We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion”
Review of Hotel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Inn
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stay at the Clarion 2 nights 2 rooms. The first night my daughter returned from bowling with her cousins around 1:30 am and there were bugs in her bed. The natural responce was to kill them and she left residue on the sheets. She called me and I told her to stay in our room and we would deal with it the next morning. We talked with housekeeping and showed Ms. Helen the residue and then called front desk who was not responsive. The lady at front desk stated, "We just had those rooms exterminated." My daughter's response was, "Really, well I am telling you what I saw and the maid saw the residue from the bugs." I would have thought she would say something like, "I'm sorry we will move you right away and take care of the situation. None of that! Someone called me about 1:30 pm to tell me they were giving us another room. So it took them about 5 hrs to decide to rectify this problem. I didnt want to complain too loudly because it was my husband's family reunion and I didn't want to seem ungrateful. I am still wondering did this happen because this is located in a small town in Georgia. It wasn't so-oo much about the bugs....and then it was but the idea that front desk handle it as if we were lying. They had a nonchalant attitude no urgency at all. I will not stay at any Clarion ever again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 162 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Needing a temporary room until my apartment was open at the end of this month, I moved to town three weeks early, and mistakenly chose the Clarion Inn for a weekly rental. We had a cat, and one of the front desk managers, (there are two, according to two workers), "gave us a deal" on the pet deposit, only after we guaranteed the cat would stay in the bathroom or in her carrier at all times indoors. After reading about this particular hotel, turns out the "special" Alphonso gave was the set price on their website.

As stated several times before, the card for the room was charged not once, not twice, but THREE times during the first week, all before the second week's charges were even due. No one knew why, or how to fix it. Alphonso kept saying he would call Maryann, I think her name was, and that she would call back. The next day, I called again, and he still didn't know anything. I finally caught up with the lady, the second manager, at breakfast one day, by which times the three pre-authorizations had fallen off, releasing the hold on my money.

The Internet NEVER worked in our room, and as plenty of other bad comments have covered, they have needed new equipment for at least a year now. The two above mentioned "front desk managers" did not know when it was going to be fixed, and each said the other was taking care of it.

The cable quality in our room was horrible as well. Some channels were clear, but many were "snow covered" and some even featured two channels blending together. it was lovely. Mentioned the issue to maintenance and was told that the filter just needed to be cleaned, but that he had a lot of other things on his list. It was never fixed.

There was a "business center" in the front lobby that I relied on, but even the two computers there didn't provide much help. some days were strong signal days, but one computer was either running very slowly, or was not working at all. This is the computer that had a printer. The second computer did, but its' printer was out of ink. The remainder of the "business center" consisted of a stapler, scotch tape and a few ink pens. Forget about faxing from here, as it is $5.00 for each page. Fortunately, there was a post office store right down the road that only charged $1.00 per page.


Upon arrival, a roach was found in the bathroom, and was killed in the shower. Upon checkout, the room service still hadn't cleaned that portion of the shower, and the remains are still in the same place as three weeks ago. Housekeeping was suppose to come by twice a week, and swap out the towels daily. This rarely happened.

The pool was closed over Memorial Day, in order to paint the steps, and was closed again yesterday. They were cleaning the pool, because after it rained, the water turned green. They apparently needed a certain chemical to prevent that, but cut some corners by not purchasing it. IF you do stay here, check the pool first, as I noticed many other guests said they were told the pool was closed AFTER the money had been handed over.

When the pool was open, we never stayed when the sun started setting. Folks were around the tables and in the gazebo with beer bottles and cigarettes. Not the environment most people want their children around.

The employees all talk about each other during their shifts. It was during my time on the computer in the "business center" that I learned this. On a very few occasions, specific guests were talked about as well. Very unprofessional.

One of the managers live on the grounds, and my daughter was riding her skateboard on the sidewalk, because it was much smoother and even than the lumpy parking lot. The boyfriend of said manager came out of their room, telling my daughter to "knock off the noise". I would understand the slight distraction if it was, say, 8am, but this was 3:00pm. The same man, however, wasn't against playing loud music late at night and having lots of foot traffic in and out, late at night.

Still having three weeks left until my apartment becomes available, my daughter and I have moved to the Red Roof Inn. They have larger rooms, perfect Internet and cable, as well as a pool that is open and without as many beer drinkers sitting around it. For extended stays, or just a night passing through, I highly recommend the Red Roof Inn, or honestly, any other common chain. Stay clear of this Clarion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Room 205. Door knob was messed up and we could barely get into the room. It was very loose and I told them at the desk it was loose. Looked like ,as we were leaving again , he was moving to fix the door. We came back it was not fixed and he said the mantenance guy looked at it and it was fine. NO heck no it was not fixed or fine. I called and they would have moved me but we were all spread out at that point. The speed of Internet was ok but got real slow by 9pm. Concerned also that they had no plug in spots under the work table . This is basic rookie hotel mistakes. Need place to plug stuff in . Nice guy at desk but did not fix anything-said he would. Room was clean but they are forgetting a few basics. Many hotels at this exit. I am still looking.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Do not stay at this Clarion hotel. The General Manager is incompetent and doesn't care about the customer. The rooms are dirty and unsafe, broken locks, pornographic trash left in the room for teenagers to see. Billing is inaccurate and there is no one responsible for correcting it. Terrible customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delores J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here multiple times. We have NEVER been disappointed. It is very clean. The beds and pillows are VERY comfortable. They have a very nice continental and hot breakfast. (Always been very good) andhte best part is the staff. VERY friendly and willing to accomodate. We know them by name, MaryAnn, Alfonso, Lance, Michelle. ALL of which are very friendly and nice to talk to. They have always made us feel right at home and always given us anything we need. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPOINTED WITH THIS ONE.

Room Tip: rooms on the parking lot side are quiter because of the interstate, and DONT STAY BY THE STAIRCASE...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMEaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Easy access from Interstate 77. Staff was friendly and efficient. Rooms are clean and spacious but not new. Room refrigerator worked fine. Bed very soft. Captaing Joe's seafood resturant within short walking distanceFree continental breakfast with waffle maker and the usual fare: cereal, toast, bagels, fruit, juice, etc served in nicely decorated loby. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skrafcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were thoroughly dissatisfied with our recent stay at this Clarion location. The website is deceiving since this was more of a motel than hotel. Our reservation was for a non-smoking double bed, 1st floor drive-up room. When we arrived we were listed as a King Size room. As a remedy we were given room #146 a poolside room which was a smoking room.
As we walked through the breezeway from the other side of the building towards our room we passed several people standing outside of their rooms drinking beer. Once in our room we encountered several disturbing issues:
1. The ashtray on the nightstand as well as the cigarette smell in the room, linens and tissues was an obvious indication that this was a Smoking Room.
2. The lamp on the nightstand was unplugged and apparently had a short since it blinked off and on when plugged.
3. Tiny black bugs crawling up the wall from around the light socket which was uncovered; the socket cover laying on the floor.
4. The lamp on the desk table had a cracked lampshade.
5. Walls in several places had what appeared to be either food or drink stains.
6. Microwave did not work.
7. One of the mattress covers had a cigarette burn through the cover into the mattress. This indicated that the mattress cover had not been washed and/or changed.
7. Other guests in the evening standing around the pool area by our room drinking whiskey, beer and cursing loudly.
We were told there were no other rooms with two double beds which we needed. We had to call the front desk in the middle of the night because the noise was extremely loud and the nearby guests continued drinking outside in the hallways. The next morning at 6am again several guests were outside our room drinking beer. Upon check-out I expressed several of these issues to the desk agent and she graciously notated my comments as well gave us a $20 discount off from our bill. In addition, we incurred a cost to eat breakfast at McDonald's since the complimentary breakfast was totally unappealing, the sugar packets were rock solid indicating they were not recently replaced. We have never experienced such an uncomfortable stay anywhere nor felt so unsafe to the point where we did not want to leave our belongings unattended in the room to have dinner the night we arrived. We sent a letter to the company's headquarters about the conditions of the room and the unsettling activities by other guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CobraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#27 of 36 in Brunswick
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn I-95 North
Comfort Inn I-95 North
#18 of 36 in Brunswick
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jameson Inn
Jameson Inn
#22 of 36 in Brunswick
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
M-Star Brunswick
M-Star Brunswick
#15 of 36 in Brunswick
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Brunswick I-95
0.1 mi away
Ramada Inn Brunswick
Ramada Inn Brunswick
#19 of 36 in Brunswick
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inn

Address: 5252 New Jesup Hwy, Brunswick, GA 31523-1294 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range: $59 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Brunswick
Clarion Brunswick
Brunswick Innplace Hotel
Brunswick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing