We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Creek, so much to say and eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Creek Tavern

Big Creek Tavern
Ranked #147 of 234 Restaurants in Buford
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Big Creek, so much to say and eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is our favorite laid back neighborhood spot for lounging, listening to live music, and great eats at great prices. This place is located adjacent the local boat launch, and there is even a place to tie up your boat and come up for a drink. The chef actually knows something about food(immagine that), and they offer specials like prime rib and herb crusted grouper dishes during the week and weekend. This place is a hole in the wall bar/restaurant that is in desperate need of renovations and repair, but that's just what gives the place its unique character. Big creek caters to people of all walks of life; occasionally there is a little stray cat that is looking for some of your food to fall on the ground; I always feed him! Big Creek has exceptionally good food for a bar atmosphere, and also great servers/ and bartenders. Everyone has a unique and edgy attitude , even the hostess. If you are looking for some great local food, and a great Alaskan crab leg dish, that tastes fresher than the fish market, and an interesting crowd to sit with go to Big Creek!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lcanonmous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“I guess the menu changed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were looking forward to a couple of things that were recommended by others, but it appears that the menu changed. I'll try it again, but I wasn't overly impressed. When the food came out, 2 of the orders were not completely correct, but they were sort of corrected. One order was missing an order of french fries, the other was missing cheese. French fries came halfway thru the meal, and so did the cheese, but really, another hot sandwich should have been brought out with the cheese melted on it. It also appeared that the food had been waiting to be delivered, as the food that I had wasn't really hot.
It is definitely a smoking establishment, pretty obvious as soon as you walk in the front door.
I wouldn't really say that it is a family restaurant (I was there with 3 teenagers), but I'll probably stop in sometime when I'm by myself or with beer drinking buddies.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveling_fiber_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fun joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a place where you'll meet boaters, bikers, Mercedes owners, beat-up F150 drivers, anyone and everyone. Some fun! And the food is really very good. They smoke inside and out, so be aware of that but the ventilation is pretty good. Just a great place to go. Great crowd, good entertainment and fun people watching.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzz_of_The_Branch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I always enjoy their ribs. I would say they are about the best in the area and that is saying alot. With the warmer weather coming it will be great to get outside on the deck. The Tavern is NOT smoke free so if smoke bithers you wait for warmer weather and sit outside.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little dive....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

The restaurant itself is nothing too fancy to put it mildly, but it is very close to the lake. Despite the appearance this place has some amazing food. They use very fresh and high quality ingredients. I really like the philly sandwich, french dip, and wings (extra crispy). The hashbrown caserole is also very good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Creek Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Big Creek Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing