We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic experience”

Hofwyl-Broadfield Plantation
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This beautiful plantation represents the history and culture of Georgia’s rice coast. In the early 1800s, William Brailsford of Charleston carved a rice plantation from marshes along the Altamaha River. The plantation and its inhabitants were part of the genteel low country society that developed during the antebellum period. While many factors made rice cultivation increasingly difficult in the years after the Civil War, the family continued to grow rice until 1913.The enterprising siblings of the fifth generation at Hofwyl-Broadfield resolved to start a dairy rather than sell their family home. The efforts of Gratz, Miriam and Ophelia Dent led to the preservation of their family legacy. Ophelia was the last heir to the rich traditions of her ancestors, and she left the plantation to the state of Georgia in 1973.A museum features silver from the family collection and a model of Hofwyl-Broadfield during its heyday. A brief film on the plantation’s history is shown before visitors walk a short trail to the antebellum home. A guided tour allows visitors to see the home as Ophelia kept it with family heirlooms, 18th and 19th century furniture and Cantonese china. A stop on the Colonial Coast Birding Trail, this is an excellent spot to look for herons, egrets, ibis and painted buntings. A nature trail that leads back to the Visitors Center along the edge of the marsh where rice once flourished.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Vejle, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Authentic experience”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We arrived at the plantation as some of the first, that day, and this meant that our tour of the house, was a private one, with only my wife and me.
The house represents an interesting history in so many ways.
We recommend to take the tour of the main house, here you will learn the story of the latest owner and her employee, as story which could have inspired the movie "Driving miss Daisy"
Be aware that there are many angry flies on the plantation, but as long as you move around it isn't to bad

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mortennielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    133
    26
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice State Park/Historic Site”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Enjoyed checking out this whole area. I was surprised that you could touch some of the items in the house.
The grounds as mentioned by others was well taken care of and OMG I loved some of the oak trees on the property especially the one that looked as if it had fallen over.
Only real negative about this visit was our guide. It would have been nice to had someone that followed a script or something cause ours was not all that informative but bless his heart...he tried.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DestinyStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Closed most weekdays”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We drove out of our way to see this plantation based on TA reviews. I must have missed the fine print, as it turns out Hofwyl-Broadfield Plantation is closed Mon, Tues and Weds and has been for the past few years.

A staff member at Ft. King George told me it was closed by the state of GA to save money although he said the employees are all still on site throughout the week so he wasn't sure how it constituted a savings. Your tax dollars at work...or not.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank goingoinggone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating Historical Site”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This Georgia state park is a gem---less than a mile off I-95 near Brunswick GA. Beautiful grounds on the marsh with huge live oaks. Visitors Center includes informative video, small museum and gift shop. House tour is informative with beautiful furnishings. Grounds include buildings from the dairy that was operated after the site was no longer used as a rice plantation and nature trails. Don't pass this as you travel between Savannah and Jacksonville!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thermalito CA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Want to visit again"”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is no "Gone with the Wind" plantation house, but if you want to get a feel of how people lived and worked over a hundred years ago, this is a must see place. Our guide was very informative. I could have spent hours there but had to catch a plane. If I ever get back to Georgia, I will definitely make more time to explore the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofwyl-Broadfield Plantation also viewed

Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Hofwyl-Broadfield Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing