We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water Fun”

LanierWorld at Lanier Islands
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Buford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located within our 1,500-acre resort in Georgia, LanierWorld is home to a variety of attractions, restaurants, activities, and a beach and water park sure to thrill adventure seekers and beach bums alike. Whether you are looking for the coolest lakeside spot for day play and nightlife, a sandy area to bask in the sun, or a place to let loose and let your inner child out, LanierWorld has it all. At the Family Fun Park, enjoy Wild Waves, the South's largest wave pool, and Raging River. A short walk through the tunnel takes you from the Family Fun Park to Big Beach, home of the largest collection of rides, slides and dining options at LanierWorld. Across the sand and over the Boardwalk, lies Sunset Cove, THE spot on Lake Lanier for music, entertainment, dining & nightlife!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Water Fun”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fun and not too crowded. Relaxing and appropriate for the whole family. My 5 year old could ride just about every ride! Even some she chose not too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KellyPCFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    107
    50
    27
    37
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Family Fun”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was not crowded and their is a nice beach. The water toys they have in the middle of the lake had several sections that were not inflated enough. The food they offer was tasty and not too expensive for a water park. I suggest you get there early to catch a good spot. You also have to watch your belongings very closely. People kept removing our items off of our chairs and taking the chairs. One person not only took one of our chairs while we were on the slides they stole our towel too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobbes1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great beach action during the holiday”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Love everything about the beach, nothing was bad about the trip there. Restaurants are good and the area is clean. The holiday was full of college kids but also the like os the 40's crowd blending in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buketlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wear Swim shoes!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Wear Swim shoes, walking around barefooted around the water park especially after observing tons of folks going to the restroom without shoes, and they were not so clean...as the day progressed, the women's restroom near the beach area went from 4 stalls to 3 stalls at Noon to 2 stalls by 5pm. The restroom by the wave pool area started to have levels of water build up around the stalls, like perhaps a toilet leak and the smell of urine was strong. However on a positive note, plenty of toilet paper, paper towels and antibacterial soap. There is not a family restroom at the park so I saw moms changing babies in the shower area, not sure what my husband would have done if I had not been there to take my daughter to the restroom. First time to Lake Lanier Water park, usually visited White Water...Great Things to mention - arrived to park to find out that it was free admission from 10-2, so that was awesome, despite free admission day, it wasn't anywhere as crowded as a day at White Water, never waited more than 30 minutes for any of the rides. Closer to closing, no wait at all, rode two rides at least 3 times in a row. My 5 year old loved the wave pool, children's area, and she rode all the water rides except for one, due to height restrictions. They allowed my husband to wear a shirt on all the rides to hide his tummy, my 5 year old to wear swim shoes and life jacket on all the rides. They have two different sizes of lockers, the larger ones are next to wave pool area (I was able to fit a bag that held 5 bottles of water, 5 towels, and spare clothes for 2 teen girls), the smaller ones near the beach and wave pool area (I believe it was $9 for smaller lockers and $15 for larger ones). The food was reasonably priced, fed 5 for $45, which is not cheap but for a nice meal with drinks at an amusement park, we ate chicken tenders, pork sandwich and cheeseburger. It was nice to have a beach area and access to the lake, I didn't use that area, but it looked nice. The lifeguards and staff were all very helpful and able to answer all of our questions. Did not purchase tubes, don't really need to, unless you want to float in the wave pool or lake all day...the rides provides them, only had to wait for 10 minutes to get floats for family at one ride, no big deal...the carnival rides are okay, just make sure you have on shoes or flip flops, otherwise you can't ride them, they open around 3pm, old school but the ferris wheel was a nice change...a carousel, tilt wheel, dragon ride and old car ride for the little ones. Its a small park, if your okay walking around a water park all day, just wear something on your feet...you should have a good time. I didn't pay to come to park, but I think it is overpriced, will not be going back for a second visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Water Park Fun”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This park isn't bad. It's usually pretty crowded, and it's very hard to find a chair in the shade because people put their stuff down and leave it there for hours. It's a smaller park and not much shade, but the slides are fun and there is a place for the little kids. The kids loved it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LanierWorld at Lanier Islands also viewed

 

Been to LanierWorld at Lanier Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing