you were unhappy. We strive to ensure every guest experience is favorable and would love to know prior to departure if there is anyway we can ensure you are satisfied.
Sincerely,
Lynna Gron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calhoun hotels

Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you are looking for a clean room and a comfortable bed, the Jameson is an adequate option. The service was good and the breakfast was mediocre. Nothing fancy here, but it would serve as a good stop if you are driving through. Wifi worked well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynna G, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your post! I apologize for the delay in responding, during our transition phase, not every email was forwarded. However, thank you again for taking time to share your experience that enables other guests the opportunity to select our hotel based on honest first hand feedback.

Your comments are appreciated!

Sincerely,
Lynna Gron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with clean rooms, an outdoor pool, and better than average breakfast. The night we were supposed to arrive, the hotel was running a special which was $10 less than the rate when I booked the room. The staff took it upon themselves to cancel my original reservation and re-booked the room at the lower rate. This was a pleasant surprise when checking in to see that my rate had been lowered. They easily could have left my rate as is and I would have been none-the-wiser. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheNarrowRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynna G, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for the delay in responding. During our transition from Jameson Inn to Baymont Inn not all emails were forwarded. However, please accept my "delayed" thank you for sharing your compliments. My team is dedicated to hospitality and strives to ensure every guest experience is over the top! We have an honest hardworking group of individuals and truly appreciate when our guests take notice and share comments.

You comments are cherished!

Sincerely,
Lynna Gron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have stayed at other Jameson Inns that were Hotels, this franchise is a Motel. Exterior was clean as was the room with a decent bed. Breakfast was simple and basic with a different twist, most of the breakfast items were portion controlled in baggies. I think that this motel is fine for overnight travelers or if visiting family near by. Not a lot of amenities or local activities except the carpet and floor warehouses nearby and in Dalton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chainboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JICalhoun, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your post. Since you have visited other Jameson Inns that are interior corridor hotels, I understand why you would believe the motel (exterior corridor) in Calhoun, is a franchise. Actually, of 101 locations, Jameson Inns have just 9 that are privately owned and operated and Calhoun is not one of them.
To fulfill local health department regulations and to guarantee quality sanitation, we individually wrap most breakfast items. I regret that it appeared we were attempting to control portions.
Calhoun is conveniently located half way between Florida and Michigan and typically an overnight stop for most folks traveling along I-75. I agree we do not have amenities that would cause one to choose our town as a vacation spot; however our exit has 47 restaurants, Prime Outlet Center featuring 60 retails stores, and two sports complexes. As you mentioned, most folks coming to Calhoun would agree this exit is convenient and offers just what they need for an overnight stay.
Thanks again for taking time to share your comments, it's always a pleasure to receive and respond to our guests valuable first hand feed back.
Sincerely,
Lynna Gron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calhoun
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Calhoun
Super 8 Calhoun
#1 of 17 in Calhoun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Calhoun
La Quinta Inn Calhoun
#5 of 17 in Calhoun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calhoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calhoun
20.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Dalton
Howard Johnson Dalton
#3 of 22 in Dalton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Calhoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun
Address: 189 Jameson Street, Calhoun, GA 30701-7861 (Formerly Jameson Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Calhoun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Calhoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Calhoun
Calhoun Jameson Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing