We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After my bad first impression, I was pleased!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Byron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I walked in, late on a very rainy night after driving for hours. I am a single mom on a single mom budget and hadn't planned for an extra room night, as we were only 5 hours from home. But, it was a torrential downpour and I was exhausted. I walked in and asked what the best rate was. No smile, no "How are you?", no greeting whatsoever except a sour face and a blase response of "$84 for a smoking (we are non-smokers) room with two double beds, unless you book online or have a coupon, it is the only room we have left.".

Seriously? It is raining, I am traveling, and clearly exhausted and have my daughter with me. You are going to send me back out into the rain to look for free wi-fi and/or a coupon?

I went back out to the car and sat, trying to figure out what to do when a car pulled up and sat there next to me. I watched apathetic man who was working that night, walk out and get into the car and drive away. OOOOOHHHHHH, now I was mad. I walked in right before shift change...he didn't want to deal with me. Seriously??? Then I remembered my daughter had picked up one of those hotel mags on the way into Georgia. I found a coupon for $61.99!!! Went inside and asked the girl if she was empowered to made decisions. She didn't understand the question, so I asked if the employees had leeway with rates? Her answers made no sense, so I handed her the coupon, told her about my experience and she upgraded us to a King Suite. It was very nice, comfortable and very clean. By the way, she stated they had about 10 rooms vacant.

So, even though management needs to do a better job at hiring and/or training...the hotel itself was very nice. I would stay there again, but would make sure to bring my coupon. :-)

The breakfast was okay and has terrible flow...needs to be reorganized. Coffee should be separate from utensils, condiments, etc. Too many people trying to get into a small space.

Room Tip: Second story rooms at the end of the building are far from the stairs, but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

I sincerely apologize for the problem you experienced when trying to check in & I will check into the matter. I do not understand why the desk clerk acted as he did. Having said that I am delited you were able to find a room with us on a stormy night & we do hope you will come back & stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 273 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

this hotel was very clean and i felt very secure.The room was very nice and the breakfast bar was always filled.They did need to have several more tables and chairs.The hotel was very clean, the linens were clean and the bed was comterable. I didn't see any trash laying around anywhere. There was several gas stations near by.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for your nice compliments about our hotel. We value your opinion & we strive every day to provide a pleasant & comfortable stay for all our guests. We hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We love this Inn and Suits motel near interstate 75 south of Macon, GA. The staff maintains this older property with aplomb and good cheer. Recently each room was totally refurbished and refreshed with new furniture, beds, flat screen TVs and fridge-micros.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Altamaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you so much for your nice compliments about our hotel. Our staff strives every day to provide a pleasant stay for all our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We don't stay anywhere except Best Western. We know what we get when we stay there. There are no surprises, always clean, friendly, comfortable and good food. The staff are always very nice and help us with any requests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Best Western & staying a loyal customer. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Was greeted with a smile and the rooms were fortunately not misrepresented by the pictures. Usually I get something completely different from what the pictures show online and that upsets me. Very clean and I'm the type of person who checks every nook and cranny. Will visit again next time with the entire family. Last time they weren't too happy with the last motel here in Byron, I'm glad I gave this one a shot. Didn't get a chance to eat the breakfast but the setup looked tempting! Thanks again...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisPGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice compliments about our hotel & staff. We strive each day to provide a pleasant stay for all our guests. We hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you base your decision to stay and this hotel for the pool and spa then look else where. I booked 3 rooms in advance for my wedding party and wanted an Heated indoor pool and Spa and this hotel's was out of order the entire weekend, and judging from the sign it had been out of order for a while.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MERER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We do apologize the spa was out of order due to a part which had to be manufactured for the equipment that is here so that took extra time for us to receive it. The spa has been repaired and is now working great. As for the pool it is not heated nor do we advertise a heated pool only a heated spa. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay but keep in mind that any mechanical can break down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We experienced dogs, barking, bugs - that's about it. Would not stay here again. My kids were worried about the bugs all night! The check-in clerk was not very friendly at all, the hotel room had a stale smoking odor, even though it was a smoke-free room. And when we went to eat the complimentary breakfast people brought there pets with them in the dinning area. Gross!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry p, Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Our staff strives each day to provide a clean & comfortable room for all our guests. Pets are not allowed in the breakfast area but service animals are allowed by federal law so I hope that was the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Byron
0 mi away
Comfort Suites Byron
Comfort Suites Byron
#3 of 10 in Byron
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Byron
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Byron/South Macon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Byron
Days Inn Byron
#4 of 10 in Byron
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Byron
94 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Warner Robins - Robins AFB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn & Suites

Address: 101 Dunbar Rd, Byron, GA 31008-7044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Byron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Byron
Price Range: $80 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites is the perfect place to rest while on the road to Florida, with easy access to I-75, clean and comfortable rooms and a friendly staff ready to assist you with everything you need. The annual Cherry Blossom Festival or visiting Robins Air Force Base and Air Museum, Perry Agricenter or Fort Valley State College are just a few of the things you can do while staying in GA. Grab a bite to eat at the restaurants close by, head to the nearby Peach Outlet Shops or Galleria Mall to shop, get your adrenaline pumping with races at Reynolds Raceway, grab a movie at the local theatre or simply enjoy the peaceful, relaxing town of Byron - the choice is yours when you stay at the BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites. Want an unforgettable experience? The Macon Historical District has horse and buggy tours of local southern plantation homes and more. Guests of this Byron, Georgia hotel can choose from a variety of accommodations - like king suites, family suites and whirlpool suites - all complete with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Wake up each morning at the BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites to a complimentary continental breakfast and newspaper, take a swim in our indoor swimming pool or relax at the heated spa - there are plenty of things to do and amenities to choose from at this hotel in Byron, Georgia. Pets are also welcome at the BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites for just a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Byron
Byron Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing