We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a perfect weekend!”
Review of Legacy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legacy Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Buford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2009

When we started planning our daughter's wedding , we knew it would be a destination wedding for most of our family and friends so we wanted a place that was not only beautiful but offered other amenities to our guest. Legacy Lodge fullfilled all our needs with its beautiful setting for a outside wedding, the golf course, the spa , horseback riding , etc. The staff was wonderful especially Celita, their onsite event coordinator.Thank you Legacy Lodge for giving our daughter and son-in-law the wedding of their dreams.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DALROWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

908 - 914 of 924 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2009

Amazing service, beautiful location, freindly and helpful staff. Everything was perfect!! Great, great resort!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgadoua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Had stayed here in the past when it was a different name but now that they have renovated and changed the name, it really looks great. When we drove onto the islands you can notice the changes right away with new blacktop roads leading up to the hotel and a beautiful bridge and gate. The lake water level is back up making this a great place for a weekend getaway from the city.

We checked in on a Friday evening after work and stayed the weekend. We had two rooms, one for my wife and I and one for our children and their friends (ages 12 and 15). The rooms were very clean and fresh, the bathrooms were gorgeous with the new granite counter tops and tile floors, flat screen tvs, and a great balcony with a lakeview! We just hung out at the pool Saturday evening and ate at Bullfrogs (the restaurant), the food was pretty good, it was a Chili's type atmosphere and a laid back resort type feel. We went to the Waterpark on Saturday that was nice, the kids and their friends could run around and do whatever, and my wife and I just relaxed by the wave pool. There was a cool little bar on the lakeside by the boat rental docks where we had burgers for lunch and was pretty busy with boaters coming off the lake. We didn't golf but noticed that the course looked pretty nice, might try it next time.

We weren't sure what to expect after reading the reviews but were pleasantly surprised at the great service and accomodations. It was only a half hour from Buckhead, close enough that it was a nice little weekend getaway. I would recommend it to others and will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDTravelerGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We rented a houseboat from Lake Lanier Island resort a couple weeks ago. One would think that for a combined total (after taxes and fee's) of $750+ per night you would actually get something worth while. Well, you would think wrong.

First, let me say that I am a boater and have owned boats newer and older, so I understand what can (and does) happen to equipment. However, they don't even put an effort into keeping things in working order AND they charge top dollar for it. They barely clean, not to mention maintain.

Dirty Sheets in each of the bedrooms (we actually found a nut shell in our sheets...and we didn't have nuts with us). That can only mean they didnt even touch the sheets in any of the (4) 'cabins'. Disgusting!

The "Hot Tub" did not work and we were told " Oh yeah...just take the cover off and let the sun heat it". Come on now. That, combined with a bad smell just didn't go over well. It may as well of not been there as nobody could use it.

The Air Conditioning went out and again when we called we were told "we were doing it wrong".....You pay top dollar for the boat and for every ounce of gas for the generator and the (2) key items you run the generator for didn't even work most of the time (the A/C & the Hot Tub).

The fridge/freezer was moldy and don't even think about looking under the sofa or under or inside the cabinets! Disgusting! While you're at it, don't touch the chair....it too will fall apart in your hand.

OH...Yeah! Don't jump off the boat either or use the slide unless you're an olympic swimmer because the ladder doesn't exisit despite being told where it was during our orientation. We didn't notice until we jumped in that the entire ladder was missing. When we called to ask about it we were told "they are too expensive to replace, so you'll have to swin to the front of the 53' boat, climb up the front ladder, walk thru the boat to get to the back so you can climb up and use the slide again.

The only nice part of the trip was the tranquility that comes with renting a houseboat and spending a few days on a small island. That part was nice. However, they should be embarrased by the condition of the "fleet" and tell people exactly how it is.

Yes, things break, but for $750 per night one would reasonably expect them to be fixed.

I don't know if this is typical, but when we got back we had to wait 3+ days for them to "refuel" the boat so we knew how much gas we used. Thats ridiculous considering they charge you for fuel you use and that you have no way of verifying what they did with the boat for the 3+ days it sat before being fueled up. And despite many calls to please let us know what was going on, they still fueled it and billed my credit card even though we asked them not too since we wanted to use another card.

Unless they make drastic changes, we can't reccomend this place (at least the Houseboats). Go up north to TN where you'll get more value for your money with bigger, nicer boats in MUCH better condition for the same, if not less, money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whyknot1970s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We read a lot of disappointed reviews on TripAdvisor so we almost cancelled the trip. However, it was so close and convenient we decided it was worth the risk for a quick weekend getaway. First, it was super easy to get to from our home in Smyrna. The hotel, service was so-so, but again, we were expecting horrible service, and they were definitely better than horrible. The room felt clean.. there were some small things: a previous guest left their camera charger in plain sight, and houskeeping had missed it, so that was a little concerning... and the door to the bathroom squeaked horribly (which was tricky with our 1 year old trying to sleep)... and the room was very cramped... but AGAIN, because of our expectations, we were cool with it all and managed to enjoy it.

We enjoyed the pool often.. drinks by the pool were great.. the restaurant was "hotel priced" but the food was better than a lot of average restaurants. We enjoyed a surprise treat for our boys when they setup a projector and played Shrek to watch by the pool, under the stars. That was cool.

The water park was cool. A good activity for young children, but we were glad it was included with our package. If we had paid separately we would have been disappointed, but in this case it was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlantacooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Don't waste your money! The service is none exsistant. Pool is dirty. Oh good luck getting a pool towel.The rooms are small and dusty. The pillows and bed are equal to sleeping on the ground. The food is GROSS. Beware this resort is a nice dress, with NASTY shoes and UGLY jewerly !!
CANCEL! CANCEL! CANCEL!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LexiGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed at this resort from June 6-9, 2009. We had a one bedroom villa. The Villas are away from the main hotel and are absolutely beautiful. They need a bit more parking but that was the only negative. We loved the plush surroundings, being right on the lake (trees blocked a full view but you could definitely see the lake). Even though it was summer, the fireplace made it feel very cozy. We loved the entire resort.

The work on the roads is done and the new bridge is beautiful. Everywhere you looked there was someone cleaning, repairing, or pruning.

The main hotel did not dissapoint as well. We had booked a room in the main hotel but upon check-in we asked about the villas and was able to upgrade to the villas for just a few more bucks. The bellmen were always helpful and the front desk could not have been more helpful. We rented a golf cart $40.00 for 2 hours to tour the resort on the bike path and we saw a lot of wildlife. We did not visit the waterpark this visit but it looked very nice from a distance.

Don't miss the giftshop, very nice selection of some interesting items.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buford
8.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Atlanta Buford Mall of Georgia
9.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Buford/Mall of Georgia
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cumming
Hampton Inn Cumming
#1 of 5 in Cumming
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Braselton
11.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#1 of 12 in Gainesville
520 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Lodge

Address: 7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Buford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Buford
Price Range: $188 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the shores of Lake Sidney Lanier, Lanier Islands boasts 1,500 scenic acres perfect for active families, romantic couples, corporate groups and solo travelers alike. Guests may choose from a variety of onsite activities and amenities that offer the perfect experience year-round, from LanierWorld – our Beach & Water Park – to diverse dining options, golf, spa, ziplining and boating. Additionally, this lakeside Georgia resort offers over 23,000 square feet of flexible event space and professional services for successful conferences, retreats, weddings, and other events. Luxurious amenities and unparalleled natural beauty come standard with every stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Lodge And Conference Center
Legacy Hotel Buford
Legacy Resort Buford
Emerald Point Lake Lanier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing