We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legacy Lodge & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buford
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I was fairly concerned after reading some of the negative reviews from previous guests, but was pleasantly surprised. While the rooms could use a little freshening, they are by no means unacceptable. The staff was very friendly readily offering help while I was having breakfast with my 1 year old daughter, providing directions, satisfying our room and bed type requests, etc. The weather was on the cooler side so we didn't make use of the pool, but we enjoyed our walks around the lake and thought the property and grounds were well-maintained. The location is a little off the beaten path and the nearest dining options outside of the resort area are a few miles away, but not a bad drive by any means. All in all, the stay was much better than expected and we would certainly consider coming back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellep935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful remarks! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to sight-see around the property! If you thought that it was nice during the summer months, imagine how spectacular our grounds are in the fall when the leaves are in a riot of color! We pride ourselves on having something to offer everyone throughout the year. We hope that you will come back again soon so you can take full advantage of the pool, lake, and Lanier World - the beach and water park! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    176
    79
    60
    27
See reviews for
310
134
12
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I read the other reviews and unfortunately ignored them. The hotel is dated and doesn't feel fresh. Amenities are basic, not at all worth the price. The heated pool that I was told they had was frigid and had a bandaid floating in it. I asked if i could have a late checkout and was tokd to call the front desk around 11:30 pm to ask the next shift. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
We apologize that you didn't have the experience that we intend for all of our valued guests to have. Thank you for letting us know that there was an error regarding our pool. As you unfortunately found out, our pool is not heated. We have corrected that oversight and hope that you will consider a return visit soon so that we can regain your trust and you can experience all the wonderful things we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

If you are a bride, beware of having your wedding here. Get the specifics in writing, as they didn't follow through on the things they told my sister-in-law that they would do. They even gave away their honeymoon suite! The morning of the wedding, the pool at the reception location was GREEN and filthy. Yikes, completely unsatisfactory.

If you are a guest, stay at the main lodge. The villas and lake houses are miles away from the pool. There is nowhere good to eat in the entire "resort", so bring some food with you. There is only ONE restaurant at the main lodge and it was barely average.

We stayed in a lake house because we wanted a full kitchen because our kids have food allergies (which the restaurant was completely unable to accommodate). The kitchen lacked basics like a pasta strainer or dish drain. When we closed the curtains at night, many had (huge) stains on them - completely gross. When we ran the dryer, it was still going 3 hours later...how's that for a fire hazard. There was no wi-fi and the cabled internet access (in one bedroom only) was painfully slow. There were 5 channels on the TV, and those were full of static. The deck was in such a state of disrepair that it hadn't been painted in years. The towel bar fell apart the first time we dried our hands on the towel and by the last day of our trip the service personnel had given up trying to fix it and just left the towel lying on the chair. The screens on the windows were all broken so you couldn't open the windows without being immediately overrun with mosquitos. I could seriously go on and on here, these places are a nightmare...I would NEVER stay in them again. They are WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for what you are getting, what they charged us for a night ($407) is what this place is worth for a WEEK. The lake house had zero view except of another lake house, and it is MILES away from the actual lake where you would swim (except you wouldn't swim there, because the lake is disgusting and filthy).

The wedding was super fun and wonderful, but that was due to my brother and sister in law, and nothing to do with the efforts of the staff at this place. I would never, ever return to this vacation destination. We went by the water park and it wasn't open so I can't speak from experience, but the "beach" was filthy and the water park looked old and run down.

Room Tip: HA, good luck. Whatever you do, don't stay in lake house 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
We sincerely apologize for your experience in the Lake Houses at Lake Lanier Islands Resort.  Your recent experience here is certainly not the norm for our property.  We do appreciate your honest feedback, as that is how we can continue to improve.  We want you to know that we have assigned a specialized team to address the issues you described.  We hope you will consider a return visit so we can make up for the experience you had. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This resort's entrance is a breathtaking experience. Resort is located on beautiful Lanier Lake and as a resort there is lots and lots to do. There are only two restaurants which is insufficient for a hotel of its size. The rooms are appropriately themed. The staff is most cordial and helpful. Overall the stay was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about the beauty of our resort and the multitude of things to do. We pride ourselves on providing unforgettable experiences for our guests and having the friendliest staff around! You are correct - there are only two restaurants located in the Lodge itself; our formal restaurant, Windows, and our informal bar and grill, Bull Frogs. However, we have several other seasonal restaurants and eateries located on the Island such as Gianni's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria, Sunset Cove Beach Club (hamburgers and nautically inspired cuisine), Dog & Draft (hotdogs), Fire & Ice (bar-b-que), and several other "snack" locations throughout LanierWorld.

Also, coming soon to the Lodge this week is another food option: The Butler's Panty. It'll be a boutique eatery featuring local artisan foods and products in a coffee-shop style environment intended for the person on the go.

We hope to welcome you back to the Islands soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2012

It was for a Conference meeting, but I really think it should be advisable for a honey moon. The entire atmosphere was very nice and calm. You have access to the lake, bikes, pool, canopy, etc..and the rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceciliacuore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
We are so pleased that enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments! We are proud to offer something for everyone...business travelers, honeymooners, and families! We hope you will come again soon for a leisure vacation and take advantage of all the great amenities we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family stayed at the Legacy Lodge (double queen room) for an overnight while my wife was doing a half-marathon on the resort grounds, and found the resort to be fairly nice (like an upscale wilderness lodge) with friendly and helpful staff. The room itself was pretty small, not even enough room for a sitting chair or luggage stand, and the closet was even in the bathroom. The bathroom was actually quite nice, and the room size wasn't a big deal as you aren't really there to spend time in the room. The room itself was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the free wi-fi Internet actually worked (which is sometimes a rarity).

The only resort-y thing we did while we were there was an equestrian trail ride at the stables (with our 2 kids, 7 and 9 years old), and the staff there was also quite helpful and friendly. The trail ride itself was a nice ride through the woods along the shore of Lake Lanier, saw a group of 10+ young deer snacking along the waterfront. The pool at the Lodge seemed pretty nice, although too cold for the time of year we were there.

All in all, a nice spot to stay if you are doing various activities on the resort (golf, horseback ride, LanierWorld, etc.), and can't beat the location for convenience and some great scenery along the lake. Also, they do have AAA rates but you need to call the resort to request those rates.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricY_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments! Our resort offers loads of wonderful opportunities to enjoy nature at its finest! We hope that you will return to spend some time with us this summer and take advantage of LanierWorld - our incredible beach and water park! There is something fun for the whole family! Please be sure to check our website for our upcoming special events and rates! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

After reading the other reviews, I really had to think if perhaps I missed something when we stayed in late February, because our stay was wonderful, (and I'm very picky about cleanliness and quality of the room and food.) The room at the Lodge was very clean with plush beds. The hotel was quiet, service terrific, and the breakfast was very good including fresh fruit and Belgian waffles. We never saw a lot of other guests even though there were two weddings and several business meetings. It seemed like the staff went out of their way to provide excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive response about your recent stay at Legacy Lodge at Lake Lanier Islands Resort! We are so pleased that you enjoyed such a relaxing stay with us. We take pride in our Resort and are proud of the dedication of all our staff members to meet each guest’s expectations from the moment of arrival until each guest departs. We look forward to your return visit. Again, thank you for your wonderful comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buford hotels
9.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Buford/Mall of Georgia
8.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Atlanta Buford/Mall of Georgia
8.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Atlanta Buford Mall of Georgia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Buford at Mall of Georgia
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta-Mall of Georgia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Lodge & Conference Center

Property: Legacy Lodge & Conference Center
Address: 7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Buford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the shores of Lake Sidney Lanier, Lanier Islands boasts 1,500 scenic acres perfect for active families, romantic couples, corporate groups and solo travelers alike. Guests may choose from a variety of onsite activities and amenities to curate the perfect experience year round, from a water park to diverse dining options and a spa. Additionally, this lakeside Georgia resort offers over 23,000 square feet of flexible event space and professional services for successful conferences, retreats, weddings, and other events. Luxurious amenities and unparalleled natural beauty come standard with your stay, which will surely be treasured long after your bags have been unpacked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Legacy Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Lodge And Conference Center
Legacy Hotel Buford
Legacy Resort Buford
Emerald Point Lake Lanier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing