We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“conference review”
Review of Legacy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legacy Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Buford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

the facility is lovely, all staff VERY attentive. meeting rooms were comfortable, with drinks and munchies always available. lunch, however, was not good at all. no one at table could identify what it was. lodging rooms are a bit small for price, bathroom was clean and well appointed. i liked the balcony overlooking the lake and privacy. have to repeat: the staff was super friendly and helpful. great setting for a conference.

Room Tip: room w view of lake - the view and privacy made up for the small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank encantadora201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback during your last stay with us here at Lake Lanier Islands Resort. Your kind words regarding our staff and meeting space accommodations are most appreciated and we will make sure we pass this along to the appropriate departments. We do apologize for the negative lunch experience. It is our hope that you will be planning a return trip back here to Legacy Lodge. The balconies from our rooms boast a great view of the leaves changing colors in the Fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 924 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We love Lake Lanier Islands so we love staying here. We live nearby but still stay here now and again. The Hotel is nice enough but the whole Island is filled with great stuff, from the huge man made beach to the water park, to theincredible golf course, horsback riding, zip-lining, boating, water skiing, live music, carnival rides, putt putt golf, good food.. you get the idea.. incredible. Best service too. Hotel accidentally charged me twice so refunded me and gave me a free night.
Do it!

Room Tip: all about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgelathemjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Fantastic! Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments of Lake Lanier Islands Resort. We apologize for being charged twice. Our hope is you plan to join us for our Magical Night of Lights coming soon in November!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a wonderful Labor Day weekend I just had at Legacy Lodge and Lake Lanier Islands. I can't say enough about the beautiful rooms (we stayed at a Legacy Villa), the great and friendly staff, the food, activities ...and most of all THE PRICE!!! It was so reasonable we couldn't believe it.

The room service was the first room service in 45 years that was not overpriced, cold and late. Quite the opposite! The Windows buffet was great - really surprising! Lake Lanier Islands water park was a great day for my 5 year old and grandparents. We also rented a pontoon boat which was very reasonable.

The only bad thing I can say is that I have lived in Atlanta for two years and it took me this long to find this place. We are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and stay in the villas. It is away from the crowds, and you have free use of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerri128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We are so appreciative of the great compliments! We will make sure we pass along to our Food and Beverage staff that you enjoyed room service and the buffet at Windows. It is our hope that you and your family made great memories during your stay with us. We hope to see you back soon to enjoy the Magical Night of Lights!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here last month for a business function. The grounds and physical building are very well maintained and have a Disney feel. The lodge itself can be quite or a bit busy depending on how many events are booked for a given time period. I found the staff to be extremely professional and helpful. The front desk, the doorman, restaurant, bartender, boat driver - all excellent!

I would not hesitate recommending the Legacy Lodge to my peers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helmut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your compliments regarding your most recent stay with us here at Lake Lanier Islands Resort. We will be sure to let our staff know of your kind words. We hope to see you back here again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Staff very professional and attentive. Plan to make my visit an annual event. Lauren and Chris were awesome. They were dedicated to making sure my stay was pleasant. I will definatly recommend this resort to family and friends. Second stay and each visit gets better and better. Thanks for a pleasant experience

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shenry314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, especially in regards to Lauren and Chris. We will let them both know of your satisfaction with their hospitality. Looking forward to your return to Lake Lanier Islands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This review goes to show that the small things, in this case, an expexctaion, can ruin ones expirience. I expected that we would be able to use hotel transportation to get around the property easier than with our car. We waited an hour - till 11pm to be picked up from the waterpark and taken to our room. The we expected to be able to go to sleep when we got back to the room. That was not to be with the wedding reception pounding on until 12:45am. Then there where the wedding guests piling into the hotel for the next 1/2 hour. Im usually A good sport. But this hotel caters to weddings. That's where they make their big money. So don't expect any sympathy or accommodation from the hotel staff. Grrrrr

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smullville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We are very apologetic that your experience was not a positive one. We honor all of our guests and do not place any special “category” onto anyone. Our social event contracts have a time limit on noise and music and our security team is to monitor. It seems we failed to do so during your stay in regards to the wedding in question. Please do not think we do not honor all guests at all times and think of yourself as being differently treated. I am guessing that you might not have reported the noise to our staff? We can create a wonderful environment however once the human element is added we have to do a better job of monitoring behaviors. Our team is hopeful you might reconsider returning and allowing us another chance to create what you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is on a beautiful piece of property--the grounds appeared to be very well kept and the natural beauty is wonderful. The public spaces in the lodge are lovely and appropriately decorated for the setting. We stayed for two nights in early August for a small family gathering. We booked our room in June which I believe is probably a fairly late booking for that time of year. There were 6 or 7 weddings scheduled at the facility that weekend and I would guess that many of the guests for those events booked far earlier than we did. We had a very limited choice of rooms according to the website. We booked a double queen room but could not get a room with a view of the lake. The room we ended up with was at the very end of a hallway. The balcony was next to a large retaining wall and overlooked a rustic/natural area on the side of the building. It was so dark in the room that we had difficulty reading anything. There was limited natural light --even mid day because of the location and there were only two lamps in the room with low wattage bulbs in them. One of the mattresses in our room was so lopsided that my husband thought he was rolling downhill all night. Fortunately the other bed was ok. The room was clean but small as was the bathroom. The decor was nice--I think--it was so dark that it was a little bit difficult to tell. I am sure we had a standard room but for the price, I think it was even a little sub standard. We ate at Bullfrogs and it was pleasant and the staff was very gracious and helpful. We also had the Saturday evening steakhouse buffet and we were pleasantly surprised at the food. It was quite nice. The only problem was a little mixup between the staff at Bullfrogs and the dining room. We had drinks at Bullfrogs before we went to the dining room. Several of us were not quite finished with our drinks when it was time to go upstairs for our dinner reservations and the bartender told us it would be fine to take the drinks with us to the dining room. The wait staff in the dining room told us that we absolutely could not bring our drinks into the room. They finally relented when we told them what had happened, but they were not happy about it. I was actually surprised because I thought both operations were owned and operated by the Legacy Lodge. I do understand that it was a very busy time of year for the staff but I do not think that situation was handled with finesse. Overall, I thought the price of our room was a bit much for what we ended up with--I believe we paid about $270 per night--and I do believe that all of the staff should be well informed of the rules and regulations so that situations like we encountered entering the dining room with our beverages would be avoided--I was rather embarrassed by the incident.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flomap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your review of our property and the wonderful compliments to our resort’s beauty. We apologize for the lack of lighting in your guest room and will review adding additional light fixtures. It is our hope that you and your family will plan a return trip to enjoy the beautiful colors of Autumn. A room located on a higher floor would definitely provide you with an awesome view. Your compliments on our restaurant staff and food are most appreciated. We do apologize for the disconnection in communication regarding your drinks being allowed from one restaurant to the other. Your feedback helps us educate and retrain our staff to uphold our high standards here at Lake Lanier Islands. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buford
8.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Atlanta Buford Mall of Georgia
9.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Buford/Mall of Georgia
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cumming
Hampton Inn Cumming
#1 of 5 in Cumming
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#1 of 12 in Gainesville
521 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Braselton
8.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Buford at Mall of Georgia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Lodge

Address: 7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Buford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Buford
Price Range: $186 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the shores of Lake Sidney Lanier, Lanier Islands boasts 1,500 scenic acres perfect for active families, romantic couples, corporate groups and solo travelers alike. Guests may choose from a variety of onsite activities and amenities that offer the perfect experience year-round, from LanierWorld – our Beach & Water Park – to diverse dining options, golf, spa, ziplining and boating. Additionally, this lakeside Georgia resort offers over 23,000 square feet of flexible event space and professional services for successful conferences, retreats, weddings, and other events. Luxurious amenities and unparalleled natural beauty come standard with every stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Lodge And Conference Center
Legacy Hotel Buford
Legacy Resort Buford
Emerald Point Lake Lanier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing