We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad and a little stinky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Brunswick/St Simons Island Area
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The bed was clean, as promised, but my room smelled odd and was near the first floor outside back door, which didn't lock (unnerving). It slammed every time it closed, which was ALL night. TV remote didn't work. At check in, the front desk clerk was snippy & bad mouthed the reservation service...but the clerk in the morning check out was nice. A most basic pre-packaged-type breakfast. Meh.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 277 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Brunswick/St Simons Island Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Darrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Brunswick/St Simons Island Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Brunswick/St Simons Island Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We foolishly left home from North Carolina on a Friday night. We were heading to Florida for our spring break vacation from school teaching. We usually just call ahead a bit as we are driving to get a room, but on this particular night of April 11 we could not get a room! We called and called until we got ahold a a sweet sounding lady who offered us a nonsmoking room at a very decent price. The room was vintage Super 8, like many other Super 8's we've stayed at, with the textured walls. As budget rooms go, this was a very nice room, with a microwave, refrigerator, king-sized poster bed, colonial furniture, granite top for 32 inch TV, desk, swivel chair, and A/C that worked well and was quiet. The bathroom was nice, with granite walls in the shower and sink area. I was not disappointed with this clean, family friendly inn.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank karoleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Brunswick/St Simons Island Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
The Team At Super 8 Brunswick/St Simons Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice on our vacation. Hotel is well taken care of and the staff is very friendly! Great place to stay if you're wanting something super cheap/clean and updated. They have the cheapest prices around. They also did a military discount for us.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Malyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Brunswick/St Simons Island Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

Comfort, Quality and Price, have to be three of the most important things when traveling and THANK YOU for noticing we provide them all. It is so great to hear when a guest is happy and enjoyed the stay. I will share your comments with the team and we hope if you are in the area we will visit us again. Thank you for sharing.

Best Regards,
The Team at Super 8 Brunswick/St. Simons Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brunswick North
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn I-95 North
Comfort Inn I-95 North
#18 of 36 in Brunswick
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 36 in Brunswick
201 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Jameson Inn
Jameson Inn
#22 of 36 in Brunswick
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Brunswick/St Simons Island Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Brunswick/St Simons Island Area

Address: 5280 New Jesup Hwy, I-95 exit 36B, Brunswick, GA 31520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range: $66 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Brunswick/St Simons Island Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy Access to I-95 and Minutes to St. Simons IslandNestled along the southeastern coastline of Georgia, Super 8 Brunswick, GA hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95. Midway between Savannah and Jacksonville, our Brunswick, GA, hotel near St. Simons Island is an ideal spot to enjoy beautiful golf courses, shopping areas, restaurants and natural attractions like Jekyll Island in just minutes. Our pet-friendly hotel provides comfortable accommodations and practical amenities to make your stay relaxing, including a microwave and refrigerator in each room. Refresh with our free SuperStart continental breakfast each morning of your stay and go online with free Wi-Fi Internet from your room. Free parking is included and guest laundry facilities are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel.LOCAL ATTRACTIONSStroll through antique shops and view a potpourri of architectural styles along the main drag on historic Newcastle Street, just minutes from our Brunswick, GA, hotel. Whether you want to swim at sun-drenched beaches, play a round of golf or reel in a big one, St. Simons Island offers an outdoor adventure for everyone, just 10 minutes from our door. Explore miles of barrier island beaches and sand dunes at Jekyll Island, where you can find adventure at every turn. While you are there, bring the kids to Georgia Sea Turtle Center or explore a bygone era at Jekyll Island Museum. If you have the urge to splurge, Colonial Mall is only five minutes away from our hotel in Brunswick, Georgia.DINING OPTIONSWhether you are craving seafood, barbeque or Italian food, there are a variety of restaurants to choose from just minutes from our Brunswick, GA, hotel. Dig into fresh local seafood and an all-you-can eat salad bar at Captain Joe’s Seafood or grab a gourmet burger at Brewburgers & The Riva Club Lounge. Los Arcos, serving authentic Mexican fare, is also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Brunswick/St Simons Island Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Super 8
Brunswick Super Eight
Super 8 Brunswick
Super Eight Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing