We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible - don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mimi's Cafe

Mimi's Cafe
Ranked #12 of 234 Restaurants in Buford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“terrible - don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Service was poor. We went Sunday morning and were seated immediately. It appears to be the only restaurant open on Sunday morning close to the mall of Ga and so it was crowded. Our waitress came by the table 10 minutes after we were seated and said she would be right back. Another 10 or so went by before she came back and then was only going to take our drink orders. But we stopped her and asked her to submit our orders. They got them wrong, but not so badly that we couldn't eat it. But, the clincher was she openly brought me burned toast and set it down and walked away as though she never noticed. It was BLACK. I ate around it and eventually another waitress saw it and asked if she could get me some more toast. I let her, but I really wanted my check and to leave. It was uncomfortable, terrible, and slow. I don't live in Buford so going back is not an issue - I'll never be back. If you're visiting - don't go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmac1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    75
    29
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love Love MiMi's!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been to MiMi's at least ten times now over the past year, and my husband and I just love it. Huge menu with so many different types of food. The muffins are just wonderful and their breakfasts are fantastic. If your a frequent visitor make sure you visit their website and get on their mailing list, they send great coupons to your email from time to time.
I have noticed as other reviewers have mentioned that the waitstaff are struggling lately. This is the one single reason we have not taken our grandparents to Mimi's. Hopefully this will be corrected soon by management.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saorisenyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Has slipped over the years”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

It used to be a treat to go to Mimi's for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Of late, the quality has changed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Afternoon Outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Food and Service was very good! Awesome Muffins and all out of town guests loved them! Fish was fresh and very tasty. Salads are large portions and very fresh! Very Warm Atmosphere!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kasha328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I liked it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found Mimi's Cafe while looking for a place to eat near the mall. None of us had ever been there before. The food and the service were both very good. Some of the other reviews make me wonder if we were just lucky. Based on my experience though, I would not hesitate to go there again. It is in an area of a lot of traffic but worth it in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mimi's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing