We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woke up @ 3:30a.m. to a horrible chemical smell, phone did not work”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Woke up @ 3:30a.m. to a horrible chemical smell, phone did not work”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My children & I stayed here for one night en route home after the holidays. Great rate, $56 for two double beds, I was trying to stay somewhere clean & safe for under $60. Guy at the desk (late at night) was super friendly & polite. No problems getting extra towels. Room was nice & clean, bathroom was large & my kids loved the "bat-cave" shower. Only three stars because at 3:30 a.m., I awoke to a horribly potent dizzying chemical smell. I thought my kids would suffocate from the powerful odor. I quickly grabbed the bedside phone to call the front desk but the phone, although connected, did not work- no dial tone, no lights, completely dead. I had to call the front desk from my cell phone. A man answered and said he would walk the floor to see what is going on. I did not receive any further information as to what was causing the reeking smell.
When we re-entered the room after the very basic breakfast, my kids noted the smell, not nearly as powerful as it was earlier but they smelled it.
Freezer did not freeze our ice packs and the ice machine on 2nd floor was empty.
Check out was easy, the attendant was very courteous. I was distracted by my children and in a rush to get back on the road so I did not ask her what was going on that night.
Overall, the hotel was clean and staff pleasant. What was the chemical odor? I do not know. Why did the phone not work? I have no idea.

Room Tip: Our room had a great view of the parking lot so I was able to keep an eye on my car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVKEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    73
    23
    12
    15
See reviews for
62
77
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We pulled off of I-95 at 1am to find a place to stay for the night. Ended up pulling in here because it looked nice and new and I thought it might be a little cheaper than the others that were nearby. At 1am I wasn't really into price shopping but, I did feel that 66.00 a night plus tax seemed a little steep!

However, we stayed here and it was clean, with comfy beds and worked out fine for the short time we were there.

As another reviewer stated they had a continental breakfast that didn't include eggs or meat. It was ok, for what it was.

I would probably stay here again for an overnighter.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel was very nice. The bathroom was large, granite counters and a sloped back tub for those that like to bathe and read. The beds were comforatable, the internet fast and the tv large.

Check-in was easy and polite. The same with checkout.

The breakfast was continental, there were no eggs and meats but you could make your own waffles.

The rate was great for this caliber of hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Room, grounds, entry, eating area - everything looked VERY nice. Bathroom was much bigger than other Sleep Inns and this one had separate lamps beside bed instead of the LONG fluourescent light on ceiling as previous Sleep Inns. This hotel is more like a Comfort Inn or Holiday Inn. We were extremely impressed. Staff very courteous and helpful.

There was a smell in elevator and I asked but they said it's sulphur (which is a problem in area& Florida) and not sure what the problem is, but it's just in elevator shaft.

We would definitely stay here if in area again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJBCOLORADO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in September 2011. We checked in the room and then went to get our bags. We placed our hand luggage on the floor to keep the door open and noticed a rather strange looking object under the door. As we moved the door again, dog poo appeared. It had obvioulsy been pushed up under the door. The receptionist moved our rooms - in the new room the coffee machine was incomplete and the TV didn't work. The receptionist sorted this out and provided disinfectant for the hand luggage. Wi-fi rubbish too !
Next morning we received NO reduction and were told that as the new room was satisfactory then there would be no refund. As we had other plans we did not have time to query it. Subsequent emails with the owner and head office have provided a credit note for half the value of the room - not easy for us in England to use. Don't bother staying. Can't vote for less than 1 but if you could it would be minus 10.

Room Tip: One without dog poo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackiegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I'm very pleased, as a repeat guest, with my stays/visits at this standout property. My first stay incurred an issue that warranted the response and resolve by hotel management. The issue was handled in a most concerned and positve manner. I mention this as noteworthy to address that this hotel and its staff exemplifies: "Taking care of the customer." Sure, opinions are subjective, but here, at the Sleep Inn & Suites, Brunswick, Georgia, this team has demonstrated and earned my (repeat) business.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The room was very large and clean with a comfortable bed. I would stay here again. The bargain was a perk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventures11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brunswick
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brunswick I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 200 Stellar Dr, Brunswick, GA 31525-1656 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn(R) hotel in Beaufort, SC is located on Port Royal Island off Highway 15 and just 5 minutes from historic downtown Beaufort and 10 minutes from Marine Corps Air Station Beaufort. Our affordable hotel in Beaufort is in the heart of the Sea Island known for their scenic beauty and historic charm. We're just 5 minutes from the University of South Carolina-Beaufort and 10 minutes from Naval Hospital-Beaufort. Hilton Head Island and Savannah-Hilton Head International Airport are both less than 45 minutes away. Additional attractions nearby include: - Marine Corps Recruit Depot Parris Island - Hunting Island State Park - Beaufort Memorial Hospital - Heyward House Historic Center - Henry C. Chambers Waterfront Park You can relax and splash about in our seasonal outdoor heated pool, get refreshed in our sauna, take advantage of our business center, exercise in our fitness center or book a conference in our meeting room, which accommodates up to 56 guests. Whether you're traveling for business or leisure, our Beaufort affordable hotel will make sure your visit is enjoyable. Additional amenities include: - Free hot breakfast - Free WiFi - Free coffee - Free weekday newspaper - Guest laundry services All guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards. Whether staying with us for business or pleasure, you're guaranteed a good night's sleep. Unwind at the Sleep Inn hotel in Beaufort, SC after a long day of sightseeing coastal South Carolina or meetings. Dream better here-book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Brunswick
Brunswick Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing