We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walked in & walked out”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #134 of 234 Restaurants in Buford
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Walked in & walked out”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Came in on a Wednesday night and was never even acknowledged. Stood by the "wait to be seated" sign for about 5 or ten minutes getting very agitated that no one was bothering to at least say "one moment" while about 5 waiters/waitresses were hovered together chatting (I saw one waiter actually attending his tables), and my husband noticed the score was 83. Glad they didn't come to seat us... 83, no thank you!! We left. PS: If I have to wait to be seated in a place that isn't even crowded I don't even want to know how bad my service will be!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    7
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food is great..waiting 30+ minutes for a burger is not”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time eating at a s&s in quite a few years, but tried this same location a few weeks back, but ended up leaving before served.last time I visited one of these I just walked in and sit down, but this location gets busy!!! There was a huge crowd waiting for a birthday party when I came in, so we stood there for over 30 minutes and no one asked us to be seated, or asked our name, or told us about a wait or anything..a few tables came open, and I had to use the restroom, so I told my kids where to sit till I came out, but when I came out they already made them move...I guess thats how to get there attention, because then they took our name.15 minutes later we were seated....the food was awesome, but I ended up having to get up, and get my own refill, and they forgot some of our order....if the food was not so good, and priced right this place would go under

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“not your average fast food restaurant”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

S&S will surprise you...the waiters are extremely friendly and the food is delicious! Price is right. Don't skip the chili/spagetti and make sure you have a milk shake. A real belt buster but whatever...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong with the food...”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I just think its overpriced frankly. The convenience of having a place open 24hrs is great, but for burgers and fries its just too much. Also prepare for a lengthy wait in the drive thru. Granted, your food IS being cooked to order allegedly.

Helpful?
Thank abangura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford,ga
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place rocks!!Service is great ,food is great ,this is a great place to eat ,I have been eating there for 5years ,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing