We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Always Fantastic!”
Review of Ricos

Ricos
Ranked #1 of 234 Restaurants in Buford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Filipino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Buford, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As Always Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Not able to go here as often as I would like. Due to work schedule but they never disappoint us. The food is fantastic every visit just as it was the prior visit.a must try for everyone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    78
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A nice surprise in Buford, GA”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Five of us went to Rico's World Kitchen, a converted gas station. No one got gas either! The walls were decorated with photos from around the world, many taken by a friend of Rico's. For an appetizer, our group shared the fried green tomatoes and the crab cake with slaw. It came with several slices of tomatoes and we were happy. But the chef was not and soon our server brought us a second order, apologizing for the small portion on the first plate! The tomatoes were not the best I've had but good enough. For my entree, I had the blackened shrimp and grits which was delicious. One of our party had the rack of lamb and ate every bit of the very generous portion. The wine list is small but decent and the prices are very good. We will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a converted service station”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The five of us had very well prepared and efficiently served meals at this site of what apparently was once a service station and now has another life. The concrete block walls are lined with framed photos of sites around the world--Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, St.Peter's Basilica, Taj Mahal, and many others--which our waiter told us were taken by friends of the owner.

We ordered as appetizers the fried green tomatoes and crab cake with cabbage, which were very good; in face, the tomatoes came and were quite small, which was not a problem, since there were five or six on the plat. Within a couple of minutes, we were brought another order with large slices, with a message of apology from the chef for the small ones. We had been perfectly satisfied with the first order, but certainly took advantage of the generosity.

Four of us had the blackened shrimp and grits, which were delicious and filling. One of our party had a gluten allergy, and the chef recommended a change in the sauce before we ordered, but when the dish arrived, there was a large slice of bread dipped into the grits--a real no-no for folks with this condition. But the waiter took the dish back and a new one was soon substituted, without the gluten. One of us had the rack of lamb, which was also very good.

With two or three glasses of wine, the bill for the five of us came to $150 plus tip,which we considered a decent value on this Thanksgiving eve. There are several very good restaurants in the area, and we will return to this one in the future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindale, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Dining at Rico's was a delight in every way! Although we had a short wait for our party of six, it was worth it. The server was attentive, the food was delicious, and artfully plated. Each dish was seasoned delightfully and a pleasure for the taste buds. All of this was well worth it, but the reasonable prices made it all the more enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank Ali432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unexpected yummy”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Ricos has a small menu but has such a broad range to satisfy the foodies and the just plain hungry. The service was excellent - efficient and knowledgeable. The atmosphere is funky - a former gas station so you're eating in one of the service bays. The noise level is up there which means you can have a conversation at your own table but really can't hear what is being said at another table. Parking is limited. On a recent visit we had crab soup which had some heat on it, too much for a 6 year old but perfect for her father. The house salad with Asian pear dressing was delicious, the crab cakes on the side were ordinary. The ham and brie sandwiches with chutney were outstanding.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ricos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing